Author Topic: new problem  (Read 6279 times)

nrv

new problem
« on: February 19, 2006, 07:23:49 PM »
After downloading another version of avast home to remedy an earlier problem  which forced me to remove it due to a conflict with my ISP's mandatory new accelerator, the avast "A" in the tray has a red cicle with a line through it on a white background and I cannot get the protection to start.
I no longer have the accelerator on my computer, I removed it because of the problem.
I do not have nor did I have any other antivirus program on my computer other than avast home version.
What can I do here?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2006, 08:05:52 PM by nrv »

Linuxrevolt

Re: new problem
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2006, 11:37:59 PM »
I'm not an expert but if it was my computer I would do another uninstall of Avast, reboot, run Registry Mechanic 5.0 if your running XP. Reboot again and then reinstall Avast.

You may have already done these things or combinations of them but thought I would comment. Good Luck!!!

nrv

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2006, 12:11:32 AM »
Thank you for your suggestions.

I actually have done previously all as you suggest.
The o/S is win 2000, though.

Ihave uninstalled and reinstalled avast three times today.
I had run a registry clean up twice because of the problems with the Netxl, immediately following removal of that program..

Thank you, though, for taking the time to offer your help.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2006, 01:48:15 AM »
Well the red circle may be unrelated to your accelerators, it is usually caused by having another (or had) AV installed. Have you had another AV installed, if so what and how did you get rid of it ?