Author Topic: Scheduled scan  (Read 7196 times)

Auntbee20

Scheduled scan
« on: August 26, 2009, 10:47:24 PM »
Hello, I am a newbie here and not a real bright one..LOl..I recently downloaded the free Avast virus protection, but I don't really understand how it works. Like for example how do I scan my whole computer?
And how do I do a scheduled virus scan so that it runs the same time every day? Appreciate your help and your time.
Auntbee

yawetage

Re: Scheduled scan
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2009, 11:10:21 PM »
To do a full system scan just right click your Avast! icon in the system tray on the bottom right corner of your desktop and click "Start Avast! antivirus". A gray blue box (the Simple User Interface) will appear with a play and a pause button and other buttons. Click on the folder icon (when you mouse over it will say "folder selection"). Then check all the boxes, click OK and press the play button. This is a full system scan. To scan your entire machine including boot sectors you need to do a boot time scan. To do this simply go to the Avast! Simple User Interface (the grey blue box), right click the up arrow in the top left corner and select "schedule boot time scan". Select "scan all local disks", "advanced options" and "scan archive files". Your computer will now shut down and you entire machine will be scanned (this takes a while so make sure you won't need your computer for the next few hours). When your computer starts up it will give you a log of what it found. You can't actually schedule a scan for a certain time in Avast! Home, (free version) but Avast! is constantly scanning your computer; whenever you see the blue "a" icon moving that means Avast! is scanning your computer.
If you need more info, there is a detailed user's manual with pictures here or just ask if you have any more questions. Good luck and welcome to the forum. :)

spg SCOTT

« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2009, 11:17:48 PM »