Author Topic: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?  (Read 2955 times)

Offline !Donovan

  • LÖVE Scripting Website Analyst
  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2138
  • Gender: Male
  • f(x)=2x+1
    • The WAR Against Malware
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« on: April 25, 2009, 06:20:56 AM »
I use Avast! Professional Edition and I was wondering if I could have Ad-AwareAE as my FOURTH backup scanner. Is it possible that I can combine those anti<strike>viruses</strike>spywares?:
Spybot Search And Destroy
Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware Free Edition
SuperAntiSpyware Free Edition
Avast! Professional Edition
and add Ad-AwareAE just to be on the safe side ;D
« Last Edit: April 25, 2009, 04:46:44 PM by Donovansrb10 »
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."
Useful Links: Sucuri SiteCheck | WAR | urlQuery | URLVoid | Wepawet

Offline Tarq57

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3696
  • Gender: Male
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2009, 11:55:41 AM »
Don't see why not. Try it.
AdAware would have to have improved its AE heaps over the last offering for me to ever want to install it again, thanks. Nothing but doubt and program crashes.

Just a point of clarification, those aren't AV's, they're Antispywares. Small distinction, but important if anyone reads this and thinks it's ok to install more than 1 AV. (It's almost always not ok.)
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline !Donovan

  • LÖVE Scripting Website Analyst
  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2138
  • Gender: Male
  • f(x)=2x+1
    • The WAR Against Malware
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2009, 04:48:52 PM »
Umm......
                  Do you know if it has any MAJOR problems like system crash? I don't want my PC to die. Its my only one. :(
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."
Useful Links: Sucuri SiteCheck | WAR | urlQuery | URLVoid | Wepawet

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64885
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2009, 05:54:29 PM »
Ad-Aware is an old good boy... I think it will add nothing to MBAM and SAS that you already has.
Well, after that you'll complain that there are too many processes running in your computer... (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=44583.0).
Don't flood your computer ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline rdmaloyjr

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1865
  • The beatings will continue until morale improves!
    • The Cross
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2009, 06:04:56 PM »
Ad-Aware is an old good boy... I think it will add nothing to MBAM and SAS that you already has.
Well, after that you'll complain that there are too many processes running in your computer... (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=44583.0).
Don't flood your computer ;D

avast!'s built-in antispyware (a/v & a/s use same scanning engine for low resource use) does a great job, no other a/s is needed.  SAS & mbam are great on-demand scanners for backup.

No need to "flood your computer" ;D
"If you want to make a Conservative angry, tell him a lie. If you want to make a Liberal angry, tell him the truth." - Rush Limbaugh

avast! Free    Mbam Pro   Privatefirewll  WinPatrol Plus               Pentium Dual-Core  Windows 7 64bit SP1  8 gigs of RAM

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2009, 06:13:33 PM »
Ad-Aware 


It has seen its day and now is a waste of hard disk space so stick with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and SAS.

McAfee SiteAdvisor is useless as its updates are few and far between.

Foxit Toolbar with askBar.dll is un-necessary so should be un-installed.

Spybot S&D's TeaTimer is redundant with SAS.

Why to you run CCleaner at Windows startup? 
Its best you clean up when the system shuts down because you don't need it but you do when you start up.

I guess you power up your system then go make a coffee while the system boots up. ;)
« Last Edit: April 25, 2009, 06:26:58 PM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69236
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2009, 06:50:23 PM »
Although I'm no fan of S&D, the Teatime is a resident function and as such isn't redundant with SAS as the OP's version is the free one which has no resident protection
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline !Donovan

  • LÖVE Scripting Website Analyst
  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2138
  • Gender: Male
  • f(x)=2x+1
    • The WAR Against Malware
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2009, 06:53:09 PM »
Don't see why not. Try it.
AdAware would have to have improved its AE heaps over the last offering for me to ever want to install it again, thanks. Nothing but doubt and program crashes.

Just a point of clarification, those aren't AV's, they're Antispywares. Small distinction, but important if anyone reads this and thinks it's ok to install more than 1 AV. (It's almost always not ok.)

I think I'd pass now...

Ad-Aware is an old good boy... I think it will add nothing to MBAM and SAS that you already has.
Well, after that you'll complain that there are too many processes running in your computer... (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=44583.0).
Don't flood your computer ;D

Do you think I should remove the accounts that don't even work anymore and the backup accounts?

Ad-Aware is an old good boy... I think it will add nothing to MBAM and SAS that you already has.
Well, after that you'll complain that there are too many processes running in your computer... (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=44583.0).
Don't flood your computer ;D

avast!'s built-in antispyware (a/v & a/s use same scanning engine for low resource use) does a great job, no other a/s is needed.  SAS & mbam are great on-demand scanners for backup.

