Author Topic: (FP) Win32:spyware-gen (TRJ)  (Read 10475 times)

Bob Anderson

(FP) Win32:spyware-gen (TRJ)
« on: July 14, 2008, 05:54:14 PM »
Yesterday July 13 Avast home detected Reg Organizer (a registry cleaner I have been using for years) as a virus. There us no doubt this is a FP. I have sent the detected file to Avast and am awaiting a fix. I cannot run reg organizer until there is a fix. This is my first FP and I have been using Avast for about two years. Reg Organizer is not well known but if anyone here runs it with Avast, please let me know.

-Bob

sanctuaryforever

Re: (FP) Win32:spyware-gen (TRJ)
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 06:34:16 PM »
I'm sure they will fix it as soon as they get around to investigating it

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2008, 07:54:27 PM »
You could also check the offending/suspect file at: VirusTotal - Multi engine on-line virus scanner and report the findings here. You can't do this with the file securely in the chest, you need to extract it to a temporary (not original) location first, see below.

Create a folder called Suspect in the C:\ drive, e.g. C:\Suspect. Now exclude that folder in the Standard Shield, Customize, Advanced, Add, type (or copy and paste) C:\Suspect\* That will stop the standard shield scanning any file you put in that folder. You should now be able to export any file in the chest to this folder and upload it to VirusTotal without avast alerting.

If it is indeed a false positive, see http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=34950.msg293451#msg293451, how to report it to avast! and what to do to exclude them until the problem is corrected.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Bob Anderson

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2008, 08:48:09 PM »