Author Topic: Avast rescue disk  (Read 11447 times)

Offline polopolo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • The youngst user of avast!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast rescue disk
« on: November 22, 2005, 04:28:39 PM »
Can be maby a option to avast home/pro to make a rescue disk to remove infactions on the computer when the PC not starting?

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2005, 05:39:27 PM »
There is no rescue disk as such, however there is an avast for DOS version which you could download. This however, requires that the computer can boot into DOS and also view NTFS formated partitions if you are using XP say.

There is a version of DOS that can do this NTFSDOS.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline polopolo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • The youngst user of avast!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2005, 06:55:10 PM »
OK

But can this option integrate with avast home/pro?

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2005, 08:34:42 PM »
No (as far I'm aware, can't speak for the avast pro edition) this is a stand alone solution.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2005, 11:25:49 PM »
No (as far I'm aware, can't speak for the avast pro edition) this is a stand alone solution.
The Pro version does not have this feature incorporated.
I think it's possible (some other antivirus do this) but I think Alwil policy is toward Bart CD and boot time scanning.
The best things in life are free.

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2005, 11:29:39 PM »
No (as far I'm aware, can't speak for the avast pro edition) this is a stand alone solution.
The Pro version does not have this feature incorporated.
I think it's possible (some other antivirus do this) but I think Alwil policy is toward Bart CD (maybe for commercial users) and boot time scanning (for XP users). Even the development of the drivers for boot scanning at Windows 9x won't worth anymore...
« Last Edit: November 22, 2005, 11:34:44 PM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline polopolo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • The youngst user of avast!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2005, 01:56:37 PM »
I am back. :D

I have try with avast DOS 7.7 a rescue disk to make but if avast busy with copy LUGUARD.vps then I habe a error with that the copy is fallure.

How can I fix this?

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2005, 03:19:54 PM »
I have try with avast DOS 7.7 a rescue disk to make but if avast busy with copy LUGUARD.vps then I habe a error with that the copy is fallure.
Coping lguard.vps from where to where?
Burning a CD? Downloading?
Which avast is busy (the DOS version or the Windows running version as resident)?
The best things in life are free.

Offline polopolo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • The youngst user of avast!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2005, 06:09:16 PM »
I have downloaded, unzip it, run install.exe.

Clicking three keer on enter and selected a rescue disk making on A:.
Then avast! DOS7.7 copy all the recovery files to A:, But when avast! DOS coping lguard.vps to A: then I get a error but my floppy is okey.

Is this better?
How can i fix it? ???

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2005, 08:17:51 PM »
But when avast! DOS coping lguard.vps to A: then I get a error but my floppy is okey.
Oh...  :-[
Right now, lguard.vps has more than 4Mb and your floppy must allow only 1,4Mb I suppose...

avast! DOS is not intended to be run as floppy rescue disks (AVG, for instance, allow this feature but it takes 6 floppies).
If you have FAT32 as system files (and not NTFS), you can have avast! for DOS in a folder in your HDD.
If you have NTFS, you'll need extra drivers for NTFS reading...
You can burn a CD with avast! for DOS but, again, it's not intended to do so as it needs to save info to the program and you'll be using a CD without being able to save nothing to it...
Right now, the only solution will be buying avast Bart CD or, if you have XP, use the boot time scanning (from avast! for Windows).
The best things in life are free.

Offline polopolo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • The youngst user of avast!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2005, 05:22:26 PM »
One question:

How can I turn the boot scan time on?
And is this option before windows is started?

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast rescue disk
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2005, 08:37:56 PM »
Right click the avast icon, select Start avast! Antivirus, Menu, Schedule boot-time scan (this is a one off selection not for every boot).

Yes it runs before windows starts.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now