Author Topic: Multiple Avast 5 Free installs  (Read 2903 times)

caesar1948

Multiple Avast 5 Free installs
« on: February 08, 2010, 11:21:56 AM »
Hi:

I'm a consultant, and have installed MANY copies of Avast 4.8 and now 5 on various client's computers. These are all home users, and in most cases they have either a competitors product which failed to protect them, or out dated virus defs. Or, in some cases just sloppy internet behaviors which got them infected with malware.

Because I have installed more than once I'm guessing that your logs reflect this and while I would prefer that my clients register in their own name, it is often easier just to run through the registration process myself. Thank you, by the way for including the registration system you have in version 5. My question is will I have any difficulty because I'm using the same name and info to register many copies?

Thank you
Mike

ardvark

Re: Multiple Avast 5 Free installs
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 12:04:32 PM »
Hi Mike...

I've run into this problem myself with my own customers. I used to do it the way you described but now, if they do choose avast, I'm either with them so they can retrieve the key from their e-mail or I just install the copy of avast and leave the registration process to them. :)

As to your question, I'm not sure.

God bless :)

caesar1948

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 03:10:55 PM »
Hi:

Thanks for the response. I'd love to leave the registration process, but unfortunately I either have very stupid clients or they suffer from a form of blindness that makes an obvious "click to register" button disappear from their view. All I can say is thank heaven for teamviewerQS. I'm still hoping that the Avast staff come up with a suggestion or a comment on this issue. I'm not above recommending that people purchase their program, but I'm waiting to see how "they" respond to this issue.

Again, thanks for the response
Mike

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist