Author Topic: Can't Load Skin, Program won't Load HELP!!!!!  (Read 3112 times)

Offline BanziBaby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Gender: Male
  • Zeppelin Fanatic
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Can't Load Skin, Program won't Load HELP!!!!!
« on: June 23, 2003, 03:21:00 PM »
Hi Avast Team

I had a HD crash & had 2 reinstall everythn again, but after installin Avast 4 Pro, i get that can't load skin error message

I have tried the workaround in the FAQ(had 2 correct the spellin(it say C:\WINDOW\SSYTEM), but nothin happens(no box appears, i also tried repairin it by runnin the install again & then rebootin, but still no luck

It been like this 4 over 2 hours now, & i need 2 get into the prog 2 configure it, but i just keep gettin that error message

Would appreciate a promt reply as i have 2 go away 4 a few days & don't want 2 leave it till i get back, i want 2 scan 2 make sure i have no viruses

Cheers

BaNzI ;D

PS i not Yet updated it 2 the newer version ie 229 or the defs update, am runnin Win98se
« Last Edit: June 23, 2003, 03:27:40 PM by BanziBaby »

Offline BanziBaby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Gender: Male
  • Zeppelin Fanatic
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't Load Skin, Program won't Load HELP!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2003, 03:52:37 PM »
Hi me again

Would really appreciate a reply here, i have 2 go away 4 a few dyas & my brither will be usin the PC, so i want 2 make sure that Avast is workin & updated

Im desperate here ???

Cheers

BaNzI :o

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't Load Skin, Program won't Load HELP!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2003, 04:13:44 PM »
BaNzI,

I'd like to help you, but I'm not really sure about this one. It ma be that your regsvr32.exe file is corrupted and so it doesn't work? It's part of Windows..

If you give me your e-mail (e.g. by sending me a message), I can try to send you the correct file. What OS are you using?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline BanziBaby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Gender: Male
  • Zeppelin Fanatic
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't Load Skin, Program won't Load HELP!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2003, 04:24:03 PM »
Cheer Vlk

The mails on it's way, i really appreciate the help here, OS is Win98 second edition woth all the latest windows updates

Thanks :)

BaNzI


Offline BanziBaby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Gender: Male
  • Zeppelin Fanatic
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't Load Skin, Program won't Load HELP!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2003, 05:17:29 PM »
Hi :)

Vlk, i can't thank U enough pal, Ur solution solved it.I tried the command U said in the email, & i still got no box poppin up, so i made a copy of my regsvr32.exe file then overwrote the 1 in Windows\System\ with the 1 U sent in the mail.It worked like a dream & i can now open the program & everything now works

If it any help the build of the file i had was 5.1.2600.0 (XPClient.010817-1148), not sure why it says XPClient ???

So now i can go away safe in the knowledge that my PC is gonna be protected by the Best Antivirus prog outthere

I would just like 2 thank U & the whole Avast team 4 their hard work, support & dedication.The hard work U & the team do does Ur program, company & country proud

I 4 1 will be recomendin Avast 2 any 1 that asks me 2 suggest an good A/V program

Thank U, Thank U, Thank U ;D

Appreciated as always

Regards

BaNzI :o
« Last Edit: June 23, 2003, 05:18:48 PM by BanziBaby »

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't Load Skin, Program won't Load HELP!!!!!
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2003, 05:21:21 PM »
Quote
If it any help the build of the file i had was 5.1.2600.0 (XPClient.010817-1148)

This is the Windows XP version. I have absolutely no idea why this program version appeared in your Windows 98 installation. The only explanation I see is that a 3rd party program actually put it there (overwriting the original version). This is a big bug - maybe it'd be worth trying to find which program is doing this, exactly...


Quote
Thank U, Thank U, Thank U
Your welcome, Your welcome, Your welcome ;D

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline clweb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Gender: Male
  • I am not a number, I am a free man !
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't Load Skin, Program won't Load HELP!!!!!
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2003, 07:49:34 PM »
Hi,
Beside a good antivirus, a good firewall may also be useful.
Good free firewalls are available on the net:
Sygate, Zone alarm and others.
Be seeing you,
Claude

Offline BanziBaby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Gender: Male
  • Zeppelin Fanatic
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Can't Load Skin, Program won't Load HELP!!!!!
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2003, 08:33:31 PM »
Hi  clweb :)

Yep i got a firewall runnin at startup, i use Kerio 2.1.15, a great firewall & best of all, it's free 4 home & non commercial use.I used 2 use ZApro(version 3), but gave up on that after numerous bugs, never had a prob with Kerio.Also ZA loads after windows loads, Kerio loads even before the desktop loads ;D

Had 2 do a few other things, so i will be goin away in the morn

Thanks 4 all the replies, & thanks again Avast team :)

Cheers

BaNzI :o

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now