Author Topic: Avast fails to update  (Read 13352 times)

Offline Padanian1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast fails to update
« on: August 28, 2004, 10:19:40 AM »
I've got a home wireless LAN made up of two pc's: the one connected to the internet is a desktop win98 with flat ADSL. Avast works and updates as soon as I'm connected to the Internet. This PC is behind Sygate firewall. Internet connection sharing is running on it. It has dynamic IP to the outside and fixed IP on the inside.

The second is a notebook with XP, without firewall, and connects to the internet through the desktop ICS and gets its own IP trough DHCP. TCP/IP, HTTP, FTP, SMTP, POP and all other services are running smoothly. Everything's up and running.
I installed Avast 4.1 also on the notebook.

What happens is that the notebook tries to connect and to establish a connection to virus database and a window appear:

"Downloading file servers.def.stamp", progress bar shows 100% and it stays still there. After few minutes, the red warning "unable to download...." appears in the right bottom corner of the desktop.

Clearly, I tried opening all access incoming and outgoing on the firewall for my table (192.168.0.x) for all protocols and all ports to no avail.

Any idea?

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2004, 10:26:03 AM »
Please post the end of the updater log, <avast>\setup\setup.log. It should contain all relevant info, including the error codes etc.

BTW aren't you connecting via a proxy server?

Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Padanian1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2004, 10:33:36 AM »

12:16:40 min/gen  Started: 28.08.2004, 12:16:40
12:16:40 min/gen  Running setup_av_pro-1a2 (418)
12:16:40 nrm/sys  Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 0.0
12:16:40 vrb/sys  Computer WinName: PORTATILE
12:16:40 min/sys  Windows Net User: PORTATILE\Admin
12:16:40 min/gen  Cmdline: /downloadpkgs /noreboot /updatevps /silent /progress  
12:16:40 vrb/gen  DldSrc set to inet
12:16:40 vrb/gen  Operation set to INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES
12:16:40 min/gen  Old version: 1a2 (418)
12:16:40 nrm/gen  SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
12:16:40 vrb/sys  Computer DnsName: PORTATILE
12:16:40 vrb/sys  Computer Ip Addr: 192.168.0.3
12:16:40 nrm/int  SYNCER: Type: 0
12:16:40 nrm/int  SYNCER: Auth: 0
12:16:40 vrb/pkg  Part prg_av_pro-1a2 is installed
12:16:40 vrb/pkg  Part vps-42403 is installed
12:16:40 vrb/pkg  Part news-40 is installed
12:16:40 vrb/pkg  Part setup_av_pro-1a2 is installed
12:16:40 min/gen  Old version: 1a2 (418)
12:16:40 vrb/fil  SetExistingFilesBitmap: 361->106->106
12:16:40 min/gen  GUID: 84b79f26-b6ab-4d4f-a644-36359f78f013
12:16:40 nrm/gen  Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 8 (maintenance:0)
12:16:40 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download3 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:31 nrm/gen  InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'Download3 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:31 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Secondary ASW server' from 'main'
12:23:33 nrm/gen  InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'Secondary ASW server' from 'main'
12:23:33 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download7 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:35 nrm/gen  InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'Download7 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:35 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download6 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:37 nrm/gen  InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'Download6 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:37 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download5 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:39 nrm/gen  InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'Download5 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:39 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download1 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:41 nrm/gen  InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'Download1 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:41 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Main ASW server' from 'main'
12:23:43 nrm/gen  InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'Main ASW server' from 'main'
12:23:43 nrm/gen  SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download4 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:45 nrm/gen  InvalidateCurrent: invalidated server 'Download4 AVAST server' from 'main'
12:23:45 min/gen  SelectCurrent: unable to find any suitable server in 'main'
12:23:45 min/int  tried 8 servers to get file 'servers.def', but failed (0x000004C7)
12:23:45 min/pkg  Tried to download servers.def but failed with error 0x000004C7.
12:23:45 nrm/pkg  Transferred files: 0
12:23:45 nrm/pkg  Transferred bytes: 0
12:23:45 nrm/pkg  Transfer time: 0 ms
12:23:45 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=false
12:23:45 min/gen  Return code: 0x000004C7 [Operazione annullata dall'utente.]
12:23:45 min/gen  Stopped: 28.08.2004, 12:23:45





No Proxy

Offline Padanian1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2004, 01:18:58 PM »
Any idea anyone?

