Author Topic: Why we break links to possible malicious sites and silent drive by downloads...  (Read 4311 times)

Offline polonus

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • malware fighter
Hi malware fighters and users of these forums,

Sometimes you see requests to new users to break links to malicious websites that may harm users that click these live links. I explained this to someone on the NoScript forum that did not understand this policy for obvious reasons, he was not aware of the risks.
As I work as a malware fighter on a web forum we know how to break links. So when a link with some possible malicious redirects or malicious script would be broken like: hxtp://evilmalicioussite.com or like evilmalicious dot com or : "www dot evilmalicious dot com. The person that knows what it should look like can enter the address in a (link) scanner like bad stuff detektor, Exploit Prevention Lab link scanner, DrWeb's av link checker plug-in extension for fx or Webpage Security Report = : http://www.unmaskparasites.com/security-report/ , without having to click on it directly and probably get infected as a worst case scenario (not if you have NoScript installed and active off-course, but we all know that here).
- So it is to prevent that curiosity will kill the proverbial n00b cat. -
We have to point this out to new users of anti malware forums again and again, but after a while they understand why we do this and why we follow this policy/
Also when publishing malicious or suspicious script in for instance a hidden iFrame or injected obfuscated script, we try to break that by putting ^ where > should be or entering some ..... Better is to make a screen dump and link to a picture of the code found, because that cannot be flagged by a scanner, while with a real script that can be a possibility under certain circumstances.