Author Topic: Closed Thread  (Read 11321 times)

Masley

Closed Thread
« on: December 19, 2009, 12:29:45 AM »
UPDATE: Help not given to original post starter.  Please view Masley posts on this thread!

Had an avast pop-up box appear stating a virus was found.  Says malware name is Win32:Alureon-EU .  File name: C:\\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\atapi     Not sure if the box itself was malware, so I ran an avast scan, came back clean.  Finally I clicked as directed onto "Move to Chest", the box disappeared, then reappeared.

Have other problems I'm sure are related. Ex: "iexplore application error" and "cannot find logon.exe".  Pretty certain I contracted the Trojan Generic and guessing registries and/or DNS changed even though I think the virus itself gone.

I've researched on a friends computer, disabled add-ons and can't fix this!!  I'm a novice at this stuff and terrified of doing anything else, especially messing with registries.  I would be grateful for any help!!

« Last Edit: December 21, 2009, 08:58:58 PM by Masley »

Masley

Re: New variation of Alureon? EU. Cannot Move to Chest or Repair. Yikes!
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2009, 02:13:58 AM »
Update!  Computer crashed, using another to write this.

Before crash I reran Malwarebytes, O infections anywhere.  In Avast Virus Warning window that keeps popping up I clicked onto Schedule Boot Scan.  It stated that it needed to restart, so I clicked onto OK.  Upon restart I got the blue screen of death!!  Said I needed to check for viruses on any new hardware I'd installed.  1st of all I hadn't installed any and 2nd I have no idea how to remove a virus in blue screen.

I'm clueless on what to do now.

Jtaylor83

Re: Blue Screen of Death! New variation of Alureon? EU.
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2009, 03:50:17 AM »
That means the atapi.sys driver is patched.

Download and run ComboFix by sUBs from here and save it as a different name or CFix will not run correctly (Note: This is a beta version)