Author Topic: Help! Can't open batch (.bat) files  (Read 2594 times)

Offline daniel.e

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Help! Can't open batch (.bat) files
« on: May 19, 2009, 03:06:16 PM »
Hi! My problem is that I can't open batch files or cmd.exe because it says "The command promt has been disabled by your administrator.

Press any key to continue..."

But my real problem is that I am the administrator!!!. And I don't know wich of my program does it but I suppose avast! doing it. I tried to disable avast through it's fast menu ant trough TaskManager. From the fast menu it worked to disable it, but eighter I can't open batch files...javascript:void(0); So I tried trough TaskManager, but it was impossible to do it because the avast doesn't allow it. I don't know what should I do but I think I will reinstall my avast. But I don't want to do it because it is too long time to install it again and I haven't got enugh time. If somebody having the same problem or somebody have an advice for me I will thank any reply.javascript:void(0);

*(Anyway if i made any mistakes in my text please leave it javascript:void(0); I am from Hungary.)

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64892
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Help! Can't open batch (.bat) files
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2009, 03:48:17 PM »
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69240
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Help! Can't open batch (.bat) files
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 03:58:58 PM »
You may have a piece of malware that has disabled them to make life difficult to remove any malware on your system.

So the reason you can't open batch files or the cmd.exe isn't avast related as it doesn't block, but scans and alerts to infection.

avast has a self protection module (Program Settings, Troubleshooting) that will stop you disabling avast processes, etc. You can pause the Standard Shield stopping any on-access scan or you could Stop On-Access Protection (all resident scanners) right click the avast 'a' icon, select Stop On-Access Protection (these you will find makes no difference as it isn't avast blocking).

Having two resident scanners installed is not recommended as rather than provide twice the protection it can cause conflicts that could leave you more vulnerable.

If you haven't already got this software (freeware), download, install, update and run it and report the findings (it should product a log file).
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline daniel.e

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Help! Can't open batch (.bat) files
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2009, 06:57:59 PM »
Thank you but it seem I haven't got any malwares or adwares.  :(   or might be it is hidden virus, and I can't terminate it, but thank you... :)

Offline DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69240
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Help! Can't open batch (.bat) files
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2009, 07:33:54 PM »
You're welcome, but even so I would advise running these two programs if for nothing else reassurance.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now