Author Topic: How to use Avast AdBlocker?  (Read 3971 times)

Offline JuninhoSlo

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
    • Personal Message (Offline)
How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« on: February 14, 2013, 09:14:15 PM »
Hi ;)

Do you know how to use Avast AdBlocker? I have removed AdBlock+ but still I don,t know how to use Avast AdBlocker. Thank you.

Thank you.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2013, 09:21:08 PM »
There's not much to "use" about the blocker. You install it... and browse without ads. That's about it. ;)

Or did you mean how to configure it? There's not to much to configure either. The only meaningful setting is to disable ad blocking on a particular site, e.g. because you want to support the web owner.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline JuninhoSlo

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2013, 09:48:51 PM »
Thank you for explanation.

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64881
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2013, 10:45:43 PM »
There's not much to "use" about the blocker. You install it... and browse without ads. That's about it. ;)
Does it use block lists only? Are the same lists (EasyList for instance) of AdBlock Plus?
Will we see a setting for particular block an image like in that addon?
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69218
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2013, 11:21:18 PM »
There's not much to "use" about the blocker. You install it... and browse without ads. That's about it. ;)
Does it use block lists only? Are the same lists (EasyList for instance) of AdBlock Plus?
Will we see a setting for particular block an image like in that addon?

I think those that already use AdBlockPlus with more than just the default list are better sticking with that and probably why the avast Ad Block doesn't install if you already have AdBlockPlus.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64881
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2013, 11:33:16 PM »
I think those that already use AdBlockPlus with more than just the default list are better sticking with that and probably why the avast Ad Block doesn't install if you already have AdBlockPlus.
Sure for the Firefox users. But what about Internet Explorer?
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69218
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2013, 11:38:59 PM »
I think there must be other Ad Blockers for IE, I know AdBlockPlus has one for Chrome.

Lots of hits for uk.search.yahoo.com/search?p=adblockplus+for+IE, though not specifically AdBlockPlus .
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64881
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2013, 12:08:16 AM »
Well, after all, a good feature to offer for our users :)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Para-Noid

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4505
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2013, 01:32:31 AM »
I think there must be other Ad Blockers for IE, I know AdBlockPlus has one for Chrome.

Lots of hits for uk.search.yahoo.com/search?p=adblockplus+for+IE, though not specifically AdBlockPlus .
There is Simple AdBlock for IE http://simple-adblock.com/ sorry no AdBlock+
Dell Inspiron, Win7x64 SP1, Pentium Dual-Core, 6 GB Ram, Avast Free 2014.9.0.2018, Comodo Firewall 5.12 w/D+, MalwareBytes Premium 2.0, MCShield, Super Anti-Spyware Free, SpywareBlaster, Bitdefender TrafficLight, OpenDNS Premium, Keyscrambler Personal,  PrivDog. CCleaner, Greenshot, Firefox (latest build) and, Google Chrome (latest build).

When you do something, do it with a purpose and do it on purpose.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69218
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2013, 12:42:53 PM »
I think there must be other Ad Blockers for IE, I know AdBlockPlus has one for Chrome.

Lots of hits for uk.search.yahoo.com/search?p=adblockplus+for+IE, though not specifically AdBlockPlus .
There is Simple AdBlock for IE http://simple-adblock.com/ sorry no AdBlock+

Yes that was in the list of hits on the search.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline slybo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2013, 01:16:56 PM »
I can not remember what you call it but can you use the * and do something like *weather.com, and would this be the proper way. Also I see not way to temporarily disable it without useing IE manage add-ons, is there a way?

Offline slybo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2013, 02:00:34 PM »
Tried all kind of ways with and without * and can not get it to allow ads on aol.com or weather.com, like it says will work for some web sites unless I am doing it wrong. If you make it work let me know how?

Offline slybo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How to use Avast AdBlocker?
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2013, 02:11:03 PM »
went to the feedback section on this beta and see it is an issue, guess I need to look in the feedback first, sorry

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now