Author Topic: {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem  (Read 4586 times)

Offline yakwhacker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
{STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem
« on: June 26, 2007, 06:46:45 PM »
Hi all, just wondering if anyone had seen this problem I'm running into. 

I'm using Avast 4.7, most recent defs, on a HP Pavilion a367c PC.  The boot time scan I ran gave me this message every time something was detected:

File C:\[whatever] Error 0xc000009c {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR}

has anyone had this issue?  Is it indicative of a hardware problem?  Any ideas on how to resolve this?

Kent

Offline igor

  • avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11333
  • Gender: Male
    • AVAST Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2007, 07:19:55 PM »
Why do you think this message was shown whenever something was detected?
Can you attach the following file here?
<avast4>\Data\Log\aswBoot.log

Offline Thewizard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2013, 10:33:08 AM »
Hi, I get the same error with AMD motherboard and 64 bit Windows 8 Pro:

Windows\Winsxs\amd64_microsoft-windows-winocr-ocrengines_31bf3856ad364e35_6.6.9200.16384_none_fcOebe40bcd54a89\tctree.dat

Error Oxc000009C {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR}

Offline igor

  • avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11333
  • Gender: Male
    • AVAST Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2013, 12:43:05 PM »
There may be a bad block on your hard disk... I'd suggest to run a disk check (including surface scan).

Offline Thewizard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2013, 08:49:34 PM »
OK thanks.

Online Eddy

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 9884
  • Gender: Male
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2013, 08:53:08 PM »
Start > run > chkdsk /r
It most likely says the system is in use, if it does choose yes if it asks to schedule it and reboot.

Offline Gorg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2013, 08:56:41 PM »
RISE fwom your gwave!

Offline Thewizard

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2013, 09:06:08 PM »
Ha Ha.
Nope ran chkdsk command, no bad sectors.

Online Eddy

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 9884
  • Gender: Male
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: {STATUS_DEVICE_DATA_ERROR} Boot-time scan problem
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2013, 09:49:26 PM »
At least we have one possible cause ruled out.
Ok, next thing to check/do: start > run > sfc /scannow

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now