Author Topic: Putting files into chest  (Read 4430 times)

oenkitt

Putting files into chest
« on: February 25, 2009, 02:42:43 AM »
I recently found a virus on my laptop the other day, so my dad has been installing several antivirus software trying to find the problem. When we downloaded avast, the virus was detected (win32: vitro), and the only option that would work was sending the infected files to the chest. Apparently my dad sent everything to the chest, and since then windows hasn't been running properly (all that ever shows up is my wallpaper, and task manager doesn't open). It wont even run in safe mode, which leads me to assume that some files that are vital to running windows were sent to the chest. Since I can't do anything through windows now, and therefor can't access avast that way, I don't know any other way to empty the chest to restore windows. And since I'm not an expert at computers, I don't know if what I'm speculating is correct, or perhaps this is all due to the virus and nothing to do with the files in the chest.

Can anyone tell me what I should do? Is this just the virus, or is it possible that I put somethings I shouldnt have into the chest? I'm just at a complete loss now.  ???

Offline Confused Computer User

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • The answer is 42
Re: Putting files into chest
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2009, 04:18:22 AM »
Hi oenkitt,

Well I hope I can help. I say that because I am not an expert but I do know a few things about avast.

Apparently my dad sent everything to the chest, and since then windows hasn't been running properly
This is hard to fix since I have no idea what the files were. I can say that if they were sent they were no vitally needed by Windows. Any file that is a required part of the OS will have a certain property that prevents the user from tampering with it. Ergo, it won't be sent to the virus chest.

When we downloaded avast, the virus was detected (win32: vitro)