Author Topic: Why I am replacing avast and no longer using it  (Read 12762 times)

cdukes

Why I am replacing avast and no longer using it
« on: April 23, 2014, 05:07:14 AM »
Hi,
I have been using Avast for a VERY long time. I work in the support field and have recommended and installed avast literally hundreds of times.
I wanted to take a minute to explain why I am no longer using Avast and am now looking for alternatives in the hopes that someone out there in the Avast food chain might listen.
In years past, Avast would quietly run on my system and would only come up when a real alert was necessary. My AV is supposed to be seen only when a real emergency comes along. A few years back, you guys started adding things here and there like webrep, etc. The latest version of Avast now pops up messages constantly with completely useless information.
No, I don't want your ad
No, I don't want to use a pc doctor
No, I don't want to take a survey
No, I will upgrade my other software when I am ready, why are you even asking?
No, I don't want whatever product/company you have sold out to this week for ad revenue.
While you're at it, why not add a useless paperclip guy?

So far, my search for a better product has turned up bitdefender, but I have not installed it yet. I sincerely hope they aren't complete sellout/ad whores as well.
I wish you guys the best of luck, but caution you that you are just a new/better/less intrusive product away from bankruptcy. Remember how the almighty Symantec Antivirus fell? They thought they could rest on their laurels and now are struggling to keep up with the new breed.

I'm done ranting now, I truly hope it has an impact.

Offline schmidthouse

• VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Why I am replacing avast and no longer using it
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2014, 05:46:46 AM »
Points taken, only time will tell.
Goodluck. :)

AdrianH