Author Topic: SafeZone browser is opening upon windows start and wont turn off  (Read 56442 times)

nipun kumari

Re: SafeZone browser is opening upon windows start and wont turn off
« Reply #15 on: November 02, 2011, 01:30:06 PM »
I've had the same issue and I'm not very pleased with my computer being hijacked like that.  I did not ask for this piece of software to automatically start up when windows booted and I cannot switch it off using either of the buttons provided.  Task manager is inaccessible as well.

I suggest Avast sort this out.  I need my PC for my work and now I cannot get in to the thing without booting in to safe mode.

I'm using windows 7 ultimate and just updated Avast to have this crap forced on to my PC.  Again I did not click an option to allow this, I rebooted and bang, a stupid overlay that cannot be closed. 

Uninstalled Avast now, stay well clear of it.

How did you uninstall it ? Im a novice and dont know much, but i want it to go away...far away

ady4um

« Reply #16 on: November 02, 2011, 03:17:39 PM »
Although "nipun kumari" double posted, just for future reference for other users that might have some similar problem, please read the following post:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=84487.msg691455#msg691455

Usually, booting into Windows Safe Mode with the normal user would be enough to remove Avast with http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility so you can re-install it again under Windows Normal Mode, using the latest stable version, downloaded ANEW.

For those who tried but couldn't, read the above linked post and try to follow those instructions.

HTH.

digitig

« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2012, 10:01:40 PM »
Btw.. OS is Windows 7.   Also i am on my ipod which is a pita to type on so forgive me for any typos. TIA!

OK I am able to sign into my computer under guest.  So my main user name is the one with the problem.  What do I do?