Author Topic: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?  (Read 5424 times)

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7811
  • Gender: Male
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's little secrets
    • Personal Message (Offline)
How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« on: February 02, 2013, 09:00:01 AM »
I had a registration key for avast! 7 which i was reusing on every avast! re-instalaltion (i test a lot of apps so i keep on re-installing it). However in avast! v8 i can't seem to find any way to enter a key anymore. Does this mean i'll have to re-register every single time i'l re-install avast! ?

This means i'll create idiotically high number of new registrations on your servers that won't even be active for long. And i'm not the only one who's swapping AV's very often.

Is this really a good idea or am i missing something?

Offline Simion

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 527
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2013, 12:24:54 PM »
It's still there at the bottom of the Maintenance > Registration page. You may have to move the scroll or click the arrow to see it.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7811
  • Gender: Male
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's little secrets
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2013, 04:31:07 PM »
Well, i didn't have that option at all. No scrollbars either.

Offline Simion

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 527
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2013, 08:15:09 PM »
Well, i didn't have that option at all. No scrollbars either.

No matter, really. I just tried putting in my Avast 7 license and Avast gives no acknowledgement, or even response. It still says "Not yet registered (30 days remaining)" after multiple tries and reboots.

And, my entire system is slow as could be, not only Avast. I guess I'm going back to v.7. :'(

XP32 SP3 3.0Ghz Intel 3.5 GB RAM

Offline Asyn

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 24914
  • Frohe Ostern
    • >>>  avast! Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2013, 08:23:36 PM »
And, my entire system is slow as could be, not only Avast. I guess I'm going back to v.7. :'(

XP32 SP3 3.0Ghz Intel 3.5 GB RAM

-> http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=114134.0
XP SP3 - avast! 9.0.2018 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [On Demand] - Firefox ESR 24.4 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP] - Thunderbird 24.4 [EM/CH]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> avast! Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Simion

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 527
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2013, 11:16:11 PM »
And, my entire system is slow as could be, not only Avast. I guess I'm going back to v.7. :'(

XP32 SP3 3.0Ghz Intel 3.5 GB RAM

-> http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=114134.0

Thanks, Asyn. I did already read that and other topics/posts regarding XP. They made my decision to go back to v.7 easier. ;)

Offline DrHaze

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2013, 12:47:01 AM »
I uninstalled the Beta. and am Running 7 Again. But i did see a screen in version 8 beta to put your key in from a registration email.
AMD Phenom x4 3.3/Intel Core2 Quad 2.5 Ghz
Windows 8 x64 Pro/Avast 8 Free! 8.0.1481

Offline mrapi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2013, 09:32:26 AM »
I have the same problem,I paste serial but nothing happens :(
I use v 8 beta3 on XP SP3/32


No matter, really. I just tried putting in my Avast 7 license and Avast gives no acknowledgement, or even response. It still says "Not yet registered (30 days remaining)" after multiple tries and reboots.


Offline HDW38

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1666
  • Gender: Male
  • Never give up looking for solutions!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2013, 05:37:11 PM »
Hi!

Two days ago i had to do a clean install of '8.0.1478 free'. After that, I even tried to register offline, filled out the formular and got a registration key for 'free' by mail.
I put in the key, but nothing at all happened until now.

Edit: Concerning 'W7'.

HDW
« Last Edit: February 15, 2013, 05:39:24 PM by HDW38 »
VIA P4X266-8233, W7 SP 1 + XP SP 3 | MSI MS-7091, XP SP 3 | ASUS A7V880, W7 SP 1 | MSI MS-6330, W7 SP 1 | ASUS MED 2001, XP SP 3, avast! Free 9.0.2017.
DELL Inspiron 2600, Intel Mobile Celeron-1200, 1,2 GHz, 80 GB HDD, 384 MB RAM, XP SP3.
Alle 32-Bit, avast! Free 2014.9.0.2016, MBAM Free, Comodo 7.0 [FW,D+], Firefox 24.4.0 ESR [NS,ABP], Thunderbird 24.4.0.

Offline mrapi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to register avast! Free with an existing key?
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2013, 05:39:44 AM »
For me that seems fixed in RC version,thanks ! :D

Hi!

Two days ago i had to do a clean install of '8.0.1478 free'. After that, I even tried to register offline, filled out the formular and got a registration key for 'free' by mail.
I put in the key, but nothing at all happened until now.

Edit: Concerning 'W7'.

HDW

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now