Author Topic: Problem trying to send possible FP to Avast  (Read 3411 times)

Offline Geoffo

Problem trying to send possible FP to Avast
« on: December 15, 2009, 02:58:04 PM »
I have a file (MFME11.exe) which flagged up this morning as having a Win32:Malware-Gen virus. This is a 'one-armed bandit' game that I have been playing for the last 6 years. I uploaded the file to VirusTotal and 7 out of 32 said it was a virus (Authentium, Avast, Comodo, F-Prot, F-Secure, GData and Jiangmin). I'm fortunate that I have the original CD that this file was on - so when I scanned this on the CD and it also flagged as a virus, I became convinced that it must be a false positive. I've also run an avast bootscan, MBAB and SuperAntiSpyware

The problem I am having is sending this infected file to Avast. When I try to send from within the Chest, nothing happens at all - either clicking the icon or right-click 'Send email to Awil' both is just as if I haven't clicked at all. I tried extracting to a created folder C:\Suspect, zipping this and then attaching in an email, but when I send (in Outlook Express), the virus alarm sounds and I am prevented from sending.

Any help appreciated. I am running Avast Home 4.8.1368

Geoff
Win7, Chrome, Avast MBAM, SUS,

Offline scythe944

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
    • My Tech Blog
Re: Problem trying to send possible FP to Avast
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2009, 04:20:01 PM »
I never have to do this, but I've read about it before.  I'm pretty sure that Avast won't really tell you that it did anything when you complete the "email to alwil" (of course, it doesn't actually email them, it just uploads it to them the next time you do a VPS update).

You should get the form to submit the False Positive though.  If the form isn't popping up, then something's wrong, but I don't remember the fix.  I believe you're supposed to try a repair of Avast, but don't hold me to it.