Author Topic: avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue  (Read 10726 times)

Offline Gandalf1369

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue
« on: October 18, 2013, 04:45:27 PM »
I am having a problem with the firewall in avast 2014 IS.  Sometimes avast turns off the Windows firewall and sometimes it doesn't.  When it turns off the Windows firewall I cannot make use of the content server in calibre (ebook organizer and converter) - see my post in the beta section (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=136587.0) .  I thought the issue was resolved yesterday but it has returned today.

When avast turns off the Windows firewall I get the following screen in the Windows Firewall Control Panel - see "avast IS 2014 Firewall 2".
When it doesn't turn off the Windows firewall I get this screen wen in the Control Panel - see "avast IS 2014 Firewall 1".

Additionally, when the Windows firewall is turned off by avast, the menu items along the left side of the Control Panel window that are in bold type are non-click-able!

Has anyone else noticed this behavior with the 2014 version of avast IS??  Is this normal??  How can I get the calibre content server to function again ??

Thanks for any help . . .


Windows 7 SP1 (64bit); 8GB RAM; Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

Offline pepeleca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2013, 05:09:52 AM »
bonjour

moi aussi j'ai des gros problèmes avec le parefeu et aussi d'autres choses; depuis que j'ai payé avast

donc j'ai réinstallé la version gratuite..

car l'assistance n'est jamais venu à mon secours

Offline Gandalf1369

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2013, 12:27:57 PM »
Thanks for the response pepeleca  - I can certainly sympathize with your situation.

I have 40 days left on my subscription to avast IS and if I can't get a resolution to this issue I'll just go with the free version and not renew my subscription to IS.
Windows 7 SP1 (64bit); 8GB RAM; Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2013, 02:04:34 PM »
Hi,

I just checked my Windows FW and its the same as yours (cant change the content that are in 'bold'), firewall is turned off.

Not sure if its normal or not  :-\
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline Gandalf1369

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2013, 02:46:13 PM »
Hi,

I just checked my Windows FW and its the same as yours (cant change the content that are in 'bold'), firewall is turned off.

Not sure if its normal or not  :-\

Thanks for checking.  I'm concerned since in previous versions of avast! IS it never shut off the Windows firewall.  This version (avast IS 2014) seems to do it MOST of the time but NOT every time the PC is booted.  Also, while on the occasions that avast! has taken control of the Windows firewall I cannot wirelessly access a database content server that has the address of "192.168.1.8:8080", BUT when avast! has NOT disabled the Windows firewall everything works fine.

Either something is screwy with avast 2014 or something is messed up with my PC.
Windows 7 SP1 (64bit); 8GB RAM; Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

Offline geths

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2013, 01:34:31 AM »
yip since upgrading 2014 i've had nothing but issues with a firewalled emule, even after spending a day removing 2014 and reinstalling version 8 the problem still exsists. starting to feel like norton all over again, maybe time to find a new provider when my subscription runs out.

Offline zeuscho

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2013, 02:04:11 AM »
Same problem here. The firewall could not start.

I have un-installed using the avastclear.exe in safe mode and installed it again. But It didn't help. But I discovered that there is Code 31 error in Device Manager for WAN Miniport (Network monitor). Is it releated?

I'm a Windows 8 x64 user.

Offline h311sdr0id

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2013, 03:41:56 PM »
Yup. Same here. Before I was able to turn off the Windows Firewall and just use the Avast IS Firewall. I know this isn't as safe as having them both on, but I have honestly never had an issue with it (protection-wise). Being able to do this also helped me cut down on resources. I could understand Avast doing this in the "Free" version, but when I pay for something, I want full control over it.

The new UI and setup is a mess. It looks nice, but there seems to be a lot less customization. It feels more like a "Free" version that has less control. The previous UI was great. Perfect. I am sure that the Custom Scan Options are still there (in Settings to show the Context Menu Custom Scan when scanning from the Context Menu), but I haven't been able yo find it. There are less options to disable and it seems as if everything is now grouped together. This makes it more difficult to turn things off that you don't need. The Auto-Sandbox Options and Settings are all different now as well. You used to be able to choose "Ask" as an option. But now I cannot find it (I am not even sure if it exists anymore).

