Author Topic: Another Firefox/Avast issue?  (Read 4478 times)

Offline nestamon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« on: May 30, 2010, 03:08:36 AM »
I'm running Firefox 3.6.3 and I recently had my Macafee subscription run out.  I uninstalled it and used the removal tools to be sure.  I've installed Avast Free 5.0.545 and I really like it so far....except the fact that it freezes up Firefox every 10 seconds or so.  I tried stopping the web shield and rebooting, but it still happens.  There are no freezing issues when running IE, so the problem is definately with Firefox.  From browsing the web and these forums, there seems to be some issues between Firefox and Avast, but I didn't see my particular problem.  Any ideas?  Or should I just try another AV product?  I love me some Firefox, so I won't be changing browsers anytime soon.

Offline Nex Necis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2010, 03:21:18 AM »
I use Firefox 3.6.3 strictly as well and have had no problem with Firefox running it with Avast!

All though I am on w2k and I doubt many others are.  What OS are you using?

I just converted from mcafee the same way as you did also.
1999 Dell Dimension XPS B733r*Pentium III 733mhz*512MB RDRAM*ASUS AGP-V6800 DDR SGRAM
W2K SP4*Avast! Free 5.0.545*FireFox 3.6.3

Offline nestamon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2010, 03:40:35 AM »
Running XP Pro SP3.

Offline Gargamel360

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2357
  • Gender: Male
  • Memento Mori
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2010, 03:48:36 AM »
Near same thing here also, ex McAfee, currently Avast!, Firefox is my main browser, I have no problems with it.
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline Nex Necis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2010, 09:24:58 AM »
Near same thing here also, ex McAfee, currently Avast!, Firefox is my main browser, I have no problems with it.
Do you have XP SP3 like nestamon?

Nestamon, if the problem is Firefox for you and our firefox's work fine perhaps it is an extension in Firefox that is conflicting somehow. What extensions do you have installed in Firefox?
1999 Dell Dimension XPS B733r*Pentium III 733mhz*512MB RDRAM*ASUS AGP-V6800 DDR SGRAM
W2K SP4*Avast! Free 5.0.545*FireFox 3.6.3

Offline Asyn

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 24932
    • >>>  avast! Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2010, 09:36:31 AM »
Do you have XP SP3 like nestamon?

I have it, works very well..!!
Anyways it would be a god idea to check the plugins/add-ons...
asyn
XP SP3 - avast! 9.0.2018 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [On Demand] - Firefox ESR 24.4 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP] - Thunderbird 24.4 [EM/CH]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> avast! Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline JSN

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2010, 10:36:24 AM »
Hi I am also a Firefox and avast! user and they do work together with no problem. Like Asyn, I would suggest you disable all add-on/plug-in and enable them one by one, seeing whether there is any culprit of them.
VHP2.AIS5.WPP193.PSI150.FF3612.TB316

Offline scout321x

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2010, 04:32:05 PM »
Another great FF 3.6.3/Avast! 5.0.545 installation. Three actually: my desktop XP Pro SP3, my netbook XP Pro SP3 and a buddy's netbook XP Home SP3 that I do the support on.

I agree starting FF without any addons is a good idea. A simple way to do that is to look in your Start/Programs menu for FF. There should be an entry for "Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode)".This will start FF in a "no addons" mode.

If everything works then you will know it is an addon that is the culprit. Then you can disable them one at a time to see which one is is the cause.

Offline bo.elam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2010, 05:29:59 PM »
nestamon if disabling addons don't do nothing to make FF better, then
if I was you I would do a clean install of Firefox. My system is same as
yours and FF and Avast work real well together so probably if you do the
clean install of the browser then you will be OK.
Bo

Offline Nex Necis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2010, 07:57:19 PM »
I agree starting FF without any addons is a good idea. A simple way to do that is to look in your Start/Programs menu for FF. There should be an entry for "Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode)".This will start FF in a "no addons" mode.
If safemode isn't listed I know that there is a way to run it from the command line but I can't remember how.  It would say in the Firefox help menu probably.
1999 Dell Dimension XPS B733r*Pentium III 733mhz*512MB RDRAM*ASUS AGP-V6800 DDR SGRAM
W2K SP4*Avast! Free 5.0.545*FireFox 3.6.3

Offline scout321x

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2010, 10:22:31 PM »
Firefox "safe mode" explanation at Mozilla Support: Click Here

Offline tinytim101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2010, 04:23:27 PM »
I kept having a problem with Firefox crashing.   Using the task manager in Win Xp sp3 I noticed the firefox application kept getting bigger until it reached about 2 million megs then crashed.   Somebody from the firefox forum told me to disable addons in firefox one by one and see if that finds the problem.   I forgot to mention I first installed the firefox addon called Leakmonitor which tells you if there is a memory leak.   After installing Leakmonitor it kept popping up constantly about memory leaks.

Anyways after disabling several addons one by one...I thought I would try disabling Avast Free Edition to see what would happen...it solved the problem.  So obviously the problem is not Firefox but Avast.  I have the latest addons available and all the latest updated drivers for my computer.  I use Win xp sp3.

Offline Sparxx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • Gender: Male
  • www.romanism.ro
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2010, 05:40:29 PM »
Try to update your  avast version , as the latest version of avast is 5.0.594 .
|| MB : Gigabyte GM880-UD2H || CPU : AMD Athlon II 620 || GPU : Sapphire Radeon R9 270X || RAM : 6 Gb DDR3 1600 ||  HDD : 250GB/500GB/1TB || OS  :Windows 8.1 Professional x64 || Avast IS 9 ||

Offline tinytim101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2010, 10:00:31 PM »
Quote
I have the latest addons available and all the latest updated drivers for my computer.

I assumed that meant everything.  So I already have been using 5.0.594.

Offline SafeSurf

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4926
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Another Firefox/Avast issue?
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2010, 08:35:45 AM »
Anyways after disabling several add-ons one by one...I thought I would try disabling Avast Free Edition to see what would happen...it solved the problem.  So obviously the problem is not Firefox but Avast.
You cannot disable Avast to actually check for this problem; you would actually have to uninstall Avast since the Avast drivers are still installed on your machine.  So your test really wasn't valid. 

Did disabling the add-on's one-by-one resolve the problem?  You mentioned that disabling your FF add-on's one-by-one only identified one add-on as being an issue. 

I agree with a poster above that a clean install of FF 3.6.8 is your best option, esp. if trying FF Safe Mode gave you no results.  Upon reboot, FF does an add-on compatibility test...it's rather quick, so keep your eyes on the monitor.

Do you have any other security software on your machine (current or previously) including AV and firewall (FW)?  You mentioned that you now have Avast Free 5.0.594.  What this an upgrade or a clean install?  Please also give me your OS (32 or 64 bit).  Perhaps I can identify if something is conflicting with Avast.
iMac (Mavericks)/Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Prem)/ Avast Mobile Security with MBAM Pro/ iPad 4th gen.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now