Author Topic: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup  (Read 20740 times)

Offline Khaidir

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« on: November 19, 2008, 01:54:36 AM »
I'm using Avast v4.8 Home Edition. ;)

I having a problem with avast.setup
After I dial-up to internet, normally avast will update it self and run avast.setup.
But lately this process make any program stop a while until avast finish to update >:(
This problem not occur in v4.7 !!!

Is this same like BitDefender that will close after update ? ???

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2008, 10:46:58 AM »
I suggest an installation from the scratch:

1. Uninstall avast from Control Panel first.
2. Boot.
3. Download the latest version of Avast Uninstall and use it for complete uninstallation.
4. Boot.
5. Install again the latest avast! version.
6. Boot.
7. Check and post the results.

Depending on your update settings, you won't even see the update progress.
Program settings > Update (Basic) > Details.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2008, 02:48:47 PM »
You need to edit (using notepad) the [InetWD] section of the C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Data\avast4.ini file and add the following line (depending on your connection type enter one or other of the Bold lines below):

Dial-up connections, add this line: RASWaitSeconds=120
Broadband connections, add this line: AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120

Quote
[InetWD]
AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120
Or
RASWaitSeconds=120

When complete save the changes, avast's self-defence module will ask for confirmation, etc. answer Yes.

The figure is seconds and the above equates to two minutes, you could try that and adjust upwards if required, 180, 240, etc.

I'm on dial-up and I set mine for 10minutes, 600 seconds this allows me to connect to the internet collect my email or quickly do something and go off line before the update check takes place. If I'm on-line for longer after 10 minutes avast checks for updates, but it only downloads VPS updates if you have it on Auto (you can change that, but I wouldn't recommend that).

The auto update restricts the amount of CPU% that avast.setup uses, so it shouldn't really have the impact you mention. The update process has also been improved recently, so I would suggest that you ensure that you have the latest version 4.8.1290.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Khaidir

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2008, 06:17:20 AM »
Wow, fast reply.


To Tech : What u mean for
Quote
Depending on your update settings, you won't even see the update progress.
Program settings > Update (Basic) > Details.
I had go there and a setting for silence running mode, is it ?
and
Quote
7. Check and post the results.
What results ?


Anyways, thank for reply

Offline Khaidir

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2008, 06:26:51 AM »
To DavidR : At least this problem can be hold until a time,
Quote
But the "dead" will come
Thank for this suggestion, I hope Avast can repair this problem cause it not occur in v4.7

Anyway Avast still the BEST  8)

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2008, 11:28:57 AM »
I had go there and a setting for silence running mode, is it ?
Yes. And you can disable other options also (progress bar, etc.).

What results ?
If that procedures solve the problem or not...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Khaidir

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2008, 12:31:48 PM »
I don't think it the problem, cause when the avast.setup running, all the program will not responding.[Not started include task manager & explorer]
For this time I start the program first like task manager & firefox before dial-up, then I can use them.

Feel free to see the picture. :D

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2008, 01:39:38 PM »
I don't think it the problem, cause when the avast.setup running, all the program will not responding.[Not started include task manager & explorer]
It shouldn't... the priority (and CPU usage) of the update processes were reduced a long time ago... Do you use any other antivirus in this computer? Used in the past?
The best things in life are free.

Offline umar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2008, 07:30:43 AM »
elo...
ive also got da same problem...
after ive installed da newest update n reboot, da com cannot load my wireless connection and hang when i click network connection... before this it ran smoothly....
try uninstall everything and reinstall, still da same..... ???
i hope u can help me ASAP
thanx

Offline Khaidir

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2008, 07:47:11 AM »
Yes, maybe...
I found a service AVG anti-spyware.
How to remove them cause I had uninstall them.

So, what u think the problem is ???
Somebody help me !!!

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2008, 08:04:06 AM »
I found a service AVG anti-spyware.
How to remove them cause I had uninstall them.
I think that services will require manual remove from the Registry. It's a work for advanced users. Most probably, it's not conflicting with anything in your computer. Do you still have AVG Antispyware in your Add/Remove applet of Control Panel?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Khaidir

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #11 on: November 23, 2008, 08:37:52 AM »
No, so how to remove the service manually.

Can I do in RUN
Quote
regsvr32 /u (AVG Service)

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #12 on: November 23, 2008, 08:50:13 AM »
Delete only the proper key into HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services
(Backup first!).
The best things in life are free.

Offline Khaidir

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2008, 02:04:29 AM »
I had remove AVG service, but the problem still exist. Maybe it not the problem.

Does Avast(firewall) will not scanning while update, then it will block anything until it updated.
So, I think it because my update problem. Yeah, maybe slow connection, slow to find server.

I hope only that the problem, not because any virus or program error.
Quote
At least I still safe

I will wait for another news  ;)
Anyways, thanks a lot !!!

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast 4.8 Home Edition - avast.setup
« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2008, 11:31:16 AM »
Does Avast (firewall) will not scanning while update, then it will block anything until it updated.
1. avast is not a firewall.
2. avast antivirus keeps scanning while updating.

Please, post the last 300-350 lines of avast log: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log
The best things in life are free.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now