Author Topic: Trial Mode - Where did that come from?  (Read 3076 times)

callmeandy

Trial Mode - Where did that come from?
« on: November 08, 2012, 12:19:17 PM »
All of a sudden I get a message popping up the other day saying your license will expire soon. "you need to purcahse a license to stay protected". I dont recall any mtion to upgrade and I have been using the free version for maybe a couple of years.

My incoming emails had started missbehaing as well suddenly loads of stuff routed into spam folders that had been perfectly accurately assessed until recently and marked ***SPAM***. they are not spam! they are legitimate.

I couldnt work out what was doing this and then I realise that the trial version of Avast has a built spam functionality at least by default.
Is this unexpected switch to "trial" the cause?
How can I fix this? - I dont want another layer of anitispam.
How can I get back to the free version?

« Last Edit: November 08, 2012, 12:22:44 PM by callmeandy »

callmeandy

Re: Trial Mode - Where did that come from?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2012, 12:26:45 PM »
Actually I say that >>I realise that the trial version of Avast has a built spam functionality at least by default.
Well according to the interface it marks by default as ***SUSPICIOUS*** or ***VIRUS***
However it is still conicidental and as nothing else has changed on the system I am still forced to assume this is the culprit

I want virus scanning of course just not spam filtering. I use PopFile which is working well for me and have no wish to switch to an unknown quantity.

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2012, 12:27:48 PM »
well you must have installed AIS (avast internet security) as the free version does not have anti spam

so i guess you need to reinstall

free here  http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=108170.0

callmeandy

« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2012, 01:11:55 PM »