Author Topic: Some general questions about SOA  (Read 2868 times)

Offline Fragender

Some general questions about SOA
« on: April 15, 2014, 02:15:39 PM »
Hello,

I'm quite new to avast small office administration however the installation was a breeze thanks to the great documentation.

However after using avast for a few months now, I have some general questions about the program:

1. I can see infected PCs in the logs HOWEVER how can see I if the PC is clean now?

2. I'm running a scan once per week. What happens if a PC is shutdown during the scan? Will it continue where it left off or cancel the scan?

3.  The Logs currently show that one of my pcs is/was infected with "rootkit: hidden file". How can I see what kind of rootkit the PC was infected with?

4. The Server running SOA is currently not connected to the internet. Will the clients update the signatures on their own now?

5. I changed some of my group settings and want to go back to the default settings now as avast! is consuming ~100% cpu time whenever the hard drive is working. How can I reset the settings/what are the default settings?
« Last Edit: April 15, 2014, 02:17:24 PM by Fragender »

nannunannu

Re: Some general questions about SOA
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2014, 03:15:33 PM »
1.  Assuming you are still running scans, you can see the most recent results in the scan log.  You also will see repeated entries in the shield logs for a machine that has something that was detected but not cleaned.  I don't particularly like the infected machine report because by default it shows things like URL:Mal as a threat that has been detected.  not really useful.

2.  It will cancel the job.  There is a setting in the scan job to wake the computer up for the scheduled job.  I'd recommend using this option and scheduling it at a time when someone is unlikely to be in the office (2am?)...

3. I'd spend some quality time with the computer in question.  don't rely on the console for that.