Author Topic: Does Avast work with Win7  (Read 3266 times)

Offline ridgeley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Does Avast work with Win7
« on: October 29, 2009, 11:25:00 PM »
Will Avast Home Edition work with Windows 7, 32-bit (netbook)?

Offline DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69205
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2009, 12:05:05 AM »
The short answer is yes.

Longer answer with information, http://www.avast.com/eng/press-release-windows-7-logo.html.

This relates to avast 4.8.

There is a beta trial ongoing for the new avast 5.0, that however, although it works on netbooks there are some GUI glitches relating to resolution, screen size that need to be resolved. That I believe will be done before it is released.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline ridgeley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2009, 12:25:37 AM »
So then if I buy a netbook with Win7 this weekend, I should go ahead and download Avast? I really don't want to do the Norton thing again.

Thanks!

Offline Osage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2009, 02:44:21 AM »
So then if I buy a netbook with Win7 this weekend, I should go ahead and download Avast? I really don't want to do the Norton thing again.

Thanks!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In a word, yes, but still beware. If the win 7 netbook comes with a trial version of McAfee or Norton preinstalled,  you may have to go to the McAfee or Norton website and download their uninstallers. Because simply using add remove programs to do the same may leave left over bits of McAfee or Norton that will conflict with any other AV you choose to install.

My other position is and remains, anytime you buy a new computer, you should pre down load and burn to CD-R most of the security system you plan to use.  And have your new security system up and running  BEFORE you ever expose the new computer to the internet. You will still have to do the new updates for your security system, but at least you are not bare assed naked before completing the updates. 

And did I forget to mention, Avast, in my experience updates faster than most other AV's.  Meaning you spend less time on the internet only partially patched.

Offline nnoa110

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2009, 07:47:56 AM »
Yes, You Should use avast! :)
Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64Bit/ Core i7 2630QM 2.0-2.9GHz/ 4GB RAM/ avast! Free AV 7.0.1474/ Outpost Firewall Pro 8.0/ MBAM PRO 1.70/ Sandboxie 3.76 Free

Offline DavidR

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69205
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2009, 01:48:44 PM »
So then if I buy a netbook with Win7 this weekend, I should go ahead and download Avast? I really don't want to do the Norton thing again.

Thanks!

No contest.

I would suggest that you download the full installation file (about 37MB) in advance and copy it to a USB or CD ready to copy to your new netbook so you can install off-line.

Download the latest version of avast http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html and save it to your HDD, somewhere you can find it again. Use that when you reinstall. Ensure that you scroll down and select the avast direct download link for the English version and not Cnet as that is for an on-line installation (not what you want to do).

Or - Direct download link for avast Home, English version, http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/setupeng.exe.

- Complete the avast! 4 Home Registration form and you will receive an email from register @ avast.com (without the spaces) with your registration key.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline RugbyPete

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2009, 01:49:43 PM »
Been running fine for months on W7. Go for it

Offline mikhalek

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2009, 07:13:39 PM »
Win 7 64-bit, works fine but no sound... :P
Windows 7 Ultimate - 64bit/Avast 5 Internet Security/ Google Chrome 4

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2009, 07:44:20 PM »
@mikhalek

No problems with sounds on Win7 64-bit for me.

I had to download the Realtek High Definition Audio driver for my Gigabyte motherboard from the Gigabyte site though.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline ridgeley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2009, 03:52:06 AM »
So then if I buy a netbook with Win7 this weekend, I should go ahead and download Avast? I really don't want to do the Norton thing again.

Thanks!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In a word, yes, but still beware. If the win 7 netbook comes with a trial version of McAfee or Norton preinstalled,  you may have to go to the McAfee or Norton website and download their uninstallers. Because simply using add remove programs to do the same may leave left over bits of McAfee or Norton that will conflict with any other AV you choose to install.

My other position is and remains, anytime you buy a new computer, you should pre down load and burn to CD-R most of the security system you plan to use.  And have your new security system up and running  BEFORE you ever expose the new computer to the internet. You will still have to do the new updates for your security system, but at least you are not bare assed naked before completing the updates. 

And did I forget to mention, Avast, in my experience updates faster than most other AV's.  Meaning you spend less time on the internet only partially patched.

Avast is now installed on the new netbook, and I uninstalled Norton. Should I also uninstall Windows Defender, or is that something different? Does Avast cover pretty much everything?

Thanks to everyone who responded!

Offline Robz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2009, 07:10:02 AM »
I had to point windows sounds in control panel to the sound files in "C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ENGLISH" for all sounds I wanted. Go to "control Panel"=>"Hardware and Sound"=>"Sound"=>click on "sounds" tab=>scroll down to "avast! antivirus" click on each decription sound you want, if under sounds: it says none click "browse" and navigate to Alwil as above and select corresponding sounds and "Open" you can test the sound and once your happy you can "save as" Sound Scheme so that if for some reason it gets changed you can just select your Sound Scheme next time. Hope this helps those with no sound problem. Kind Regards Rob

Offline NAMOR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • NAMOR
    • sLoWkIdSpLaYiNg.CoM
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #11 on: October 31, 2009, 04:31:37 PM »
Win 7 64-bit, works fine but no sound... :P


I get sound with Avast on Win 7 64 bit.
Windows 7 64bit + LUA + Full DEP + Avast Internet Security.

Offline Robz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2009, 05:04:57 PM »
I don't think sound is a problem on install of Avast (Unless its a driver problem), but if you change your theme in Win 7 after install (Of Avast) it might only give you default Windows 7 theme sounds. At least thats what I think happened to me, so after or if I change themes I re-activate my saved default sound (As windows themes do-not know about sounds introduced after install). Regards Rob
« Last Edit: October 31, 2009, 06:28:48 PM by Robz »

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2009, 05:57:29 PM »
@ridgeley

Please add your repy after the /quote tag
Quote
Avast is now installed on the new netbook, and I uninstalled Norton. Should I also uninstall Windows Defender, or is that something different? Does Avast cover pretty much everything?

Thanks to everyone who responded!
Your response will be easier to understand this way.

Windows Defender is an addition layer of protection and can be removed but its not necessary to remove it.

@Robz

Windows 7 provides default sounds that are OK but the sounds that are provided by the audio driver from provider for Windows 7 are much better.

When I updated to Windows 7 I had Windows sounds but they were tame compared to what I was used to before I updated so I installed the Windows 7 audio drivers for my Gigabyte motherboard that has Realtek High Definition Audio.

I did not want to trust Windows Update as it did not find the Realtek audio adapter present.

I tried to use the CD that came with the motherboard to update the basic audio driver but it would not run on the 64-bit system.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2009, 07:02:02 PM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Robz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Does Avast work with Win7
« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2009, 06:49:00 PM »
Hi "YoKenny" I was only referring to my situation when my "Avast" sounds dissappeared and realised what had caused it, in the hopes it might help someone. I should have added I have been using "Avast 4.8" on "Window 7" 64 and 32 no problems along side "Windows Defender" and "Winpatrol" (Scotty) I edited my previous post to make it a bit clearer. Sorry for any missunderstanding. Rob :)

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now