Author Topic: Warning: Unresponsive script  (Read 2431 times)

Offline Barb711

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • I love Jesus! I love animals!
    • Animal Wish List
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Warning: Unresponsive script
« on: May 23, 2013, 03:27:24 AM »
Hello Hello...I'm back again with Unresponsive script warning.
Feel quite embarrassed about it.  I hope you don't mind helping me
with it again.....please
I've noticed the past several weeks, it is taking my computer a lot longer
to load pages/sites.  Sometimes it freeze a bit, and then I get the little gray box:
Warning:  Unresponsive script
Is there any way I can stop it...again?
I am using Outpost Firewall 2009 (works great! - thanks to you!)
Avast!....SUPERB!
I use Windows XP, and normally use Mozilla Firefox 21.0
I also have the following programs installed on my computer:
Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
Spybot Search & Destroy
Regcure
SpywareBlaster
CCleaner
AdwCleaner - v2.003


Offline mikaelrask

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1303
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2013, 06:55:28 AM »
hey barb711 could you provide a picture of that unresponsive script for us.

spybot is a waste of space and can't keep up with todays malware, you don't need it when you have malwarebytes antimalware on your computer.

im not sure about regcure thought. im not 100% sure but it could be a rought program. hope someone else can give some light on this pogram.
new computer
windows 8 Intel core I-3 64 bit
6 gb ram 500 gb hardrive. avast 9 MBAM

Offline Barb711

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • I love Jesus! I love animals!
    • Animal Wish List
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 02:29:11 PM »
Everything is says in the little gray box is below (I'm sending pic too).

Warning:  Unresponsive script
A script on this page may be busy, or it may have stopped responding.  You can stop the script now, or you can continue to see if the script will complete.
(gives me "Continue" & "Stop script" buttons to click on)

Offline essexboy

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 29082
  • Gender: Male
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2013, 02:44:53 PM »
Go to Control Panel > Internet Options > Advanced Tab
Tick both disable script debugging options

Offline Barb711

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • I love Jesus! I love animals!
    • Animal Wish List
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2013, 07:38:11 PM »
I checked, and those two boxes are ticked already.
I think I ticked them last time I came here with this problem (several months ago).
But they are ticked...and problem is ongoing :(

Offline essexboy

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 29082
  • Gender: Male
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2013, 07:40:20 PM »
Do you have Java installed Barb ?   

Clear Cache/Temp Files
Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two.  Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.

Offline Barb711

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • I love Jesus! I love animals!
    • Animal Wish List
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2013, 02:51:44 AM »
It shows me on Mozilla Firefox that I have Java installed but disabled.
The following shows as it reads:

Extensions:
Java Quick Starter 1.0 (disabled)
Plugins:
Java Deployment Toolkit 6.0.390.4  6.0.390.4 (disabled)
Java(TM) Platform SE 6 U39  6.0.390.4 (disabled)

I downloaded and ran TFC by Old Timer, then rebooted computer.
Then I came here to post.

Offline Barb711

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • I love Jesus! I love animals!
    • Animal Wish List
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2013, 03:24:33 AM »
I thought I would add, that I just came from the FaceBook website.  When I clicked to log-out, it took a good minute or more before it would do anything.  Then it showed me the FaceBook home, which appears after you log-out.  And then a small gray window popped up:

Warning: Unresponsive plugin
Shockwave Flash may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the plugin now, or you can continue to see if the plugin will complete.
      Continue    -     Stop plugin


First time I have ever had that warning.
Just thought I would let you know.

Offline mikaelrask

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1303
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2013, 05:31:54 AM »
hey barb essexbox will continue help you when he comes online later today.
new computer
windows 8 Intel core I-3 64 bit
6 gb ram 500 gb hardrive. avast 9 MBAM

Offline essexboy

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 29082
  • Gender: Male
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2013, 12:49:59 PM »
OK lets get rid of Flash and then get a fresh copy

Download and the run the flashplayer uninstaller from here http://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb/uninstall-flash-player-windows.html

Then download and install the latest version from here http://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb/download-flash-player-windows-8.html

Offline Barb711

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • I love Jesus! I love animals!
    • Animal Wish List
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2013, 06:57:48 PM »
DONE - I have Adobe Flash Player 11

Offline essexboy

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 29082
  • Gender: Male
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2013, 08:34:53 PM »
Are you still getting unresponsive scripts ?

Offline Barb711

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • I love Jesus! I love animals!
    • Animal Wish List
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2013, 10:14:33 PM »
Well, my computer seems to be running a bit better.  I think I need to do a defrag and it may run even better.
I'll give it a try for a while.
Thank you for your help.
I'll be back if I get another Warning: Unresponsive script
Thank you so very much for helping me.
God gives us each a special gift, and I can see what gift He gave you :)

Offline essexboy

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 29082
  • Gender: Male
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Warning: Unresponsive script
« Reply #13 on: May 25, 2013, 11:08:14 AM »
 :-[

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now