Author Topic: what does script blocker exactly due??  (Read 18361 times)

Offline drjoeshmoe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
what does script blocker exactly due??
« on: September 07, 2008, 10:33:28 PM »
I was curious what script blocker does.
I see it flash everytime I access the ebay home page.

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64873
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2008, 10:43:00 PM »
Script Blocker scans the scripts into the webpages (a button that you click, a context menu... etc.). It works with IE (at XP), Mozilla (not Firefox) and Netscape.

Script Blocker cannot work with Firefox: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=14879.msg125840#msg125840
The best things in life are free.

Offline PapaSmurf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2008, 10:54:07 PM »
Firefox can be loaded with its own script blocker, "NoScript"
It can be found in the add-ons section of the Mozzila/Firefox pages.
It is very effective, and very user responsive. I have been using it
as long as I have had Firefox, and have had no issues.
PapaSmurf is running Windows XP  Professional (SP3)
NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT
Pentium 4/ 3.* Ghz  Memory 1024MB
avast! Antivirus  v5.05 Home Edition, Outpost Firewall Pro 7.0, Mozilla FireFox/NoScript/AdBlock Plus

Offline drjoeshmoe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2008, 10:59:28 PM »
Sorry if these are obvious questions.
Does that mean that script blocker will disable a clickable link that contains a virus or malware before you click it??

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64873
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2008, 11:01:48 PM »
Does that mean that script blocker will disable a clickable link that contains a virus or malware before you click it??
No, it won't disable the button, but it will prevent the button to do its action (infect the computer). Maybe WebShield will caught this even before, when you're downloading the page and before saving any file to your disk.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Texas-Hansen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2008, 12:58:30 AM »
It sounds like Script Blocker does not work on Vista. Is that correct?  And, if yes, why?


Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64873
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2008, 03:55:22 PM »
It sounds like Script Blocker does not work on Vista. Is that correct?  And, if yes, why?
IE runs at Protected Mode into Vista. Script blocker is not 'necessary' in this condition or, at least, it does not 'work' in this condition.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Kyle142

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2008, 01:08:07 PM »
I understand that only the pro version uses a script blocker, so Free users are pretty much open to web based threats/exploits? (I'm not referring to files)

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64873
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2008, 02:49:03 PM »
I understand that only the pro version uses a script blocker, so Free users are pretty much open to web based threats/exploits? (I'm not referring to files)
No. Standard Shield and WebShield does this kind of protection as well.
Which firewall do you use? Also which browser do you use?
Script Blocker is a dedicate provider to do so, not the only one.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Kyle142

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2008, 06:50:19 AM »
I use in realtime CPF3,CMF and CDS(BETA) I use Firefox as my default browser and only IE when I need certain updates.

Thanks for the info. If what you say is true - wouldn't the comparisons be false advertising?

http://avast.com/eng/avast-compare-home-professional.html

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64873
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2008, 12:17:33 PM »
wouldn't the comparisons be false advertising?
http://avast.com/eng/avast-compare-home-professional.html
I wish they warn about Vista behavior of Script Block, indeed.
The best things in life are free.

Offline hines232

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 432
  • Gender: Male
  • Love you Kiwi,Wolf and Patches
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2008, 06:46:59 PM »
I understand that only the pro version uses a script blocker, so Free users are pretty much open to web based threats/exploits? (I'm not referring to files)
No. Standard Shield and WebShield does this kind of protection as well.
Which firewall do you use? Also which browser do you use?
Script Blocker is a dedicate provider to do so, not the only one.

Tech, can I use script blocker (how do I get It) ? Windows ME,IE6 Or are the two Shields doing the job ??
WINDOWS ME, IE6,Opera 10.62 Avast/Home,4.8.1368,WiseRegestry Cleaner,WiseDisk Cleaner,Regseeker,CCleaner, SpywareBlaster 4.2, Tiny Fire Wall, WinPatrol 17.0.2010 0:17.0.2010.0,Hitware Popup Killer Light
Java 1.5.0_22-b01 (All latest updates OS ME can Fathom)

Regards

Offline DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69205
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2008, 09:30:15 PM »
No you can't get it without getting the Pro version, as t is only in the Pro version.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline hines232

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 432
  • Gender: Male
  • Love you Kiwi,Wolf and Patches
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: what does script blocker exactly due??
« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2008, 10:21:53 PM »
No you can't get it without getting the Pro version, as t is only in the Pro version.

Thanks DavidR  :'(
WINDOWS ME, IE6,Opera 10.62 Avast/Home,4.8.1368,WiseRegestry Cleaner,WiseDisk Cleaner,Regseeker,CCleaner, SpywareBlaster 4.2, Tiny Fire Wall, WinPatrol 17.0.2010 0:17.0.2010.0,Hitware Popup Killer Light
Java 1.5.0_22-b01 (All latest updates OS ME can Fathom)

Regards

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now