Author Topic: Avast! for Vista 64-bit  (Read 5923 times)

Offline WebMaximus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast! for Vista 64-bit
« on: July 14, 2008, 03:37:37 PM »
Hi,

I'm about to switch over from Vista 32-bit -> Vista 64-bit, is there a special 64-bit version of Avast! I should download or can I use the Avast! setup file I already have for my old Vista 32-bit?

Thanks in advance!

Offline wyrmrider

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1299
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast! for Vista 64-bit
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 03:55:23 PM »
avast only shows one version of the free home edition

Offline WebMaximus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast! for Vista 64-bit
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2008, 04:06:56 PM »
OK, and does that mean that version works with Vista 64-bit?

Offline onlysomeone

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1279
  • Gender: Male
  • Enthusiastic Betatester and Translator!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast! for Vista 64-bit
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2008, 04:18:09 PM »
yes, avast! is fully compatible with 64bit-versions of windows - you only have to resign the startup virus scan... (desn't (yet ???) work with 64bit versions)...

i use avast! myself on a 64bit version of vista ultimate and it works as perfect as under the 32bit version  8)

yours
onlysomeone


EDIT: there's only one installation file for 32 and 64bit ;)

Offline WebMaximus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast! for Vista 64-bit
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2008, 04:42:45 PM »
OK, thanks alot for the info!

About the startup scan you need to disable when running 64-bit, is any work done to solve that problem because isn't the startup scan quite important for rootkits?

Offline onlysomeone

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1279
  • Gender: Male
  • Enthusiastic Betatester and Translator!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast! for Vista 64-bit
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2008, 05:23:13 PM »
sry, thats my fault, i didn't mean the scan for rootkits at startup, i mean the scan before windows is started - also called boot-time-scan...

and you don't need to deactivate it, you just can't activate it - this scan is usually not necessary, the normal manual system scan is quiet the same...

Offline WebMaximus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast! for Vista 64-bit
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2008, 07:54:13 PM »
No problem mate, it was just me assuming it was the rootkik scan you were referring to since I had read in another thread about someone else who had problem with Avast! in 64-bit Vista and was told to disable the rootkik scan.

Great news I can continue to use Avast! after switching over to 64-bit :)

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now