Author Topic: Help! I have a crazy virus called "Your PC Protector"  (Read 6758 times)

cerealkiller

Help! I have a crazy virus called "Your PC Protector"
« on: February 11, 2010, 09:36:20 PM »
First of all I am a novice to any advanced CPU functions(I apologize) 2nd My CPU has become infected with some ad ware/malware that kept popping up and insisting that my CPU was in danger and trying to make me purchase a program. If I shut it down It just came back. I googled the virus and found the steps to remove it which included(and it gets fuzzy here) deleting root menus and certain files. Some files would not allow me to delete them. I went to the task master and cntrl/alt/deleted to end the your PC program and was able to dwnload avast and run it. It said that I had 16 infected files and quarantined them. One of the file it said was a "decompression bomb." It didn't touch it. The Your PC Protector part of the virus seems to have been eliminated however my CPU is very slow now and sometimes only downloads half a website. My mail(yahoo) is not working properly and everytime I run a scan, I have more infected files. Please help. I'm at my wits end.

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
Re: Help! I have a crazy virus called "Your PC Protector"
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2010, 09:39:05 PM »

cerealkiller

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2010, 09:42:15 PM »
thx I'll try it!

cerealkiller

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2010, 11:09:39 PM »
ok now it looks like the pc protector part is gone but avast is still continually finding new infections everytime I run a scan. My computer is running badly and intermittently. My mail will only load new msgs and everytime I try to open something my cpu asks me what program I want to use to open it. It has never done that before. Also when i try to download anything instead of putting it on my desktop like it always has, it disappears. when I try to run it from my downloads screen it says it can't find it. please help!

Mr.Agent