Author Topic: Deep Screen  (Read 14209 times)

Offline GTX66

  • An AIS User
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Deep Screen
« on: October 07, 2013, 10:51:53 PM »
Why is it that when I turn off Deep Screen, it still works?
« Last Edit: October 08, 2013, 01:16:35 AM by GTX66 »

Offline SoccerFan707

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Scan
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2013, 12:19:17 AM »
Are you referring to DeepScreen? I know no such Deep Scan.

Offline GTX66

  • An AIS User
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Scan
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2013, 01:15:19 AM »
Are you referring to DeepScreen? I know no such Deep Scan.

Yes I was sorry

Offline BODUL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • avast! beta tests [screenshots]:
    • Personal Message (Offline)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2013, 03:26:50 PM by BODUL »
[my_dev:Win8prox64_i5-2410M]

Offline cyberrufus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2013, 08:19:49 AM »
It's a complete mess in the latest build.

Offline michkrol

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2013, 01:58:20 PM »
I have the same problem, but with a twist.
I have a harmless .exe that when executed:
- with DeepScreen enabled, it gets analyzed and quarantined as malware,
- with DeepScreen disables, the app gets analyzed by DeepScreen anyway, but no malware is detected.
It started happening in RC2 (2014.9.0.2004), worked correctly in RC1 (2014.9.0.2003). Clean install didn't help.

PS. I'm using Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) (RTM/final - got it from DreamSpark).

Offline bob3160

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 23940
  • Gender: Male
  • 53 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2013, 02:58:53 PM »
Quote
PS. I'm using Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) (RTM/final - got it from DreamSpark).
Is that a Microsoft approved distributor ??? 


Aren't you asked if you want to add the program as an exclusion ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 4 Gig Ram, avast!2014.9.0.2015 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install avast! http://goo.gl/VLXde
                     - It's nice to be Important. - It's more important to be Nice. -

Offline Dr Mahmoud

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2013, 03:39:21 PM »
Quote
PS. I'm using Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) (RTM/final - got it from DreamSpark).
Is that a Microsoft approved distributor ??? 


Aren't you asked if you want to add the program as an exclusion ???

Yes it's Microsoft site for universities over the world

I have no such exclusion message

Offline michkrol

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2013, 05:26:46 PM »
Quote
PS. I'm using Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) (RTM/final - got it from DreamSpark).
Is that a Microsoft approved distributor ??? 
It's directly from Microsoft, a program for university students.

Quote
Aren't you asked if you want to add the program as an exclusion ???
There is no such question.

Manually adding it to DeepScreen exclusions doesn't work, the list/entry is ignored.
Adding it to File Paths exclusions seems to do the trick.

I'm confused. It's like the options specific to DeepScreen are ignored, while others work.

EDIT: Looks like it's fixed in RC3 :)
« Last Edit: October 08, 2013, 05:33:07 PM by michkrol »

Offline GTX66

  • An AIS User
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2013, 02:40:02 PM »
This is really starting to get annoying. I have to turn off AIS in order to install a Firefox Beta even though I do NOT have Deep Screen checked. Even if I did, Firefox is not malware.

Offline ThisWillDoIt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2013, 12:31:45 PM »
Same problem over here.

Had deep scanactivated in 2004 and Updated to 2005. Deep scananalysed a file and send it to the virus container.
Looked in my settings what was going on. Saw that deep scan was off and I should be asked what should be done with suspicious files.

Seems like the new version doesn't give a sh*t which settings are set to active^^

Offline GTX66

  • An AIS User
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2013, 05:13:44 PM »
I use third party themes and every time I install one I have to turn off AIS.

Offline GTX66

  • An AIS User
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2013, 12:46:12 AM »
I turned it on, maybe that will help... :'(

Offline alquist

  • avast! team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2013, 09:10:14 AM »
Will be fixed in new version  :)

Offline GTX66

  • An AIS User
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Deep Screen
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2013, 05:30:41 PM »
If it is not fixed then I am done with Avast. It keeps marking the Firefox Beta installs as malware. I know that Avast is in bed with Chrome but this is just plain nuts.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now