Author Topic: Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"  (Read 2716 times)

Offline user00999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"
« on: April 19, 2004, 05:22:28 AM »
When I right-click the Avast on-line access scanner icon, and select "Start avast! Antivirus", this error window pops up:

     Unknown error.
     Storage cannot be created for the "Splash" task.
     OK

And when I click on OK, a different error box comes up:

     Unknown error.
     Configuration is not loaded properly. Error: dbsCreateObject
     OK

So I click on THAT "OK", and this error then pops up:

     Unknown errof.
     Program cannot save parameters to the storage! (Error:
                                   dbsCreateObject)
    OK


What's going on here? My OS is Windows 98 SE, running a 633MHz Celeron w/128MB RAM and 80GB hard drive.

TIA

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2004, 05:35:29 AM »
Please check out e.g. http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=3480

And please, next time try searching the forum first. E.g. if you've entered the key word dbsCreateObject to the search engine, you'd instantly get about 20 highly relevant submissions...

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline user00999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2004, 06:03:14 AM »
Well, you know, I reported ANOTHER problem with this software, that happened just a half hour before this one. And I searched every possible word and phrase with NO results. So, excuse me for losing faith in your "intuitive" search engine. I think it would have been much more courteous to just post the link, w/statement "that has been answered before, and hopefully it will be your answer too." After all, I'm not EMPLOYED by you, and am under no obligation to ascribe to any training.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2004, 06:13:32 AM »
Am I being rude?? :o ::)
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64880
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2004, 01:54:43 AM »
user, just be happy!  ;)
When you have to answer so many questions here, sometimes, you know, we want just the users find the answer and we save time. Sometimes I have to write the same answers a lot of times but, never mind.
Wellcome to avast forums  ;)
Vlk will always have an answer for your problems  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline CharleyO

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7102
  • Gender: Male
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2004, 03:15:55 AM »

user,

   I'm sure Vlk was trying to be helpful and not rude. He probably had no idea that you had tried the search feature before without the results you wanted. No one here is a mind reader nor follows any one person as they move through the forums. Everyone on the forums, whether or not they are avast! staff, tries to be helpful.

So, lighten up and Welcome to the forums!    :)  


Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline atmold2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2004, 07:23:18 PM »
No help here, only understanding as I have experienced a similar problem.  I run 2000 with 256 RAM.  Ran fine for a while but now this.  Uninstalled and reinstalled avast but keep getting same problem

Offline northernguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2004, 12:11:49 AM »
I followed the link provided and found a succinct description of the problem and the solution recommended.

quote
Thank you, Technical,
I tried your suggestion of replacing "Database=ODBC" with "Database=XML" in avast4 Configuration Settings (Windows XP) and the error messages have stopped. Avast seems to be working just fine now.
Thanks again,
mkp
endquote

Since it seems to have worked for this poster I would like to do the same thing. Now if someone can just tell me how to find the Avast configuration files I'll go ahead and try it.

I take it the Avast configuration files are located somewhere within Avast itself.

Northernguy

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64880
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't load "Start avast! Antivirus"
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2004, 01:13:59 AM »
Now if someone can just tell me how to find the Avast configuration files I'll go ahead and try it.

No trouble:
avast4.ini file is in the folder C:\...\avast4\data\
DefTasks.xml is in the folder C:\...\avast\
The best things in life are free.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now