Author Topic: Internal Error Message  (Read 3413 times)

Offline loukingjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Internal Error Message
« on: December 26, 2012, 01:05:17 PM »
I am getting a periodic internal error message which tells me more info may be available if I open Avast or check the system logs. Opening Avast tells me nothing and the only error I noticed in the Console was the peer was reset.

Any thoughts? I never had this issue until I had restored my HD.

Offline zilog

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 962
  • Gender: Male
  • or #f0; daa; add a,#a0; adc a,#40
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 09:29:05 AM »
I am getting a periodic internal error message which tells me more info may be available if I open Avast or check the system logs. Opening Avast tells me nothing and the only error I noticed in the Console was the peer was reset.

Any thoughts? I never had this issue until I had restored my HD.

Hallo,
at least when you start the gui manually, you will be prompted to log as administrator, and the issue would be fixed - is this true?
Then, after reboot, the fixed state shouldn't be broken again - if so, something (some backup software?) probably modifies avast's internal appsupport data.
Also, please, when the "internal error" pop-up is present, could you do, in terminal, this command: ps -lax | grep vast    ... and send us the output?

As a last resort, you can uninstall avast from menubar (all important parts would be wiped by this step), and then install it again from the dmg. This would solve any glitches, possibly introduced by the backup-software.

Regards,
pc
May's Law: Software efficiency halves every 18 months, compensating Moore's Law. (David May, INMOS)

Offline loukingjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 09:36:03 AM »
I am getting a periodic internal error message which tells me more info may be available if I open Avast or check the system logs. Opening Avast tells me nothing and the only error I noticed in the Console was the peer was reset.

Any thoughts? I never had this issue until I had restored my HD.

Hallo,
at least when you start the gui manually, you will be prompted to log as administrator, and the issue would be fixed - is this true?
Then, after reboot, the fixed state shouldn't be broken again - if so, something (some backup software?) probably modifies avast's internal appsupport data.
Also, please, when the "internal error" pop-up is present, could you do, in terminal, this command: ps -lax | grep vast    ... and send us the output?

As a last resort, you can uninstall avast from menubar (all important parts would be wiped by this step), and then install it again from the dmg. This would solve any glitches, possibly introduced by the backup-software.

Regards,
pc
I had restored some things from a time machine backup which may be when this all started. A few days ago Avast brought up a message saying it needed to repair itself. asked for my password and so far I haven't seen the internal error message. I'm going to give it a few days before marking this as solved because it was periodic.

Offline loukingjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 11:36:34 PM »
well, I ended up uninstalling and reinstalling Avast and rebooting and left my computer long enough for the screen to sleep and when I woke it it had the internal error message so I ran the command in the terminal.
Code: [Select]
Louiss-iMac-2:~ Louis$ ps -lax | grep avast
    0    63     1     4004   0  31  0  2481596   2732 -      Ss                  0 ??         0:12.87 /Library/Application Support/Avast/proxy/com.avast.proxy -n -c /Library/Application Support/Avast/config/com.avast.proxy.conf
    0    65     1     4004   0  33  0  2516772   3192 -      Ss                  0 ??         0:01.92 /Library/Application Support/Avast/fileshield/com.avast.fileshield
  502   332   284     4004   0  49  0 19538652  33732 -      S                   0 ??         0:01.99 /Library/Application Support/Avast/com.avast.helper.app/Contents/MacOS/com.avast.helper
    0  5638     1     4000   0  31  0   618004   4404 -      Ss                  0 ??         0:00.93 /Library/Application Support/Avast/files/vps/com.avast.MacAvast.MAD -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/master -os -od -oa -ou0 -om0666 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.file -oa -ou0 -om0600 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.web -oa -ou0 -om0600 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.mail -oa -ou0 -om0600 -d /Library/Application Support/Avast/files/vps -w /tmp -l /Library/Application Support/Avast/config/license.dat -m 0x00000002 -s /var/log/avastdaemon.log -e3600 -al/tmp/avastdownload.log -hs10000 -hf/Library/Application Support/Avast/config/.avast_history -bk -n -v -ad360 -ar/Library/Application Support/Avast/com.avast.registration.app/Contents/MacOS/com.avast.registration
    0  5639  5638        0   0  31  0   808612  49836 -      S                   0 ??         0:01.15 /Library/Application Support/Avast/files/vps/com.avast.MacAvast.MAD -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/master -os -od -oa -ou0 -om0666 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.file -oa -ou0 -om0600 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.web -oa -ou0 -om0600 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.mail -oa -ou0 -om0600 -d /Library/Application Support/Avast/files/vps -w /tmp -l /Library/Application Support/Avast/config/license.dat -m 0x00000002 -s /var/log/avastdaemon.log -e3600 -al/tmp/avastdownload.log -hs10000 -hf/Library/Application Support/Avast/config/.avast_history -bk -n -v -ad360 -ar/Library/Application Support/Avast/com.avast.registration.app/Contents/MacOS/com.avast.registration
  502  5679  5672     4006   0  31  0  2439184   2140 -      S+                  0 ttys000    0:00.01 grep avast
Louiss-iMac-2:~ Louis$

