Author Topic: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  (Read 96113 times)

Offline Steven Winderlich

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #165 on: October 16, 2013, 06:08:57 PM »
No. as far as i know.

The scan window and the results window are resizable, but i dont know why the interface is not resizable.
Windows 8.1 Update 1 64-Bit, Avast 2014 Free 9.0.2018, Malwarebytes 2.0.2 Public Beta PRO, MCShield

Offline Dark Magician

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #166 on: October 16, 2013, 07:10:31 PM »
It is still too heavy, and slows down my system as did v8. I am gonna give it a day or two to build cash, but I doubt it will help.
After that I will uninstall and switch back to Comodo. I know other people with the problem, people with SSD seam to be unaffected.
V7 was much lighter on the system (HDD). I hope you fix it.

Offline Lyon :))

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #167 on: October 16, 2013, 07:14:26 PM »
It is still too heavy, and slows down my system as did v8. I am gonna give it a day or two to build cash, but I doubt it will help.
After that I will uninstall and switch back to Comodo. I know other people with the problem, people with SSD seam to be unaffected.
V7 was much lighter on the system (HDD). I hope you fix it.

Heavy ?  :o

Sorry i can't belive in that :P

avast is one of the lightest AV's out there.

Offline George Yves

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3861
  • Gender: Male
  • Help you I can
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #168 on: October 16, 2013, 07:32:48 PM »
Aaaaand....I've noticed it just now...Avast! Online Security plug-in can't be repositioned in Firefox.... ??? why???

Unfixed bug.

No problem here, I moved the old webrep icon some considerable time ago and despite firefox and avast program updates. Since then the avast icon has remained in place on my browser, currently firefox 24.0.
But the problem is still there. You can move the icon from its usual place (the upper right corner, at the navigation toolbar) to any other place or a toolbar. But if you restart your browser, the icon returns to the place in the upper right corner. It doesn't keep any new position.
May the FOSS be with you!

Offline Dark Magician

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #169 on: October 16, 2013, 08:05:57 PM »
It is still too heavy, and slows down my system as did v8. I am gonna give it a day or two to build cash, but I doubt it will help.
After that I will uninstall and switch back to Comodo. I know other people with the problem, people with SSD seam to be unaffected.
V7 was much lighter on the system (HDD). I hope you fix it.

Heavy ?  :o

Sorry i can't belive in that :P

avast is one of the lightest AV's out there.

It is light in terms of CPU/RAM usage. But I/O operations are too heavy for a regular hard drive 7200rpm
« Last Edit: October 16, 2013, 08:09:06 PM by Dark Magician »

Offline MikeBCda

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2142
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #170 on: October 16, 2013, 08:23:19 PM »
Got everything working fine with just two reboots.  Like so many others, I've some several minor gripes about the new GUI, but they're mostly cosmetic issues and may well be changed in time.

A couple of improvements, though, and thanks to Avast for those ... mouse-over on the tooltray icon now shows the specific program and defs versions currently installed.  And when posting, I don't remember that "hide from suspicious visitors" button being there before, although of course it may well have been and I never had occasion to notice or use it.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 28.0 (default). 320 gig HD, 6Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 2014.9.0.2018 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Pro

Offline LeoG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #171 on: October 16, 2013, 08:49:44 PM »
I've got a lot of trouble with AVAST 2014 version. After updating the installation was not total;  the HTMlayout.dll file in the Avast map was corrupted. Avast didn't start, was not removable, nor upgradable. Aaaargh. >:( >:( After a lot of trials i had to become member of this forum to load avastcleaner. With that i could restart Windows in safe mode and remove all Avast software, en now it's reinstalling Avast 2014. Hope it works fine now. I bought Avast security for 3 years for 3 computers, not to have this kind of trouble and loss of hours.

Offline dprout69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #172 on: October 16, 2013, 08:50:24 PM »
+1 for a HORRIBLE new GUI. 

This is pretty poor.  Sorry I love your product but you really outdid yourselves on how bad this interface is... I wouldn't even know where to begin to try to explain how bad it is.

