Author Topic: avast.setup and antivirus update problems  (Read 6594 times)

Offline dialtone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Personal Message (Offline)
avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« on: September 08, 2010, 12:53:21 AM »
I built a new machine. Gigabyte P55A UD3 motherboard, 4 Gigs OCZ RAM, Windows XP 64bit Pro, i3-540 CPU.

I bought the Avast Internet Security, since my other machine was running well enough with the Avast Free version of Anti-virus.

I get Windows message boxes that tell me Avast.setup had a problem and must close. Most times it's Anti Virus Update that has the problem and must close. I get these when I install the program and whenever I reboot the computer. Manually updating doesn't do anything, so I have to click cancel.

I have tried versions 594 and the last one listed as latest version. I have uninstalled using the avast tool and tried with Control Panel. Control Panel sometimes causes the uninstall to freeze and not finish. I have had installs look like they were hung and then just go away with no message about rebooting.

I have followed many of the suggestions, about using the tool to uninstall and reboot twice and remove internet and install. No help there. It still gives errors.

As a test, I installed the latest AIS on the OLD COMPUTER and it has NO PROBLEM.

I looked for a LOG folder, but I don't see any.

Anyone have an idea what could be wrong? Formatting and starting over is not what a happy solution. I spent several hours running updates and transferring data to the new machine. yuck.

Thanks

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2010, 01:36:50 AM »
Was there another AV on this system before avast Internet Security, if so what ?

- Try a repair of avast. Add Remove programs, select 'avast! Anti-Virus,' click the Change/Remove button and scroll down to Repair, click next and follow. This has in the past resolved this out of sync issue between reported and actual virus definitions version.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline dialtone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2010, 02:15:22 AM »
Thanks for the reply. No other antivirus was installed. It was a fresh setup.

A few minutes ago my wife was reading an e-mail which contained a link to her friends Power Point Presentation example. She tried to open it and Internet Explorer Froze while opening. The Avast icon in system tray had frozen while spinning. The mouse cursor was free to move above the task bar and was no longer a pointer. It was the double arrow, like when you resize a window from it's edge. I had to hit reset to reboot as it wouldn't respond to anything.

I did the add/remove and "repair" as suggested. It said the repair/update was successful. Who knows if it is fixed. Time shall tell and with that, I will be back to report on a success or failure.

Thanks again.

**EDIT**

I clicked the icon and selected the Update Engine and Definitions....I got the crash again. Here's the details...

szAppName : avast.setup     szAppVer : 5.0.0.0     szModName : ntdll.dll    
szModVer : 5.2.3790.4455     offset : 0004f053    

**EDIT TAKE 2**

I have been reading about my motherboard. It seems that my memory is not on it's qualified list. I did notice that it wasn't recognized as the speed that it's rated for, but haven't bothered to try and fix it.

I wonder if this might cause the errors that I have? Hmmm....
« Last Edit: September 08, 2010, 03:09:55 AM by dialtone »

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2010, 01:37:07 PM »
Hard to say about the memory, running it at a speed higher than what it is rated at (?) can cause problems in generic memory chips (or is it a brand name), without increasing the input voltage, but I'm no hardware specialist. Most memory is compatible in any motherboard provided it is the correct type (DDR2, etc.), some MB manufactures only test the larger name brands; so that would be the only ones they would guarantee, but that alone shouldn't be a problem.

So it is possible this could have an impact, though I don't know if that might be the case in the update problem, which is showing the faulting module as ntdll.dll and that avast.setup was using it at the time of the problem.

There has been a recent program update (5.0.677) yesterday, so it might be worth while downloading that and doing a clean reinstall.
- Download the latest version of avast, 5.0.677 http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_ais.exe and save it to your HDD, somewhere you can find it again (if you didn't save your last download). Use that when you reinstall.

- Download the avast! Uninstall Utility, aswClear5.exe find it here and save it to your HDD (it has uninstall tools for both 4.8 and 5.0).
  • 1. Now uninstall (using add remove programs, if you can't do that start from the next step), reboot.
  • 2. run the avast! Uninstall Utility from safe mode, first for 4.8 if previously installed and then for 5.0, once complete reboot into normal mode.
  • 3. install the latest version, reboot.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2010, 01:41:00 PM by DavidR »
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline dialtone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2010, 02:14:45 PM »
I haven't made adjustments to my RAM settings. The motherboard sees the memory as 1066 where it should be 1600. So it is clocking much slower than it should.

