Author Topic: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner  (Read 4835 times)

Offline Nikilet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« on: October 24, 2010, 02:37:00 AM »
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit
320 GB HD -- 2GB RAM
IE8
Avast Internet Security 5

I run CCleaner and there is an item on the bottom of the list that says "Utilities - Avast Antivirus." When I right click to view detail, please see attached screen shot.

For now I have unchecked Avast in the program list so that CCleaner won't scan it.

What I'd like to know, is it ok to allow CCleaner to clean and then remove these files?

Thank you
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit / 4GB RAM / IE9 / Firefox / Pale Moon / Google Chrome 26/ Avast Internet Security 8 / WinPatrol Plus / Malwarebytes Pro / SUPERAntispyware Pro / CCleaner / Zappit / Diskeeper 2009 / SpywareBlaster / LastPass / KeyScrambler Pro

Offline Light Archangel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Gender: Male
  • The Light Will Shine Upon The Darkness...
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2010, 02:47:54 AM »
Welcome to the avast forums Nikilet!

It's strange, i have the same version of CCleaner and in the utilities section only shows
Malwarebytes Antimalware
Winrar


For now keep that option unchecked, I don't know which files deletes.

Let me investigate

Regards

Pentium Dual Core 2GB RAM
Windows 7 Home Premium
AIS 6.0.1203
-
Pentium 3 256MB RAM
WinXP Pro
Avast Free 6.0.1203

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2010, 02:58:33 AM »
Because you have XP and it isn't looking in the right location, the one given/shown in the image is for Vista and win7.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Nikilet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2010, 03:37:50 AM »
DavidR - Can you reply to my question as to whether I should let CCleaner scan Avast and then clean these items shown in my screenshot?
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit / 4GB RAM / IE9 / Firefox / Pale Moon / Google Chrome 26/ Avast Internet Security 8 / WinPatrol Plus / Malwarebytes Pro / SUPERAntispyware Pro / CCleaner / Zappit / Diskeeper 2009 / SpywareBlaster / LastPass / KeyScrambler Pro

Offline marc-d-l

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 410
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2010, 04:01:23 AM »
I do on both XP and Vista.No problems yet.
Window 7 64 bits SP1 premium Avast 2014.9.0.2018  free, Firefox 27.0.1  MBAM, free spywareblaster, ABP,   Comodo firewall and a routerfirewall, Winpatrol.Superantispyware,Zemana Anti Logger.

Offline Asyn

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 24907
  • Frohe Ostern
    • >>>  avast! Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2010, 05:56:49 AM »
What I'd like to know, is it ok to allow CCleaner to clean and then remove these files?

If you don't need the logs, you can delete them.
asyn
XP SP3 - avast! 9.0.2018 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [On Demand] - Firefox ESR 24.4 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP] - Thunderbird 24.4 [EM/CH]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> avast! Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Tarq57

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3696
  • Gender: Male
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2010, 06:42:35 AM »
It won't matter if the logs are cleaned...unless there is a problem and you need the info contained in one of the logs. (The chances of needing the info on one of the logs is inversely proportional to how recently you deleted it  ;D)

The logs do not use that much disk space, I tend to leave them alone myself. It's up to you if you want to retain them or not.
WindowsXP Home SP3,Avast Free 5.1.889,Windows Firewall, Autorun Eater,Firefox w/Noscript+ /Adblock+/Better Privacy, IE8 all zones except MS Update set to "untrusted" settings,MVPS Host file.SecuniaPSI.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2010, 12:51:25 PM »
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit
320 GB HD -- 2GB RAM
IE8
Avast Internet Security 5

If you put that information in your signature you would not have to post it all the time.

If its good enough for DavidR an avast! Technical person then its good enough for me.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2010, 02:56:27 PM »
DavidR - Can you reply to my question as to whether I should let CCleaner scan Avast and then clean these items shown in my screenshot?

Personally I see little benefit in it as most of the .logs are for the benefit of the user and you lose that history. With the exception of the aswAR1.log the others are minuscule.

The aswAR1.log is created when you do a scan that includes the anti-rootkit module, so it will be recreated. When a scan is run with the anti-rootkit included (Full System or Custom scan) the resulting anti-rootkit data overwrites the existing file, so it shouldn't continually get bigger and bigger.

It effectively finds a level that is dependant on the data on your system, so for me it is pointless bothering to continually delete/clear these files.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2010, 02:58:31 PM »
I do on both XP and Vista.No problems yet.

If you check your XP system, you will find it doesn't even touch them, if you check the CCleaner detailed view you will see it has no data for avast after the analysis. As I said before it isn't looking in the right place for XP.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Nikilet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2010, 06:55:27 PM »
DavidR - Thanks for your answer. I will not have CCleaner scan avast! at all. Thank you for your help.

Thanks to all who commented on this post, including the tip from YoKenny about putting my info in my signature. I will try to do that; assume it's under Profile.
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit / 4GB RAM / IE9 / Firefox / Pale Moon / Google Chrome 26/ Avast Internet Security 8 / WinPatrol Plus / Malwarebytes Pro / SUPERAntispyware Pro / CCleaner / Zappit / Diskeeper 2009 / SpywareBlaster / LastPass / KeyScrambler Pro

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2010, 07:59:35 PM »
You're welcome.

All I would suggest on your signature is not to break into so many lines as that increases the size of the post and increases scrolling requirements in a topic should there be many such signatures.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Nikilet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2010, 08:23:41 PM »
OK, thank you. I'll change it.
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit / 4GB RAM / IE9 / Firefox / Pale Moon / Google Chrome 26/ Avast Internet Security 8 / WinPatrol Plus / Malwarebytes Pro / SUPERAntispyware Pro / CCleaner / Zappit / Diskeeper 2009 / SpywareBlaster / LastPass / KeyScrambler Pro

Offline Nikilet

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #13 on: October 24, 2010, 08:25:39 PM »
Just wanted to see if it comes out ok now.
Vista Home Premium SP2 - 32 Bit / 4GB RAM / IE9 / Firefox / Pale Moon / Google Chrome 26/ Avast Internet Security 8 / WinPatrol Plus / Malwarebytes Pro / SUPERAntispyware Pro / CCleaner / Zappit / Diskeeper 2009 / SpywareBlaster / LastPass / KeyScrambler Pro

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast Antivirus and CCleaner
« Reply #14 on: October 24, 2010, 08:41:43 PM »
I do not use HistoryKiller Pro as CCleaner works just as good saving me $19.96 and I do not use Registry Mechanic® 2011 for Windows® saving me $63.92

I do not use registry tuners as they are "Snake Oil"

Your signature looks fine.

I spent my money on upgrading to Windows 7 64bit. ;)

Top 10 reasons to buy Windows 7
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/compare/top-ten-reasons.aspx  

Spyware Doctor is old and outdated just like Spybot S&D.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2010, 08:44:03 PM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now