Offline zilog

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 962
  • Gender: Male
  • or #f0; daa; add a,#a0; adc a,#40
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2013, 01:42:24 PM »
well, I ended up uninstalling and reinstalling Avast and rebooting and left my computer long enough for the screen to sleep and when I woke it it had the internal error message so I ran the command in the terminal.
Code: [Select]
Louiss-iMac-2:~ Louis$ ps -lax | grep avast
    0    63     1     4004   0  31  0  2481596   2732 -      Ss                  0 ??         0:12.87 /Library/Application Support/Avast/proxy/com.avast.proxy -n -c /Library/Application Support/Avast/config/com.avast.proxy.conf
    0    65     1     4004   0  33  0  2516772   3192 -      Ss                  0 ??         0:01.92 /Library/Application Support/Avast/fileshield/com.avast.fileshield
  502   332   284     4004   0  49  0 19538652  33732 -      S                   0 ??         0:01.99 /Library/Application Support/Avast/com.avast.helper.app/Contents/MacOS/com.avast.helper
    0  5638     1     4000   0  31  0   618004   4404 -      Ss                  0 ??         0:00.93 /Library/Application Support/Avast/files/vps/com.avast.MacAvast.MAD -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/master -os -od -oa -ou0 -om0666 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.file -oa -ou0 -om0600 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.web -oa -ou0 -om0600 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.mail -oa -ou0 -om0600 -d /Library/Application Support/Avast/files/vps -w /tmp -l /Library/Application Support/Avast/config/license.dat -m 0x00000002 -s /var/log/avastdaemon.log -e3600 -al/tmp/avastdownload.log -hs10000 -hf/Library/Application Support/Avast/config/.avast_history -bk -n -v -ad360 -ar/Library/Application Support/Avast/com.avast.registration.app/Contents/MacOS/com.avast.registration
    0  5639  5638        0   0  31  0   808612  49836 -      S                   0 ??         0:01.15 /Library/Application Support/Avast/files/vps/com.avast.MacAvast.MAD -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/master -os -od -oa -ou0 -om0666 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.file -oa -ou0 -om0600 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.web -oa -ou0 -om0600 -u /Library/Application Support/Avast/socket.mail -oa -ou0 -om0600 -d /Library/Application Support/Avast/files/vps -w /tmp -l /Library/Application Support/Avast/config/license.dat -m 0x00000002 -s /var/log/avastdaemon.log -e3600 -al/tmp/avastdownload.log -hs10000 -hf/Library/Application Support/Avast/config/.avast_history -bk -n -v -ad360 -ar/Library/Application Support/Avast/com.avast.registration.app/Contents/MacOS/com.avast.registration
  502  5679  5672     4006   0  31  0  2439184   2140 -      S+                  0 ttys000    0:00.01 grep avast
Louiss-iMac-2:~ Louis$
Well, it seems that all the processes are properly up and running. So i suspect the wake-after-sleep mechanism to just take too much time to get scanning process back into life, and some client, maybe proxy, reported this as an "internal delay" - I assume that at the moment when this log was acquired, everything was functional and you were able to scan. So, when this hypothesis is correct (please, confirm), we should probably increase the timeout in the client.

regards,
pc
May's Law: Software efficiency halves every 18 months, compensating Moore's Law. (David May, INMOS)

Offline loukingjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2013, 01:50:17 PM »
I actually don't scan anything. the error happens when it updates the definitions. I think it may be caused by VirtualBox because the only time I really notice it is when I run Linux guests in VirtualBox  which are using bridged networking. It is very  periodic so it's hard to tell but I think VB may be the cause.

Offline zilog

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 962
  • Gender: Male
  • or #f0; daa; add a,#a0; adc a,#40
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2013, 08:46:47 PM »
I actually don't scan anything. the error happens when it updates the definitions. I think it may be caused by VirtualBox because the only time I really notice it is when I run Linux guests in VirtualBox  which are using bridged networking. It is very  periodic so it's hard to tell but I think VB may be the cause.

Updating definitions means that the new definitions must be verified/validated first - and this takes some cpu cycles for few seconds. But, new definitions aren't accepted until this task finishes, so there's no "waiting window" that might be the cause of this internal error even under high load - but still, could you post a  top utility output, taken when your VB session runs?

regards,
pc
May's Law: Software efficiency halves every 18 months, compensating Moore's Law. (David May, INMOS)

Offline loukingjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2013, 09:36:14 PM »
I actually don't scan anything. the error happens when it updates the definitions. I think it may be caused by VirtualBox because the only time I really notice it is when I run Linux guests in VirtualBox  which are using bridged networking. It is very  periodic so it's hard to tell but I think VB may be the cause.

