Author Topic: Cannot load skin  (Read 4790 times)

Offline Peter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Cannot load skin
« on: November 23, 2003, 04:56:17 AM »
When clicking on Start avast! Antivirus, home edition, I get an error message saying "Application cannot load skin. Function "usiGetSkin" failed. I am using Win ME. I would be grateful for advice.

Peter

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64880
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2003, 01:36:15 PM »
Why don't you download all skins available and try to reinstall them?
Maybe if you download the skins again and double-click (execute/load) them the Registry will be corrected and updated. Link here.

For a technical solution try this, click start/then run & type in this regsvr32 actskin4.ocx (you might have to browse to the file in windows\system folder). This will reregister the Avast skin file & you should be able to run it.

A similar trouble was solved in this forum.

For avast4.ini configuration, you can find more information here. Although, I think it won´t be necessary.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Peter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2003, 10:40:53 PM »
Thank you for your advice. I have tried to download the skins again but on downloading get the message "Application cannot load skin. Function "usiGetSkin" failed."  I am using build 4.1.289.

I have also located the file actskin4.ocx and double clicked it but no change. The [User Interface] settings in avast4.ini look OK with EnableSkins=0.

All other suggestions welcome.  Regards  Peter

Offline Hornus Continuum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Gender: Male
  • If you only remember one thing, it's this ...
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2003, 04:03:54 AM »
Peter,

Read Technical's advice a little more closely.  He didn't instruct you double-click the avast! ActiveX Control to run it, he told you how to register it by running the Registration Server from the Run Box.

Regards,
Hornus

"Quote me as saying I was misquoted." -- Groucho Marx
 ;D

Offline Peter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2003, 08:08:17 AM »
Thanks Hornus. I have now got the message "dll Register Server in actskin4.ocx succeeded". I am still not able to load skins, even after rebooting and downloading a few more skins.  Cheers  Peter  ::)


Offline Hornus Continuum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Gender: Male
  • If you only remember one thing, it's this ...
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2003, 09:06:46 AM »
Peter,

Try unregistering the ActiveX Control and registering it.  Use the /u switch to do this.

Regards,
Hornus

"Quote me as saying I was misquoted." -- Groucho Marx
 ;D

Offline ThomasJarl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2004, 07:54:35 PM »
Hi Peter.
I have the same problem, and followed this procedure some one wrote on the board:
Type the following in the run window under start.
C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX

Offline sunfamily

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2004, 10:25:09 PM »
I HAVE A SIMILIAR PROBLEM AND I WAS TRYING TO MAKE THE ALTERATIONS YOU HAVE SUGGESTED. I DO NOT SEE THE ACTSKIN4.OCX FILE UNDER WINDOWS/SYSTEM. COULD SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME WITH THIS. I HAVE DOWNLOADED ALL THE SKINS BUT STILL THE SAME ERROR KEEPS COMING - usiGetSkin failed.
regards
Sunny

Offline igor

  • avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11333
  • Gender: Male
    • AVAST Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2004, 07:29:56 AM »
Can it be that you have the system files and/or extensions hidden in Explorer (which is the default setting)?
What happens when you just select Run... from the start menu, and type the following into the box:
regsvr32.exe actskin4.ocx

Offline sunfamily

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2004, 02:37:50 AM »
    I UNINSTALLED AWAST AND ALL THE REGISTRIY ENTRIES. REINSTALLED THE SOFTWARE AGAIN. ALL THE EALIER PROBLEMS AND AWAST WENT UP FINE BUT DURING BOOT SCAN I FOUND A LOT OF TROJAN VIRUSES IN MY SYSTEM. WHAT DO YOU WITH SUCH TROJAN VIRUS FILES.

REGARDS
SUNNY
 

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64880
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2004, 03:15:45 AM »
   I UNINSTALLED AWAST AND ALL THE REGISTRIY ENTRIES. REINSTALLED THE SOFTWARE AGAIN. ALL THE EALIER PROBLEMS AND AWAST WENT UP FINE BUT DURING BOOT SCAN I FOUND A LOT OF TROJAN VIRUSES IN MY SYSTEM. WHAT DO YOU WITH SUCH TROJAN VIRUS FILES.

REGARDS
SUNNY
 

What were the file names and the virus names?
(Btw, the protocol of the forum asks for not using CAPS as we are not yealing each other. Thanks  8)))
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2004, 06:41:44 AM »
You can send the contents of the file <avast>\data\log\aswBoot.log here, we'll see what Trojans you're dealing with...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline sunfamily

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2004, 09:27:15 AM »
Hi,
    I have attached the aswboot.txt file for your information

regards
sunny

Offline igor

  • avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11333
  • Gender: Male
    • AVAST Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2004, 08:31:42 AM »
You don't have to worry - if the infected files are found in the System Volume Information only, they are not dangerous (besides, you have deleted them, according to the log).

Offline sunfamily

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Cannot load skin
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2004, 10:30:30 AM »
Thanks very much,
      I don't have much of a problem now. I make it  point to do a boot scan on start up so as to make the system clean.
Regards
Sunny
 

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now