Sorry to ramble on, but what I was trying to get at is that the Firewall issue is part of this whole UI and Program Update and it seems like everything is messed up. My License is up in 15 days and I am honestly searching for new protection. I have been a paying customer for years. Since Avast first started up. But I am sorry to say that I can no longer use Avast the way I need to (for myself and the business I work for). I have purchased over 250 2-year licenses for my workplace (I am a contracted IT Specialist and have been recommending/installing Avast on my client's computer's for years). They are all up in 20 days like mine, and I am really hoping that Avast will maybe give an option to return to the previous UI and Program functionality.

Nicholas S.

Offline h311sdr0id

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
FIX for ISSUE: Avast Internet Security 2014 Controlling Windows Firewall
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2013, 04:23:08 PM »
After a little more research, I was able to find a way to permanently turn off/turn on Windows Firewall in Windows 8 (with Avast Internet Security 2014 installed). When trying to control Windows Firewall in Control Panel Items, it shows that Windows Firewall is being controlled by Avast and there are no options to control Windows Firewall (everything is in bold and there is no way to select/un-select any choices).

This is sticking through Reboots as well. I just restarted my computer and the settings I made have stayed permanent through-and-through.

What I did was go into the Start Menu, Programs, then into Administrative Tools Folder, then click on "Windows Firewall with Advanced Security", and then select "Windows Firewall Properties".

I was then able to turn Windows Firewall Off/On in both Public and Private Profiles.


Note below that most options are still unavailable, but that you can open "Windows Firewall Properties"





UPDATE:
Or, you can go into Control Panel (like you normally would), hit "Windows Firewall", go to "Advanced Settings" and then hit "Windows Firewall Properties".
You can then turn Windows Firewall On or Off.






NOTE:
Windows 8 doesn't come with a Start Menu. I have Windows Classic Start Menu installed.
Also, this method should work fine with Windows 7 and Avast Internet Security 2014

...
« Last Edit: October 25, 2013, 05:04:52 PM by h311sdr0id »

Offline mjclark1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast! 2014 IS Firewall Issue
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2013, 06:10:20 PM »
Yup. Same here. Before I was able to turn off the Windows Firewall and just use the Avast IS Firewall. I know this isn't as safe as having them both on, but I have honestly never had an issue with it (protection-wise). Being able to do this also helped me cut down on resources. I could understand Avast doing this in the "Free" version, but when I pay for something, I want full control over it.

The new UI and setup is a mess. It looks nice, but there seems to be a lot less customization. It feels more like a "Free" version that has less control. The previous UI was great. Perfect. I am sure that the Custom Scan Options are still there (in Settings to show the Context Menu Custom Scan when scanning from the Context Menu), but I haven't been able yo find it. There are less options to disable and it seems as if everything is now grouped together. This makes it more difficult to turn things off that you don't need. The Auto-Sandbox Options and Settings are all different now as well. You used to be able to choose "Ask" as an option. But now I cannot find it (I am not even sure if it exists anymore).

Sorry to ramble on, but what I was trying to get at is that the Firewall issue is part of this whole UI and Program Update and it seems like everything is messed up. My License is up in 15 days and I am honestly searching for new protection. I have been a paying customer for years. Since Avast first started up. But I am sorry to say that I can no longer use Avast the way I need to (for myself and the business I work for). I have purchased over 250 2-year licenses for my workplace (I am a contracted IT Specialist and have been recommending/installing Avast on my client's computer's for years). They are all up in 20 days like mine, and I am really hoping that Avast will maybe give an option to return to the previous UI and Program functionality.

Nicholas S.

I agree the pro or paid version feel more like free these days and we have lost our more control.
 I will not be updating again the 200 or so versions to this unless it is fixed.
I would like per computer control what I want on firewall.
The reason I bought Avast was for the control and user able to turn on or off windows firewall.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now