I have ordered two new sticks of RAM, which are listed as being tested with the motherboard. I expect them this Friday.

In the meantime, I can try out the 5.0.677. The process that you suggest is the main way in which I had been installing and uninstalling. I've done this about a dozen or so times.

But, since it's working smoothly on my old machine, I am leaning toward a type of hardware issue. Most likly, a memory timing thing, though it does seem odd, strange things can happen.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2010, 02:46:25 PM »
Underclocking shouldn't be a problem in the same way as overclocking memory does. If your motherboard system clock speed isn't 400Mhz (x4) the memory won't run at its highest speed unless you increase the MB clock speed, but that would also overclock your CPU (not really advisable) as that could cause other issues.

So I'm not really sure what else to suggest, lets see how the clean install of the latest version goes.

Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline dialtone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2010, 12:04:37 AM »
As it turns out, I actually did install the 5.0.677 version once or twice last evening. I remember seeing the updated version posted in the forums so I grabbed it and tried to use it. I simply couldn't remember which version I had used.

I see my old machine has run an update on it's own. So it's working well there. The New setup is not updating at all. One good thing is that it hasn't locked up while just sitting idle. I was thinking of running MemTest on it later this evening, just to see if it comes up with errors.

After all the installing and rebooting while setting up the new machine and trying to get Avast working, I don't want to attempt much more until I get the new memory and relax a bit, too.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2010, 01:16:55 AM »
New RAM isn't something I would be looking at just yet as OCZ memory (just read your first post again) is considered good quality RAM and running it under the speed rating it is capable of should only make it potentially more stable.

However since you have 4GB, I don't know if you have 4 X 1GB or 2 X 2GB sticks, but you could possibly try swapping them out, leaving 2GB in the system and see if there is a bad stick, but I would be surprised if OCZ had many bad sticks.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline dialtone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2010, 01:20:42 AM »
Well, I couldn't stay away so long. I bumped the timing up to OCZ recommended settings and rebooted.

I was pleased to watch Avast pop up a message that said I was successfully updated. WOW a first!

Then, after a couple of minutes, I right clicked and selected the Update Program. Bam! I got the Update Error again and avast.setup*32 was running in the processes.

That item is NOT running on my old machine.

OK, so I reboot twice and neither reboot caused an error like before. So, is that progress? I was happy that it ran an update at least once on it's own without causing an error. I considered uninstalling, and reinstalling, but, again I don't want to go through that tonight. I'm too tired.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2010, 02:11:49 AM »
I don't know if the fact that you are using XP Pro 64bit might mean you have a different process to the other system, which presumably is running a 32bit OS.

At least it is a little progress for now.

That is me for the night just after 3am here.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline dialtone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2010, 09:55:31 PM »
Came home from work to see LOTS of boxes with problems that had to close. Most were from AdAware but a couple were Avast Update.

I rebooted and got the Update error during startup. Plus it said my License expired. It went on to tell me that my License file was invalid.

Tried to use Firefox to go come here and it said it was an untrusted site. I said to go anyway. Boom I got a BSOD with Stop 3B from Win32k.sys System.Service.Exception

Rebooted and Avast Updated with no problem. And Subscription was just fine.

When I get memory (I hope tomorrow) I think I will be forced to reinstall. and try this crap again. Or just go back to regular WinXP Pro. Grrrrrr

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2010, 10:08:28 PM »
Having looked at your first post and your new system motherboard (Gigabyte P55A UD3 motherboard) again, I'm just wondering if there might be some incomparability with old XP Pro 64 bit or even 32bit versions and the new super dooper stuff on the system. Doesn't that come with USB3 and some of the other new stuff, SATA3, etc.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline dialtone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2010, 01:22:45 AM »
Yes, it has USB3 and SATA3 technology. I have neither as far as hardware for that. I did have drivers and they installed without a hitch.

However, you are making me think of more research about it's compatibility. Not only is Avast having issues, IE Explorer is hanging and freezing when my wife wants to use it.

I'm thinking I need to re do this whole installation. But I will read a bit more before I get into it.

Thanks for keeping with me on this. My old machine is doing just fine.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69198
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2010, 02:08:04 AM »
You're welcome, good luck.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2016/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: avast.setup and antivirus update problems
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2010, 12:10:00 PM »
@ dialtone

I downloaded all the drivers for my GA-G31M-E2SL motherboard and they made a huge difference for my Windows 7 system.

As DavidR says  "good luck."
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now