Updating definitions means that the new definitions must be verified/validated first - and this takes some cpu cycles for few seconds. But, new definitions aren't accepted until this task finishes, so there's no "waiting window" that might be the cause of this internal error even under high load - but still, could you post a  top utility output, taken when your VB session runs?

regards,
pc
what I meant was, first I get the normal dialog notification that the definitions have been updated, right after that I get the internal error notification. I don't know what you mean by "a top utility output". if you could clarify? thanks.

Offline zilog

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 962
  • Gender: Male
  • or #f0; daa; add a,#a0; adc a,#40
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2013, 09:28:27 AM »
I actually don't scan anything. the error happens when it updates the definitions. I think it may be caused by VirtualBox because the only time I really notice it is when I run Linux guests in VirtualBox  which are using bridged networking. It is very  periodic so it's hard to tell but I think VB may be the cause.

Updating definitions means that the new definitions must be verified/validated first - and this takes some cpu cycles for few seconds. But, new definitions aren't accepted until this task finishes, so there's no "waiting window" that might be the cause of this internal error even under high load - but still, could you post a  top utility output, taken when your VB session runs?

regards,
pc
what I meant was, first I get the normal dialog notification that the definitions have been updated, right after that I get the internal error notification. I don't know what you mean by "a top utility output". if you could clarify? thanks.

Hallo, it's standard unix utility, just open terminal and enter "top". Also, relevant part of /var/log/system.log might clarify what's happening when VB runs.

regards,
pc
May's Law: Software efficiency halves every 18 months, compensating Moore's Law. (David May, INMOS)

Offline loukingjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2013, 11:08:48 AM »
here's the Top output

Last login: Sat Jan  5 07:05:02 on ttys000
Louiss-iMac-2:~ Louis$ top

Processes: 115 total, 5 running, 3 stuck, 107 sleeping, 594 threads    07:11:34
Load Avg: 0.67, 0.78, 0.65  CPU usage: 0.68% user, 2.97% sys, 96.33% idle
SharedLibs: 256K resident, 0B data, 0B linkedit.
MemRegions: 61580 total, 2677M resident, 0B private, 509M shared.
PhysMem: 2758M wired, 1182M active, 1984M inactive, 5923M used, 6360M free.
VM: 306G vsize, 1025M framework vsize, 1407273(0) pageins, 929824(0) pageouts.
Networks: packets: 11721570/18G in, 4081465/3622M out.
Disks: 522885/26G read, 701516/46G written.

PID    COMMAND      %CPU TIME     #TH  #WQ  #PORT #MREG RPRVT  RSHRD  RSIZE
25295  top          8.3  00:00.82 1/1  0    24    177   1880K+ 9192K  4476K+
25292  bash         0.0  00:00.00 1    0    21    137   760K   4092K  2980K
25291  login        0.0  00:00.07 2    1    33    579   9880K  75M    19M
25287  mdworker     0.0  00:00.05 3    1    55    613   10M    82M    21M
25284  mdworker     0.0  00:00.08 3    1    55    618   11M    88M    22M
25222  plugin-conta 0.2  00:00.62 9    1    215   1082  25M    171M   51M
25216  firefox      0.1  00:16.65 29   3    203   2847  269M   185M   390M
25206  mdworker     0.0  00:00.29 5    2    58    633   17M    82M    30M
25200  Terminal     0.8  00:03.46 8    4    145   930   22M    129M   52M
25174  cfprefsd     0.0  00:00.01 2    2    29    176   1300K  8388K  3896K
25173  distnoted    0.0  00:00.01 2    1    38    185   1536K  9496K  4980K
25169  launchd      0.0  00:00.01 2    0    49    154   740K   4112K  2524K
25148  helpd        0.0  00:00.02 2    1    42    421   4368K  42M    10M
25147  VirtualBoxVM 12.0 03:40.17 24/1 1    272   1912  1623M  114M   1683M


I don't know what the relevant log info would be. When I looked before the only thing I found was in the error log for Avast and all it said was the peer was reset or timed out.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2013, 11:15:45 AM by loukingjr »

Offline loukingjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2013, 02:09:11 PM »
whatever is causing this which seems to be related to VirtualBox, the error stops when I open Avast and close it again. it happens so rarely if it's not fixed it's not a big deal.

Offline loukingjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internal Error Message
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2013, 09:42:07 AM »
I just got the internal error message without VirtualBox running so I suppose it's not VirtualBox after all. It's been days since I had the error and nothing has changed on my system.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now