Author Topic: Action Center says Avast is turned off  (Read 16424 times)

Offline bob3160

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 23938
  • Gender: Male
  • 53 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2013, 11:49:54 AM »
It's the same for me since 8.0.1483!!! I have just updated to 8.0.1489 and problem in action center is still here  :(
Did you do a clean install ?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 4 Gig Ram, avast!2014.9.0.2015 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install avast! http://goo.gl/VLXde
                     - It's nice to be Important. - It's more important to be Nice. -

Offline MaxReed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Gender: Male
  • Amo tutto ciò che funziona come dico io!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2013, 11:58:40 AM »
yeah I did it the first time I've installed Win8 on my laptop and I did another clean install 2 days ago after suggestion on another post
-Asus N61Jv | Intel Core i5-540M | nVidia Geforce Gt 325M | 6Gb RAM DDR3 | Win8.1 Pro x64 | Avast 2014.9.0.2016 Free | MBAM 1.75 | Firefox Latest Version
-Assembled...old wreckage | old AMD 1Core 1.9 GHz | 1Gb RAM | Win7 Ultimate SP1 x64 | Avast 2014.9.0.2016 Free | MBAM 1.75 | Firefox L.V.

Offline fillup

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2013, 07:10:35 PM »
What is your OS(s)?
What other security software do you have now or ever had?
If removed how was it removed?
What are you using as firewall?  ???

Windows 8 64bit on all computers
Never had anything else than Avast
--
Windows firewall, only

This started to happend right after the 1488 update and with 1488 update only.


Same here.  Windows 8 64 bit (standard, not pro edition) on an Acer Aspire V3 771G laptop.  Just Avast installed.  Using Windows firewall.  No other security programs installed.

I even did a clean install of Windows 8 yesterday.  With nothing but Avast 1488 installed, Action Center reported anti-spyware/anti-virus disabled.  Uninstalled 1488, and installed 1483 and problem went away.

Haven't tried 1489 yet.



I just updated from 1483 to 1489, and so far Action Center is reporting Avast is turned ON.  Fingers crossed.


I might have spoke too soon.  After another reboot the problem came back in 1489.  Rebooted a third time and the problem went away.   ??? 

Offline sicextheo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #18 on: May 11, 2013, 02:32:27 AM »
I figured i would just let this run its course till a later patch. I have the same issue. I have SuperAntiSpyware, Malwayrebytes pro, and Avast Internet security all updated and with valid licenses. The issue really does have to do with how these load in. SAS and Avast both load later than they should normally triggering the control center prompt. I had uninstalled eset smart security suite and had this issue. Did clean windows 8 install and only installed avast worked fine. After installing malwayre bytes and sas as well as a few Windows Updates the issue came back.

Offline bob3160

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 23938
  • Gender: Male
  • 53 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #19 on: May 11, 2013, 01:32:56 PM »
I have also found that on occasion, doing a Repair of avast! followed by a re-boot cures the problem.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 4 Gig Ram, avast!2014.9.0.2015 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install avast! http://goo.gl/VLXde
                     - It's nice to be Important. - It's more important to be Nice. -

Offline romulus72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #20 on: May 11, 2013, 02:20:08 PM »
Windows Action Center has started complaining that my antivirus and spyware protection is turned off. This problem started only after Avast downloaded the 8.0.1488 update. I've tried uninstalling Avast, downloading the 8.0.1489 installer and reinstalling but Windows Action Center still complaining that my antivirus and spyware protection is turned off. I reinstalled the old version 8.0.1483 just for testing purpose and the problem went away, so it must be something wrong in 8.0.1488 and 8.01489.This problem I have in my both laptops running Windows 8 Pro X64 and Windows 8 Pro X86
My Laptops specifications:
1. ASUS, Core i7 2670 QM 2.2 up to 3.2 Ghz, Geforce 610M with 2 Gb dedicated video memory, 1Tb HDD Hitachi, 8 Gb DDRAM, Windows 8 Pro X64
2. SONY VAIO, AMD E350 1.6 Ghz, ATI HD 6310, 750 Gb HHD Toshiba, 4 Gb DDRAM, Windows 8 Pro X86

Offline Big Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #21 on: May 22, 2013, 04:09:17 AM »
I have Avast on my 2 Dell computers; this one which I'm currently posting on is a Dell Vostro 1510 laptop and my other Dell computer is a Dell Dimension 3100 desktop PC.  At the moment I have Avast Free Antivirus software which I got from CNET; my current version of Avast is #8.0.1489 which is installed on both of my Dell computers.   For about a week a Windows red security shield has been appearing in my systray; lower right corner of my laptop's screen; I go to Control Panel; click on check my computer's current security status and it says my Avast is "turned off".   Other security software on my laptop is SUPERAntispyware version #5.6.1020 and Malwarebytes anti-malware version #1.75.0.1300.   

From my computer's security center I have tried to "turn on" my Avast. nothing happens.  Someone over on CNET's discussion board recommended I use Avast's uninstall utility tool which I have and done so in "SAFE MODE" then reinstalled the latest version of Avast but after doing all of that the red shield is still showing up on my computer's screen and my Avast is still "turned off" and cannot be turned back on.   My Dell Vostro 1510's OS is Windows Vista Premium 32bit; I don't feel comfortable using the web without an active working antivirus.  What should I attempt to do next?  I'm a entry level computer user and am not a high end technical computer user.   

