Author Topic: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan  (Read 3633 times)

Offline JAFFA13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Good Morning

I have recently become a new user of AVAST! since an install of AVG 8 threw my system into chaos and I had to delete it using Safe Mode.

I am having trouble completing a scan in the Through or Standard Mode (I have completed a scan in Quick mode).

I am running a XP SP2 PC (all Microsoft Updates are up to date, Zonealarm, Spybot, Adware, Windows Defender, Hi-jack This, Spyware Blaster).  The system seemes to run OK and then fails at either 11%, 12% or 15% and I have to File Manager to close the program down as Windows reports that it is not responding ???.

I really like this program with it On-Access Protection, but this not being able to do a full system scan is a bit unnerving.

I would really appreciate some help with this problem.

Thanks

Jay :)

Offline igor

  • avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11327
  • Gender: Male
    • AVAST Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2008, 06:14:03 PM »
May be a problem with ZoneAlarm and the files in System Volume Information folder.
Try to put ?:\System Volume Information\* into the list of avast! exclusions to avoid their scanning.
It should be possible to restrict the exclusion even more (to a specific file), but I'm not sure about the name right now - you can try
?:\System Volume Information\tracking.log

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2008, 10:04:12 PM »
Try to put ?:\System Volume Information\* into the list of avast! exclusions to avoid their scanning.
Even as a workaround, I won't do that... too dangerous.
Viruses will use System Restore feature to reinfect the computer...
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69200
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2008, 10:21:23 PM »
Viruses can't use system restore to restore infected files that have been deleted, how can they: it is a protected area, the files aren't stored under their original file name, the only application/process to know what the file name was and its location is system restore.

So I can't see how a virus can use system restore to install a restore point in the System Volume Information\ folder.

Yes if there happens to be an infected restore point and the 'user' uses system restore to go back to a point where this infected file is restored, then avast should be able to detect it when it is restored (if it can be detected in a restore point it can just as easily be detected in its original location).

So I feel the risk is a limited one, but as Igor said it is preferable to use the file name that is causing the problem.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2008, 10:52:21 PM »
the 'user' uses system restore to go back to a point where this infected file is restored, then avast should be able to detect it when it is restored (if it can be detected in a restore point it can just as easily be detected in its original location).
I'm referring exactly to that, user restore.
If avast can detect a new variation or mutant virus...
If the virus did not gain access to System Restore folder to mess the things... some users change the access rights, some viruses could get system access to that folder, who knows...
I won't exclude System Restore from scanning, it's my security opinion.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2008, 10:54:01 PM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lakes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2008, 09:41:23 AM »
I`m in exactly the same position as Jaffa, it does a quick scan just fine, but the standard scan always stalls at 9% scanning a restore file, and yes, I`m running ZoneAlarm as well.

I`m not going to exclude the restore file just because Avast can`t handle it...

Is a Boot time scan a quick, standard or through one?

Thanks.

Offline igor

  • avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11327
  • Gender: Male
    • AVAST Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2008, 11:08:39 AM »
It's not avast! that can't handle it (at least not under the hood) - it's ZoneAlarm bug, freezing the process that is trying to open the mentioned file.
If you google the filename, you'll find out that all antiviruses have the same problem (even ZoneAlarm's own one - until they excluded the file from scanning). It don't really understand why they don't fit it...

Try to exclude only the mentioned tracking.log file.

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2008, 03:34:10 PM »
It don't really understand why they don't fit it...
Because ZoneLabs is not a trustable and serious company that it used to be few years ago.
Too buggy, ridiculous support.
Concurrence (free firewalls) has won the game!
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lakes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2008, 10:10:23 AM »
That solved the problem, thanks. :)

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2008, 12:35:24 PM »
That solved the problem, thanks. :)
Thanks for posting back.
The best things in life are free.

Offline JAFFA13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2008, 03:39:36 PM »
Hi Everyone

Thanks for all your comments and suggestions.

Going to uninstall Zonealarm and try Comodo instead.

Will post again and let you know what happens.

Thanks again

Jaffa :)

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: New User to Avast! - Scan freezes on Through or Standard Scan
« Reply #11 on: June 04, 2008, 07:05:58 PM »
Going to uninstall Zonealarm and try Comodo instead.
Will post again and let you know what happens.
Comodo has a forum also ;)
The best things in life are free.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now