Author Topic: [False positive] Win32:VBMod [Trj]B  (Read 9670 times)

SmartCoder

[False positive] Win32:VBMod [Trj]B
« on: June 15, 2010, 10:56:10 PM »
1- Compile a blank project;
2- Add 1 or more sections with any appropriate tool (for example CFF explorer).

Result: Win32:VBMod [Trj] B  (since few days ago)

Being a programmer, I find quite ridicolous detecting my applications just because I add a section to them! There is absolutely no malicious code, just one section more that can be used for many purposes.

Mind to fix this FP?  :)

Thanks

Offline polonus

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • malware fighter
Re: [False positive] Win32:VBMod [Trj]B
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2010, 11:03:01 PM »
Hi SmartCoder,

Heuristics are at the crux of the problem where FPs are involved, as are certain packers/obfuscators like for instance UPX found up as heuristic malware just because it is also used by malcreants. These issues can make a decent AV less reliable, so report this as a possible FP as soon as possible.
Re: http://virscan.org/report/e31154e6d6f859524b0431631aa3a914.html
These kind of FPs come into the category automated false positives, see this article:
http://research.pandasecurity.com/automated-false-positives/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+PandaResearch+%28Panda+Research%29

polonus
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 11:05:42 PM by polonus »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

SmartCoder

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2010, 11:23:25 PM »
Thank you for the quick answer!

hese issues can make a decent AV less reliable, so report this as a possible FP as soon as possible.
So, you mean that we need to report each single file with an added section detected as a FP?

Thanks

Offline polonus

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • malware fighter
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2010, 11:40:04 PM »
Hi SmartCoder,