Author Topic: Only sending "No-System" Files to the chest  (Read 4432 times)

allisson

Only sending "No-System" Files to the chest
« on: December 13, 2010, 11:22:33 AM »
Hi,

Im relatively new to Avast. I am completely satisfied though one of the first things I noticed (moved to Avast from Avira) was the missing "Ignore" option. I have read about the reasons why avast choose to not add the option but I am still not convinced. Especially with False Positive scenarios that involve Windows system files. I remember reading about a Avast False Positive a few years back (the user.dll as far as I remember).

Now, in this thread https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=55644.0 I accidentally stumbled upon I read Tech's strategy:

I have fear of Chest... system things... can't boot/logon... I just send "no-system" files to Chest, otherwise, I investigate.
I think this is extremely clever and for me that would be somewhat of a replacement for the ignore function.

My question is: how do I implement such a behavior in avast? How do I exclude system files being send anywhere?

Thanks and cheers
ally

SafeSurf

Re: Only sending "No-System" Files to the chest
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2010, 11:47:22 AM »
Hi allisson and welcome to the forum.

Ignore means "No Action" in Avast language. 

Offline Tarq57

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2010, 11:58:37 AM »
In the "expert settings" under each of the file system shields,(expert settings>actions) you could specify "ask" rather than "send to chest" for certain detections, making it unlikely that a required system file is sent there (unless you send it there!).

I recommend you do not alter the default "abort connection" for the web shield. This shield is generally accurate in detection, and Avast users are often among the first to know a particular site might be infected. Aborting the connection is the best way to avoid a hazardous download.