No need to "flood your computer" ;D

I can't stop flooding it because I have too many broken accounts and backup accounts that I want to get rit of.

Ad-Aware 


It has seen its day and now is a waste of hard disk space so stick with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and SAS.

McAfee SiteAdvisor is useless as its updates are few and far between.

Foxit Toolbar with askBar.dll is un-necessary so should be un-installed.

Spybot S&D's TeaTimer is redundant with SAS.

Why to you run CCleaner at Windows startup? 
Its best you clean up when the system shuts down because you don't need it but you do when you start up.

I guess you power up your system then go make a coffee while the system boots up. ;)

Okay, i'm not going to flood my pc anymore but can you help me get rit of the flooding?

Although I'm no fan of S&D, the Teatime is a resident function and as such isn't redundant with SAS as the OP's version is the free one which has no resident protection

So does that mean I have to disable Teatime or uninstall S&D and reinstall it without TeaTimer somehow?
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."
Useful Links: Sucuri SiteCheck | WAR | urlQuery | URLVoid | Wepawet

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64885
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2009, 06:56:50 PM »
So does that mean I have to disable Teatime or uninstall S&D and reinstall it without TeaTimer somehow?
No, just disable the Teatimer. The only usable function of Spybot nowadays is the immunization...
The best things in life are free.

Offline !Donovan

  • LÖVE Scripting Website Analyst
  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2138
  • Gender: Male
  • f(x)=2x+1
    • The WAR Against Malware
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2009, 07:07:39 PM »
So does that mean I have to disable Teatime or uninstall S&D and reinstall it without TeaTimer somehow?
No, just disable the Teatimer. The only usable function of Spybot nowadays is the immunization...

How do I disable TeaTimer? ???
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."
Useful Links: Sucuri SiteCheck | WAR | urlQuery | URLVoid | Wepawet

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69236
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2009, 07:11:06 PM »
So does that mean I have to disable Teatime or uninstall S&D and reinstall it without TeaTimer somehow?

No, I'm not making any recommendation, just an observation. It is just saying that contrary to what YoKenny said Teatimer isn't redundant just because you have SAS, because the free version of SAS doesn't have any resident function, so teatimer could provide limited resident functionality.

There is however IMHO such a thing ad you can get too much of a good thing and that includes security software. Given that you have avast which does have anti-spyware built in and two on-demand anti-spyware scanners (SAS and MBAM), perhaps that is enough (perhaps S&D is redundant), see my signature.

For immunization as Tech mentions you could use SpywareBlaster which has an immunization only function the program doesn't run in the background consuming resources.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline !Donovan

  • LÖVE Scripting Website Analyst
  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2138
  • Gender: Male
  • f(x)=2x+1
    • The WAR Against Malware
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2009, 07:14:34 PM »
So does that mean I have to disable Teatime or uninstall S&D and reinstall it without TeaTimer somehow?

No, I'm not making any recommendation, just an observation. It is just saying that contrary to what YoKenny said Teatimer isn't redundant just because you have SAS, because the free version of SAS doesn't have any resident function, so teatimer could provide limited resident functionality.

There is however IMHO such a thing ad you can get too much of a good thing and that includes security software. Given that you have avast which does have anti-spyware built in and two on-demand anti-spyware scanners (SAS and MBAM), perhaps that is enough (perhaps S&D is redundant), see my signature.

For immunization as Tech mentions you could use SpywareBlaster which has an immunization only function the program doesn't run in the background consuming resources.

Your telling me that it is reccominded to UNINSTALL Spybot S&D? It detected my DSS Agent Problem.  :-\ Oh well..... Uninstalls.............................
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."
Useful Links: Sucuri SiteCheck | WAR | urlQuery | URLVoid | Wepawet

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69236
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2009, 07:23:18 PM »
I told you I earlier I'm not making a recommendation, just observations ;D
What you decide is on your system is your choice based on the information you gather from this topic.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline !Donovan

  • LÖVE Scripting Website Analyst
  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2138
  • Gender: Male
  • f(x)=2x+1
    • The WAR Against Malware
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Is Ad-AwareAE Compatible with Avast! Professional Edition?
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2009, 07:25:24 PM »
I told you I earlier I'm not making a recommendation, just observations ;D
What you decide is on your system is your choice based on the information you gather from this topic.

I don't care about that, all I want is to have more space on my PC. :(
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."
Useful Links: Sucuri SiteCheck | WAR | urlQuery | URLVoid | Wepawet

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now