Author Topic: AVAST Add-On?  (Read 1051 times)

Offline badass

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
AVAST Add-On?
« on: October 14, 2013, 01:02:19 AM »
AVAST Add-On in the "manage add-on's" was disabled.  I enabled it was this the right thing to do?  What is it for?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2013, 01:04:21 AM by badass »
WindowsXP Professional, HP/Compaq Bussiness Laptop Centrino Duo

Offline marc-d-l

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 410
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST Add-On?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2013, 02:11:17 AM »
YES, and welcome to the forum. It protects against phishing and malware sites.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2013, 02:19:33 AM by marc-d-l »
Window 7 64 bits SP1 premium Avast 2014.9.0.2018  free, Firefox 27.0.1  MBAM, free spywareblaster, ABP,   Comodo firewall and a routerfirewall, Winpatrol.Superantispyware,Zemana Anti Logger.

Offline mchain

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2177
  • Gender: Male
  • Spartan Warriors
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST Add-On?
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2013, 02:13:13 AM »
hi badass,

I'm afraid my dog broke my crystal ball.  More information might help.

avast! version, free or paid, what paid version?  What section are you looking at?  Screenshot of your issue would help.
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2GB RAM AIS v 2014.9.0.2011 Secunia PSI version 2.0.0.3003 TREND Micro RUBotted Beta Javacool SpywareBlaster version 5.0 Sandboxie v. 4.09 32-bit WOT (Web Of Trust) Browser reputation-based add-on http://www.mywot.com/   New: avast! listing of vendor uninstall tools:  http://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB11#artTitle
W7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1, 2.8 Pentium D, 3 GB RAM AIS v 2014.9.0.2016 (running same programs as above) Sandboxie 4.09 64-bit

Offline exakta

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST Add-On?
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2013, 12:41:07 AM »
Hello Badass. I had to disable the add-on on 3 computers because it caused IE9 and IE10 to close down.

Offline Para-Noid

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4505
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST Add-On?
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2013, 12:35:13 PM »
The AOS plug-in seems to cause problems mostly in IE.
If you use IE you might want to disable AOS until a fix is made.
AOS doesn't appear to bother Chrome or Firefox.  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win7x64 SP1, Pentium Dual-Core, 6 GB Ram, Avast Free 2014.9.0.2018, Comodo Firewall 5.12 w/D+, MalwareBytes Premium 2.0, MCShield, Super Anti-Spyware Free, SpywareBlaster, Bitdefender TrafficLight, OpenDNS Premium, Keyscrambler Personal,  PrivDog. CCleaner, Greenshot, Firefox (latest build) and, Google Chrome (latest build).

When you do something, do it with a purpose and do it on purpose.

Offline badass

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST Add-On?
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2013, 02:10:35 PM »
Ooo, thanks a lot guys.
Free version of avast
I don't know how to make a screen shot. 
Windows xp home edition Manage add-ons>Toolbars and Extensions. 

Thanks
WindowsXP Professional, HP/Compaq Bussiness Laptop Centrino Duo

Offline mchain

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2177
  • Gender: Male
  • Spartan Warriors
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST Add-On?
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2013, 04:10:58 PM »
Ooo, thanks a lot guys.
Free version of avast
I don't know how to make a screen shot. 
Windows xp home edition Manage add-ons>Toolbars and Extensions. 

Thanks
Win XP has Paint.  Use that program to paste your screencapture (screenshot) into Paint. 

(Change the picture file type from default format, .bmp, to .jpeg before you save your screenshot to desktop.)

Highlight the picture you want to capture with your mouse by clicking on it.

Keyboard commands:

THEN:
  • Press the Alt+PrintScreen keys together at the same time.  This will cause the image captured to be pasted into Clipboard.
  • Open Paint and select Paste under the View or Edit button (forget which as not on XP atm).  Click that and an image will appear.  Save this image as a .jpg or .jepg file only as the default .bmp is too large to attach that file here in the forums.  Normal default size of a .bmp file is around 2-3 MB, whereas a .jpg file is around 2 KB to 300 KB, well within forum limits to attach your file here.
See attachments and other options just below your text box and select the browse button to find your file and attach.  Click it with your mouse and it will open for you.  Post your reply as you normally would.

To capture the entire desktop, use Ctrl+PrintScreen buttons together.
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2GB RAM AIS v 2014.9.0.2011 Secunia PSI version 2.0.0.3003 TREND Micro RUBotted Beta Javacool SpywareBlaster version 5.0 Sandboxie v. 4.09 32-bit WOT (Web Of Trust) Browser reputation-based add-on http://www.mywot.com/   New: avast! listing of vendor uninstall tools:  http://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB11#artTitle
W7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1, 2.8 Pentium D, 3 GB RAM AIS v 2014.9.0.2016 (running same programs as above) Sandboxie 4.09 64-bit

Offline Para-Noid

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4505
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST Add-On?
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2013, 05:59:22 PM »
I don't know how to make a screen shot. 

Some of us use Greenshot:)
Dell Inspiron, Win7x64 SP1, Pentium Dual-Core, 6 GB Ram, Avast Free 2014.9.0.2018, Comodo Firewall 5.12 w/D+, MalwareBytes Premium 2.0, MCShield, Super Anti-Spyware Free, SpywareBlaster, Bitdefender TrafficLight, OpenDNS Premium, Keyscrambler Personal,  PrivDog. CCleaner, Greenshot, Firefox (latest build) and, Google Chrome (latest build).

When you do something, do it with a purpose and do it on purpose.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now