Author Topic: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials  (Read 35012 times)

Offline smtb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« on: September 30, 2009, 03:54:08 AM »
Hello,

I have been using Avast for a year now, and I am very happy with it. I dont have any virus infection in my computer. I also have superantispyware and malwarebytes which I use as on-demand scanner from time to time.
I have read some very good reviews about the Microsoft Security Essentials which have just been released. Can I use it together with Avast?
I have read earlier in this forum that one should not use 2 realtime antivirus software together. Thats the reason I am little bit afraid to install it.

Please suggest.

Thanks.

Offline nmb

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3065
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2009, 03:58:30 AM »
search around a bit here in forum. you'll come to know. there are evangelists using avast and msse together. bob, tech, kenny - just to name a few. you too can use them both.

edit : and now(16:13:02 IST), even me. :)
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 10:43:33 AM by nmb »
Dell Inspiron 1564: Intel Core-i3 @ 2.13 GHz / 4GB DDR3 / Windows 7 Home premium 64 bit / Avast Free 6.0.1426 / WinPatrol 2012 Plus / Pale Moon 12/

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2009, 09:07:39 AM »
I'm running it no problem:
Microsoft Security Essentials Version:  1.0.1611.0
Antimalware Client Version: 2.0.6212.0
Engine Version: 1.1.5101.0
Antivirus definitions: 1.67.198.0
Antispyware definitions: 1.67.198.0

See:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=49046.0

It is part of Layered Protection as one anti virus application does not provide 100% protection against the prolific malware writers today.

Quote
Kaspersky: Security Essentials to impact malware market
Anti malware biz about to get shaken up?
By Patrick Goss
 
Kaspersky's David Emm has admitted that Microsoft's free Security Essentials package will have a big effect on the anti-malware market but insisted that there is still room for companies to produce quality security software 
  http://www.techradar.com/news/software/applications/kaspersky-pragmatic-about-microsoft-s-free-security-639336

I use the items in my signature to help keep my system free from malware.  
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 09:23:22 AM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline smtb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2009, 12:21:50 PM »
Thanks both of you for your replies.
Yokenny... I read the forum link that you gave, and I got the impression that most of the folks were talking about Avast 5 beta. I forgot to mention that I use Avast 4.8. Can that have a problem with MSSE?

Thanks again.

Offline nmb

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3065
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2009, 12:22:45 PM »
I'm using with 4.8. no problems.
Dell Inspiron 1564: Intel Core-i3 @ 2.13 GHz / 4GB DDR3 / Windows 7 Home premium 64 bit / Avast Free 6.0.1426 / WinPatrol 2012 Plus / Pale Moon 12/

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2009, 01:33:43 PM »
I do not use the beta yet but bob3160 does and he is not having a problem:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=48875.msg414326#msg414326
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Tgell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
  • Gender: Male
  • Definitely not a BOT!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2009, 01:49:02 PM »
I thought that according to numerous posts and VLK that you should not be running 2 resident scanners at the same time. Correct?

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2009, 02:54:47 PM »
I have 4 resident scanners and they check for different things so do not conflict.

avast!, MBAM, MSE and WinPatrol.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Spiritsongs

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1761
  • Ad-aware orientated Support forum(s)
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2009, 04:47:09 PM »
 :)  Hi all :

 The Newsletter I get from Sunbelt Software today said the following :

 "MSE does NOT protect your incoming email (!)
MSE Scan speed is SLOW
MSE does not have real-time customizable monitors
MSE does not have advanced malware behavior analysis
MSE does not have live U.S. based Tech Support or Chat
In other words, you get what you pay for, as not protecting incoming email is like locking the house but leaving the front door wide open. Here is a one page PDF with the differences:
http://www.sunbeltsecuritynews.com/49QTYU/090930-VIPRE_vs_MSE  "

For the Best in what counts in Life :
www.tacf.org

Offline Pondus

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 21799
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2009, 05:02:33 PM »
Quote
In other words, you get what you pay for, as not protecting incoming email is like locking the house but leaving the front door wide open.
Depends on what email provider you have, some have there own virus/spam scanner, like hotmail/yahoo/Gmail
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline Mr.Agent

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2773
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2009, 08:31:35 PM »
:)  Hi all :

 The Newsletter I get from Sunbelt Software today said the following :

 "MSE does NOT protect your incoming email (!)
MSE Scan speed is SLOW
MSE does not have real-time customizable monitors
MSE does not have advanced malware behavior analysis
MSE does not have live U.S. based Tech Support or Chat
In other words, you get what you pay for, as not protecting incoming email is like locking the house but leaving the front door wide open. Here is a one page PDF with the differences:
http://www.sunbeltsecuritynews.com/49QTYU/090930-VIPRE_vs_MSE  "



Good point for keep Avast! 4.8 Home/Pro and wait for the 5.0 ;)
Smart phone LG G2 - (Specs) Processor Quad Core 2,26 GHZ - 2048 MB RAM - True IPS LCD Full HD 1080p Screen - 13 MP Camera 1080p HD of 60 fps - (Security) avast! Free Mobile Security with Anti-Theft

A beast is a beast, she will stay strong until she lives... -Mr.Agent

Offline yawetage

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2009, 05:33:32 PM »
I installed MSE yesterday just to test it with Avast! Home 4.8 (on XP SP3) and it caused my system to hang majorly. Everything took at least a minute to open and it took me 2+ minutes just to get into Control Panel and uninstall it. So for my system at least 4.8 and MSE do not like each other at all.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2009, 06:28:20 PM »
I installed MSE yesterday just to test it with Avast! Home 4.8 (on XP SP3) and it caused my system to hang majorly. Everything took at least a minute to open and it took me 2+ minutes just to get into Control Panel and uninstall it. So for my system at least 4.8 and MSE do not like each other at all.
What is your system CPU type and speed plus how much RAM does the system have?
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64891
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2009, 06:34:12 PM »
I installed MSE yesterday just to test it with Avast! Home 4.8 (on XP SP3) and it caused my system to hang majorly. Everything took at least a minute to open and it took me 2+ minutes just to get into Control Panel and uninstall it. So for my system at least 4.8 and MSE do not like each other at all.
How much RAM do you have? Which is your processor?
More than a conflict, what could happen is a deep slow in non-very-powerful computers.

Oopss... YoKenny was faster.
The best things in life are free.

Offline yawetage

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast with Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2009, 08:50:06 PM »
Yeah you are right, my PC's not terribly powerful. I only have a 1.8GHz processor and 4 gigs RAM.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now