Offline SpeedyPC

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2826
  • Avast Free AV shall conquer the whole world
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #22 on: May 22, 2013, 04:22:28 AM »
Windows Action Center has started complaining that my antivirus and spyware protection is turned off. This problem started only after Avast downloaded the 8.0.1488 update. I've tried uninstalling Avast, downloading the 8.0.1489 installer and reinstalling but Windows Action Center still complaining that my antivirus and spyware protection is turned off. I reinstalled the old version 8.0.1483 just for testing purpose and the problem went away, so it must be something wrong in 8.0.1488 and 8.01489.This problem I have in my both laptops running Windows 8 Pro X64 and Windows 8 Pro X86
My Laptops specifications:
1. ASUS, Core i7 2670 QM 2.2 up to 3.2 Ghz, Geforce 610M with 2 Gb dedicated video memory, 1Tb HDD Hitachi, 8 Gb DDRAM, Windows 8 Pro X64
2. SONY VAIO, AMD E350 1.6 Ghz, ATI HD 6310, 750 Gb HHD Toshiba, 4 Gb DDRAM, Windows 8 Pro X86

Romulus72 and Fillup when you install Avast Free did you just installed the normal way just double click onto 'avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe', or did you right click on 'avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe' and pick 'Run as administrator' are you following me. Are you login to administrator account to you're own PC, or does this computer doesn't belong to you because you're not access to a full control administrator account before installing might have trigger the problem with Windows Action Center.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2013, 04:26:28 AM by SpeedyPC »
ASUS G75VX-T4153H - Avast Free v9.0.2018 - Outpost Pro Firewall v9.1 - W8 64bit - Firefox (NS/AdP/LP/TSB/TL/Web/Ghost/VT) - Thunderbird (AdP) - MBAM Premium + MBAE - Secunia PSI - CCleaner - MCShield - Macrium Reflect Free

Offline sirhcnotroh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off "fix"
« Reply #23 on: May 22, 2013, 05:09:18 AM »
Fixed windows 8 for me had all same issue.

For Windows Vista/7/8

   a)      Open an elevated command prompt as follows

   For Vista/7 go to Start > All Programs > Accessories > right click on Command Prompt and choose Run as Administrator

For Windows 8 hover the mouse to the bottom left corner until you are seeing the Start pictogram > right click on it and choose Command Prompt (Admin)

b)      In the command prompt  window type the command below and press Enter

winmgmt /verifyrepository

  c)       You will get either one of these results:

   WMI repository is consistent -no problems detected >> go to step f)

   WMI repository is inconsistent -problems detected >> go to step d)

   d)      To rebuild the repository type the command below and hit Enter

     winmgmt /salvagerepository

    e)      You will receive one of the results below

    WMI repository is consistent -no problems detected >> go to step f)

    WMIrepository salvage failed -failed to rebuild WMI repository. Try repeating step d) again.

    WMIrepository has been salvaged - WMI repository has been successfully rebuilt. >> go to step g)

    f)       Reset the repository to its initial state using the command below and hit Enter

    winmgmt /resetrepository

    g)      Now reboot the PC and check if the issue reoccurs

Hope it helps

Offline essexboy

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 28970
  • Gender: Male
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #24 on: May 22, 2013, 01:41:11 PM »
Yep that is a good windows 8 fix, sometimes windows just gets lost and confused..  It is not an Avast problem

Offline HLCAvastUser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2013, 09:53:17 PM »
This problem is happening again as of a couple days ago and again today. It went away for a couple days after a reboot last time. Now it's back. I'm not up for continuously uninstalling and reinstalling. That's just a nuisance and should not be required. Avast IS has been a terrific suite for me for years. I hope they get this fixed soon, or tells us what to do. If it's a Windows problem, we're not likely to ever hear a fix from them. :(

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #26 on: August 08, 2013, 11:13:24 PM »
The problem actually lies with the windows action centre or rather the WMI. This is something which has been the same for several generations of the windows action centre/windows security centre and it isn't just restricted to avast, but other security software.

You don't say what OS you are running.

See http://windowsxp.mvps.org/repairwmi.htm, this also mentions Vista, so that may be valid for win7.
For Windows 7 also see Win7 WMI Repair
Also see http://windowsxp.mvps.org/repairwmi.htm, this also mentions Vista, so that may be valid for win7.
Windows XP SP2, SP3 Start, Run, type cmd and click OK from the command prompt type 'rundll32 wbemupgd, RepairWMISetup' without the quotes and enter.
Win7 - Also see windows Fix It - http://support.microsoft.com/mats/windows_security_diagnostic/
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline essexboy

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 28970
  • Gender: Male
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #27 on: August 09, 2013, 12:00:09 PM »
For windows 8 using an elevated command prompt :

regsvr32 /u WMIUTILS.DLL
Reboot
regsvr32 WMIUTILS.DLL
Reboot
Fixed

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #28 on: August 09, 2013, 12:18:19 PM »
Thanks for the win8 solution, I will add it to my texts.

EDIT: Is it still cmd.exe in win8 that needs to be run as the administrator ?
« Last Edit: August 09, 2013, 12:20:41 PM by DavidR »
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline essexboy

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 28970
  • Gender: Male
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Action Center says Avast is turned off
« Reply #29 on: August 09, 2013, 12:29:50 PM »
Command prompt

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now