forum.avast.com
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
Did you miss your
activation email
?
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News:
avast! Server Edition - protect your
server
!!
Home
Help
Search
My Messages
Read your messages
Send a message
Login
Register
avast!WEBforum
»
avast! support forums
»
avast! Free/Pro/Suite
»
False Positive on WordPress.org?
return to avast! pages
visit our support
read blog
join us on facebook
« previous topic
next topic »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Down
Author
Topic: False Positive on WordPress.org? (Read 2044 times)
hpguru
Full Member
Posts: 186
Gender:
False Positive on WordPress.org?
«
on:
January 31, 2010, 03:46:44 PM »
Avast 4/5 some problem.
Please check.
http://wordpress.org/support/topic/271799
Logged
AMD Phenom 8550 X3, 8GB DDR2, 1000GB & 640GB HDD, ATI Radeon HD 4650 (1GB), Acer X223W CRT, Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Avast 5 Free, Windows Defender, Firefox & WOT.
DavidR
avast! Überevangelist
Certainly Bot
Posts: 66209
Gender:
No support PMs thanks
Re: False Positive on WordPress.org?
«
Reply #1 on:
January 31, 2010, 04:43:14 PM »
The problem is some idiot posted the complete script code on the page instead of using an image and to make it worse even posts a direct active link to the hacked page.
Unfortunately avast treats the text based script code the same as if it were in the html code as that is what it is looking at.
Logged
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 8.0.1489/ Outpost Firewall Pro8.0/ Firefox 21.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Pro 1.75/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
jsejtko
avast! team
Full Member
Posts: 170
Gender:
Re: False Positive on WordPress.org?
«
Reply #2 on:
January 31, 2010, 04:45:24 PM »
Hello,
It's not a false positive -> the site contains malicious script (inactive) but in same form as it is distributed - in text form. Please tell the owner/creator of the topic to use images instead of cut&paste to show malware pieces.
Regards
Logged
hpguru
Full Member
Posts: 186
Gender:
Re: False Positive on WordPress.org?
«
Reply #3 on:
January 31, 2010, 04:53:53 PM »
Thank you. I reply to this topic.
Logged
AMD Phenom 8550 X3, 8GB DDR2, 1000GB & 640GB HDD, ATI Radeon HD 4650 (1GB), Acer X223W CRT, Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Avast 5 Free, Windows Defender, Firefox & WOT.
DavidR
avast! Überevangelist
Certainly Bot
Posts: 66209
Gender:
No support PMs thanks
Re: False Positive on WordPress.org?
«
Reply #4 on:
January 31, 2010, 07:05:39 PM »
Thanks, hopefully they will heed your suggestion/advice when posting exploit/malicious script code, use an image or break the code in a way it can't be taken for the real threat.
Logged
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 8.0.1489/ Outpost Firewall Pro8.0/ Firefox 21.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Pro 1.75/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Up
« previous topic
next topic »
avast!WEBforum
»
avast! support forums
»
avast! Free/Pro/Suite
»
False Positive on WordPress.org?
avast! on Twitter
|
avast! on Facebook