Author Topic: Avast's IM shield  (Read 4447 times)

Offline JoeBlack40

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast's IM shield
« on: May 15, 2009, 12:07:17 PM »
I was wondering if avast's IM shield is working properly...because when i open the shield's window,it says that the provider is running...but last scanned,last infection,nothing,nada...i use Yahoo mess 8,and it's ticked in avast's settings...so,do i miss something here...?is this the way its supposed to be...?

Thanks.
Avast free-Privatefirewall-Sandboxie

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64880
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2009, 12:13:05 PM »
Did you send or receive any archive from IM?
The best things in life are free.

Offline JoeBlack40

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2009, 12:34:40 PM »
Did you send or receive any archive from IM?

No Tech,only the usual chat...i must sending something via IM for avast to scan?if i understand corectly,avast scan only the files that are being sent or received?
Avast free-Privatefirewall-Sandboxie

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64880
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2009, 01:14:25 PM »
No Tech,only the usual chat...i must sending something via IM for avast to scan?if i understand corectly,avast scan only the files that are being sent or received?
Well, the communication itself can't infect your computer afaik. Maybe I'm wrong :-[
The best things in life are free.

Offline JoeBlack40

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2009, 02:46:47 PM »
Well,thank you Tech....
On the other hand,i'd like to know if there are users with this case...when they chat,does IM shield register,show something?just the chat,Yahoo Mess for example......

Anyway,i think if something is infected in mess,standard shield will catch it...by i still wonder...what is then, the point of IM shield? ???
Avast free-Privatefirewall-Sandboxie

Offline alanrf

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Gender: Male
  • Just an avast user
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2009, 02:42:19 AM »
The IM shield checks for all file operations by the .exe of the IM process and scans them (unlike the Standard Shield). So, it is doing its best to make sure that that no malware can touch your disk surface rather than trying to find it after it got there.

Offline Hally

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • Gender: Female
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2009, 05:18:00 PM »
Hi  :)

Whatever kind of Messenger it is.. Windows Live, Yahoo, etc.

Don't you always have to set it up in the Messenger first?  :-\

Struggling To Explain Myself!  :-[

Might be easier if you just read my old thread on a very similar subject  ;)
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=44523.msg372781#msg372781
Warning!
Please read right the way through!
As there was a very important correction made.

Hope This Helps!  ;)
Laptop * Vista HP ( 32bit ) SP2 * Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender - PC Tools Firewall Plus - MBAM - Sandboxie
Desktop * Windows 7 HP ( 64bit ) SP1 *Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender ( On Demand ) - Windows Firewall - MBAM
Dropbox = Free.. Back Up - & - Sync!: https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTU3NjMzMzA5

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64880
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2009, 07:55:21 PM »
The IM shield checks for all file operations by the .exe of the IM process and scans them (unlike the Standard Shield). So, it is doing its best to make sure that that no malware can touch your disk surface rather than trying to find it after it got there.
Thanks Alanrf... I always forget the IM provider behavior ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline JoeBlack40

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2009, 02:04:29 PM »
Thank you Hally,i'll try....(till now,i haven't noticed yet that feature for yahoo,file transfer,scan,etc)...
Avast free-Privatefirewall-Sandboxie

Offline Hally

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • Gender: Female
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2009, 06:45:23 PM »

You're Welcome!   :)

I've never used Yahoo Messenger myself.
But maybe someone else here knows ( Can Tell You! ) where the scan settings are situated in Yahoo Messenger ;)
Laptop * Vista HP ( 32bit ) SP2 * Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender - PC Tools Firewall Plus - MBAM - Sandboxie
Desktop * Windows 7 HP ( 64bit ) SP1 *Avast 7 Free - Windows Defender ( On Demand ) - Windows Firewall - MBAM
Dropbox = Free.. Back Up - & - Sync!: https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTU3NjMzMzA5

Offline alanrf

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Gender: Male
  • Just an avast user
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2009, 07:29:38 PM »
I do use Yahoo Messenger (version 9).  There is no setting to enter an antivirus scanning option in it.  They have set up a way for Norton to scan received files but no general purpose scan option.

Offline JoeBlack40

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast's IM shield
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2009, 08:01:02 AM »
alanrf,you're right...no such thing not even in 8...oh well,i think it's not such a big issue after all....
Avast free-Privatefirewall-Sandboxie

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now