Offline cnmoore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #173 on: October 16, 2013, 08:58:43 PM »
There are many fewer database updates than there were before.

Offline pavel23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #174 on: October 16, 2013, 09:03:44 PM »
Добрый день!
Есть ноутбук с Windows7 x64 Домашняя Базовая SP1. Поставил Avast Free.Но при запуске антивируса появилась ошибка "Failed to load language dll [1033\UILangRes.dll]". Сам антивирус не запустился.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69240
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #175 on: October 16, 2013, 09:08:00 PM »
<snip quotes>
But the problem is still there. You can move the icon from its usual place (the upper right corner, at the navigation toolbar) to any other place or a toolbar. But if you restart your browser, the icon returns to the place in the upper right corner. It doesn't keep any new position.

I though that (some time ago) the default location was to the left of the address (a.k.a. awesome) bar not out to the right, where I wanted it to be along with the WOT icon.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline bob3160

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 23993
  • Gender: Male
  • 53 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #176 on: October 16, 2013, 09:11:17 PM »
Добрый день!
Есть ноутбук с Windows7 x64 Домашняя Базовая SP1. Поставил Avast Free.Но при запуске антивируса появилась ошибка "Failed to load language dll [1033\UILangRes.dll]". Сам антивирус не запустился.
English please or post in the following non-English section:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=21.0
(Try the Repair function.)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 4 Gig Ram, avast!2014.9.0.2015 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install avast! http://goo.gl/VLXde
                     - It's nice to be Important. - It's more important to be Nice. -

Offline JohnnyBob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Peace
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #177 on: October 16, 2013, 09:11:48 PM »
installer bloat factor:
v6.0, 61.2 MB
v7.0, 71.2-93.0 MB
v8.0, 106 MB
v9.0, 81.3 MB

I like the idea of simplifications such as reducing the number of shields to three. However I'm opposed to *any* major changes in the GUI because I must devote time to learning about and setting/tweaking them to suit my liking/needs.

So I may try 9.0 it but am not in a hurry. I'll have to read the bug/problem reports first, and may wait for the fixes. One of my computers still has 7.0, another 8.0, which are still working OK after I disabled all the popups and notices. Otherwise I was getting advertising popups for awhile.
free avast! 9.0 installed without Email Shield (not needed). Web shield disabled. All other "extras" are not installed or disabled. It wanted server status access to the internet which I blocked permanently via ZA. I also killed AvastEmUpdate.exe by renaming it in Safe Mode. Windows XP Home SP3, ZoneAlarm 6.1.744.001, Firefox 25.0 & IE8, Outlook Express.

Offline bob3160

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 23993
  • Gender: Male
  • 53 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #178 on: October 16, 2013, 09:15:34 PM »
installer bloat factor:
v6.0, 61.2 MB
v7.0, 71.2-93.0 MB
v8.0, 106 MB
v9.0, 81.3 MB

I like the idea of simplifications such as reducing the number of shields to three. However I'm opposed to *any* major changes in the GUI because I must devote time to learning about and setting/tweaking them to suit my liking/needs.

So I may try 9.0 it but am not in a hurry. I'll have to read the bug/problem reports first, and may wait for the fixes. One of my computers still has 7.0, another 8.0, which are still working OK after I disabled all the popups and notices. Otherwise I was getting advertising popups for awhile.
When in doubt, simply use the default settings they have been tweaked according to the developers thoughts of keeping you safe. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 4 Gig Ram, avast!2014.9.0.2015 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install avast! http://goo.gl/VLXde
                     - It's nice to be Important. - It's more important to be Nice. -

Offline Rohugh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #179 on: October 16, 2013, 09:17:11 PM »
There are many fewer database updates than there were before.

The updates are streamed,  I have 274 in the last 24 hours. (GUI >Stats>Component Status)  The VPS updates are only 1 or 2 a day.
Win 7 SP1 HP X64: 1TD HD/8GB RAM: Avast Premier 2014 9.0.2016: MBAM Premium 2.0 (non-resident): Firefox 28.0/Pale Moon 24.4.1: Avast Mobile Security Premium

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now