Author Topic: Avast Error avEngine.exe in aswCmnB.dll while starting Win2k Server  (Read 5468 times)

Offline rein

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Hi,

i get an error Message from avEngine.exe in aswCmnB.dll while starting/restarting our Server.

Data:
Windows 2000 SP4 Server (german)
Avast 4.7 Server Edition (german)
Avast Build May2007 4.7.700

I get this Error


I tryed a repair installation from "Avast Antivirus managed" and "Avast Management Tools", but the problem is still there.

Its crazy, while the Repairinstallation of Avast Antivirus, there was no error.
But after Repairinstallation of Avast Management Tools, i get the same Error again. But the Repairinstallation was sucsessfully.

What to do now?

Thanks for helping me.

greeting..

Offline igor

  • avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11333
  • Gender: Male
    • AVAST Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Error avEngine.exe in aswCmnB.dll while starting Win2k Server
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2007, 08:03:05 AM »
Search your disk for aswCmnB.dll - how many occurrences (and where) are there?

Offline rein

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Error avEngine.exe in aswCmnB.dll while starting Win2k Server
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2007, 08:43:54 AM »
Thanks for fast answer  :)

I found the files 2 times

you can see it on the picture:
In Folder Avast 4 the fileversion is 4.7.1004.0
And in Folder Management Tools the fileversion is 4.6.763.0




Edit:
I just startet in Systray the Avast On Access
and checked if all Provider/PlugIns are running.
I found on is not running, maybe its becouse of the Error?
« Last Edit: August 16, 2007, 08:50:55 AM by rein »

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Error avEngine.exe in aswCmnB.dll while starting Win2k Server
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2007, 11:35:02 AM »
Can you please post the output from the following command (from the command-line):

SET PATH

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Error avEngine.exe in aswCmnB.dll while starting Win2k Server
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2007, 11:38:01 AM »
BTW are you really still using this very old version of ADNM? (Management Tools)

That is, 4.6?

Can you update it to the latest version - by running Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> Avast Management Tools -> Change/Remove -> Update?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline rein

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Error avEngine.exe in aswCmnB.dll while starting Win2k Server
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2007, 11:42:40 AM »
I don't know if we are using Version 4.6

I think Avast is updating by himself?

Edit: Here are the Results:

First i updated the Avast Tools and i checked the Avast 4
I think now its up2date


Here is the Result from SET PATH Command


greetings...and thank you very much for helping me!

What to do now?
« Last Edit: August 16, 2007, 11:58:51 AM by rein »

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Error avEngine.exe in aswCmnB.dll while starting Win2k Server
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2007, 04:02:46 PM »
So, after performing the update, it still doesn't work?
And the error message is still the same?

Cheers
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline rein

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Error avEngine.exe in aswCmnB.dll while starting Win2k Server
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2007, 06:35:23 AM »
Now its working fine, no more errors!

Many thanks for helping me!

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now