Author Topic: Win32:malware-gen infection  (Read 5169 times)

Dark Horse

Win32:malware-gen infection
« on: November 03, 2009, 03:17:53 PM »
I'm totally new to all of this ??? i need some help please. :'(

When i scanned my pc with super anti spyware, spybot, and malware bytes i found no infections.

But when i scanned it with avast it said i had a virus, i tried to move it to the virus chest but it did not work.

So i did a boot time scan with avast it came up with:

File D: System Volume Information\_restore(4B96135D-50A4-4ED8-BCE5-1B49908F ACEC)\RP11\A0001758.exe\ MsnMsgs.msi\ MsgrCore.cab\ msmsgsexe.ADEB440D_7847_4F65_80BD_899870ED2EC9 is infected by win32:malware-gen.

I then tried to move it to the virus chest but it came up with:

Move to chest: Error 42111 (The operation is not supported for this type of archive)

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Thanks

Offline superhacker

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • superhacker != super mario
Re: Win32:malware-gen infection
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 04:09:14 PM »
go to the chest and add the whole archive manually:or extract the whole archive to a folder and may avast detect the infections alone so avast can move it to chest then send it to virus lab through virus chest"you may disable avast when you extract the archive because avast will cancel the operation because of the virus"
Dreams don't die, they just fall asleep.

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user

evilfantasy

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2009, 04:24:18 PM »
D: System Volume Information\_restore

This is a Restore Point. Flush your old Restore Points to remove it.

Windows Vista System Restore Guide

Windows XP System Restore Guide

Dark Horse

« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2009, 04:51:07 PM »
I have flushed my restore points and avast is still reporting a virus.

As recommended on the bleeping computer thread, i used that Dr. web cureit program and it did not find a problem, but avast is still saying there is an infection.