Author Topic: Internet Explorer toolbar  (Read 1286 times)

Offline QckNiEk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Internet Explorer toolbar
« on: August 15, 2013, 10:47:12 PM »
Under Internet Explorer, Avast Online Security appears as a toolbar that takes up an entire row of the screen.  Is there any way to configure IE so that AOS appears as an icon, as it does in Firefox? Please note that obvious workarounds such as buying a bigger monitor or using a different browser are not what I am hoping to find.  Thanks!

Offline Pondus

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 21789
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 10:49:33 PM »
could you attach a screenshot

Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline ram1220

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2013, 08:47:00 PM »
 From what I have read in this forum it can not be changed. This is just the way it is displayed with the newer Internet Explorer versions.

Offline QckNiEk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2013, 03:32:43 AM »
Screenshot attached. 

"The way it is" is way too ugly for me.  Unfortunately, some poorly designed web sites simply cannot get along with Firefox. It's my impression that switching to IE is more effective at overcoming such problems than switching to Chrome or Opera, although it's just an impression. If there's really no other way to fix it, no problem, I'll just stop using the Avast toolbar with IE.

Offline mchain

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2180
  • Gender: Male
  • Spartan Warriors
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2013, 07:51:05 AM »
Well, there's always WOT.  See signature below this post.  Has a clickable link there and does what AOS does and more.  Will actually halt a site with poor reputation from fully loading; it gives one a chance to research it before deciding whether to proceed or not.  Might be worth looking into.
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2GB RAM AIS v 2014.9.0.2011 Secunia PSI version 2.0.0.3003 TREND Micro RUBotted Beta Javacool SpywareBlaster version 5.0 Sandboxie v. 4.09 32-bit WOT (Web Of Trust) Browser reputation-based add-on http://www.mywot.com/   New: avast! listing of vendor uninstall tools:  http://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB11#artTitle
W7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1, 2.8 Pentium D, 3 GB RAM AIS v 2014.9.0.2016 (running same programs as above) Sandboxie 4.09 64-bit

Offline dprout69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2013, 09:10:22 PM »
Right click > Uncheck lock the toolbar > Hover over the Online Security divider and drag the icon to the left of the File/Edit/View etc

Recheck lock the toolbar

Offline Para-Noid

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4527
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2013, 09:12:48 PM »
IE>tools>add-ons/extensions>untick what you don't want.  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win7x64 SP1, Pentium Dual-Core, 6 GB Ram, Avast Free 2014.9.0.2018, Comodo Firewall 5.12 w/D+, MalwareBytes Premium 2.0, MCShield, Super Anti-Spyware Free, SpywareBlaster, Bitdefender TrafficLight, OpenDNS Premium, Keyscrambler Personal,  PrivDog. CCleaner, Greenshot, Firefox (latest build) and, Google Chrome (latest build).

When you do something, do it with a purpose and do it on purpose.

Offline -midnight

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1111
  • Gender: Female
  • YASARSA
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2013, 09:34:19 PM »
This is how it shows up on IE11.
Life is too short to start your day with broken pieces of yesterday, it will definitely destroy your wonderful today and ruin your great tomorrow.

Offline dprout69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2013, 09:58:58 PM »
As per my previous post... screenshot attached.  IE11
« Last Edit: November 30, 2013, 10:00:46 PM by dprout69 »

Offline dprout69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2013, 10:48:32 PM »
and you know the funny thing is for the last month... my above screen shot worked fine and now all of a sudden this week it's doing this... attached.

Any suggestions?

Offline dprout69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Internet Explorer toolbar
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2013, 11:49:55 PM »
Actually I see what the problem is... the avast toolbar is just too tall in comparison to the menu bar... it's bigger and trying to fit into a smaller space and just wacks out.  Must be an IE11 thing as this didn't happen when I was on 9... so bug report

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now