Author Topic: An error has occurred while attempting to update  (Read 2132 times)

Offline Metallo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
An error has occurred while attempting to update
« on: January 23, 2008, 12:42:45 PM »
Hi,

I get this error while my PC is on.

"An error has occurred while attempting to update"

My OS: WXP SP2
Firewall: COMODO 3.0.15.277

However, if I run the update on a manual way, it works.
I don't want to confuse things here, but it looks to me the problem came up since I have the latest version of Comodo  :-\

Thanks for your help

Alex
AOPEN AX34, PIII 1.0 GHz, 1,5GB RAM, HD WD 120 GB, LaCie 500 GB, Pioneer DVR-116D, Plextor PX-716A, HIS Excalibur Radeon 9600 256Mb, 2xMonitor Philips 109P20 Br, Canon i865, Ethernet D-Link DE-828CT, Philips ToUCam Pro, WXP PRO SP3

Online DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69204
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: An error has occurred while attempting to update
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2008, 04:31:53 PM »
Comodo can block outbound connections whilst it hasn't fully set up and this sounds like what is happening, otherwise if it was fully blocked it wouldn't work for manual updates either. I don't know who you can restrict this on comodo (I don't use it), but you could delay the update check in avast and that should give comodo time to get fully established.

You need to edit the [InetWD] section of the C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Data\avast4.ini file and add the following line (depending on your connection type enter one or other of the Bold lines below):
Dial-up connections, add this line: RASWaitSeconds=120
Broadband connections, add this line: AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120
Quote
[InetWD]
AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120
Or
RASWaitSeconds=120

The figure is seconds and the above equates to two minutes, you could try that and adjust upwards if required, 180, 240, etc.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Metallo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: An error has occurred while attempting to update
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2008, 04:48:22 PM »
Comodo can block outbound connections whilst it hasn't fully set up and this sounds like what is happening, otherwise if it was fully blocked it wouldn't work for manual updates either. I don't know who you can restrict this on comodo (I don't use it), but you could delay the update check in avast and that should give comodo time to get fully established.

You need to edit the [InetWD] section of the C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Data\avast4.ini file and add the following line (depending on your connection type enter one or other of the Bold lines below):
Dial-up connections, add this line: RASWaitSeconds=120
Broadband connections, add this line: AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120
Quote
[InetWD]
AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120
Or
RASWaitSeconds=120

The figure is seconds and the above equates to two minutes, you could try that and adjust upwards if required, 180, 240, etc.


Hi,

I think I did not explain correctly.

The error pops up not after I boot up, but during the day, which means after my PC is on for hours.
On the other hand, the update works correctly when I boot up.

For example:

If I boot up my PC at 09.00 am, I get the Avast update without any problem.
Often, during the day you get another update, for instance at 15.20 pm, there I get the error.

I enclose a snipped of the warning.log of the last 3 days:

20/01/2008   16.04.06   1200841446   SYSTEM   1676   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x00000426, dwRes is 000004C8. 
20/01/2008   16.04.06   1200841446   SYSTEM   1676   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
21/01/2008   23.12.23   1200953543   SYSTEM   1644   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x00000426, dwRes is 000004C8. 
21/01/2008   23.12.23   1200953543   SYSTEM   1644   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
22/01/2008   13.06.48   1201003608   SYSTEM   1652   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x00000426, dwRes is 000004C8. 
22/01/2008   13.06.49   1201003609   SYSTEM   1652   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
22/01/2008   17.13.25   1201018405   SYSTEM   1652   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x00000426, dwRes is 000004C8. 
22/01/2008   17.13.25   1201018405   SYSTEM   1652   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
23/01/2008   14.25.33   1201094733   SYSTEM   1640   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x00000426, dwRes is 000004C8. 
23/01/2008   14.25.33   1201094733   SYSTEM   1640   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 

Hope I made myself clearer  :)

Regards
Alex
AOPEN AX34, PIII 1.0 GHz, 1,5GB RAM, HD WD 120 GB, LaCie 500 GB, Pioneer DVR-116D, Plextor PX-716A, HIS Excalibur Radeon 9600 256Mb, 2xMonitor Philips 109P20 Br, Canon i865, Ethernet D-Link DE-828CT, Philips ToUCam Pro, WXP PRO SP3

Online DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69204
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: An error has occurred while attempting to update
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2008, 05:03:04 PM »
I find that somewhat strange as if it works on boot and if you do a manual update but not for subsequent auto updates.

Normally for a problem with "Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed" I would have suggested an avast repair, but with it working in the other instances mentioned it is a bit strange that it would work for those.

So I'm not sure what to suggest as I have no knowledge of comodo or if there might be something in its logs.

You could post the last 100-155 lines of the avast log: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log after the error next occurs.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline billigerent

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: An error has occurred while attempting to update
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2008, 10:53:26 AM »

Note to Admin: 

Despite the muddy water, this is actually the same problem as thread: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=32879.0

Best to combine them?

Regards Bill   :)

Offline billigerent

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: An error has occurred while attempting to update
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2008, 12:06:25 AM »
See my post here for a possible cause and solution:

having problems updating avast 4.7
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=32879.0

Regards,  Bill   :)

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now