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64877
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2004, 03:48:47 PM »
Can you disable Sygate firewall while updating and see what you get?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Padanian1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2004, 05:11:14 PM »
It definitely was the firewall. Disabling Sygate allows Avast to update.

Offline softwareguy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
  • Gender: Male
  • WARNING! Worm Found!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2004, 05:48:09 PM »
Are you allowing avast! updater to access the Internet?
avast.setup, ashdisp, setup.ovr, ashserv

Avast - Your Worms Extinguisher

Offline Padanian1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2004, 07:11:24 PM »
Enabled ashserv.exe, ashsimpl.exe, ashdisp.exe, setup.ovr

Unable to find avast.setup

Still not working if sygate enabled.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2004, 07:11:44 PM by Padanian1 »

Offline Padanian1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2004, 07:16:05 PM »
Enabled ashserv.exe, ashsimpl.exe, ashdisp.exe, setup.ovr

Unable to find avast.setup

Still not working if sygate enabled.

Correction: avast.setup is present just on the notebook, but I'm unable to browse c:\program files\ from remote because of XP security rules.

Offline Padanian1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2004, 07:30:54 PM »
Enabled ashserv.exe, ashsimpl.exe, ashdisp.exe, setup.ovr

Unable to find avast.setup

Still not working if sygate enabled.

Correction: avast.setup is present just on the notebook, but I'm unable to browse c:\program files\ from remote because of XP security rules.

Correction to correction: avast.setup is a temporary file. Unable to enable it.

Online bob3160

  • avast! √úberevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 23933
  • Gender: Male
  • 53 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2004, 09:57:17 PM »
Padanian1
Make sure that the following program is allowed internet access by your firewall:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashUpd.exe[/color]
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 4 Gig Ram, avast!2014.9.0.2015 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install avast! http://goo.gl/VLXde
                     - It's nice to be Important. - It's more important to be Nice. -

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64877
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2004, 10:18:00 PM »
Unable to find avast.setup

You won't find as this is a temporary file caled setup.ovr when 'fixed'.
I suggest you repair your installation through Control Panel or, if this does not work, uninstall and install again  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Padanian1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2004, 08:22:34 PM »
Padanian1
Make sure that the following program is allowed internet access by your firewall:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashUpd.exe[/color]

As I said, sygate asks me to browse the directory containing the executable in order to let it through the firewall. But since sygate is on the gateway and avast is on the notebook, I can't browse c:\program files on the notebook because c:\program files is a protected system directory for XP and it doesn't let me browse it.

Online Eddy

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 9869
  • Gender: Male
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #13 on: September 07, 2004, 08:49:04 PM »
Quote
As I said, sygate asks me to browse the directory containing the executable in order to let it through the firewall. But since sygate is on the gateway and avast is on the notebook, I can't browse c:\program files on the notebook because c:\program files is a protected system directory for XP and it doesn't let me browse it
Ok, sygate seems to be the problem here. (logical thinking) Since sygate is on the "gateway" you should alter sygates settings on the "gateway"/"server" to allow Avast update. Read sygates manual on how to do so.

Ofcourse you can browse "\program files on the notebook" unless you login as user with limited rights and not as administrator. That folder is NOT a "protected system directory" as you point it.

Looks to me that you have problems with settings/rights

Offline Padanian1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Avast fails to update
« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2004, 08:58:54 PM »
Quote
As I said, sygate asks me to browse the directory containing the executable in order to let it through the firewall. But since sygate is on the gateway and avast is on the notebook, I can't browse c:\program files on the notebook because c:\program files is a protected system directory for XP and it doesn't let me browse it
Ok, sygate seems to be the problem here. (logical thinking) Since sygate is on the "gateway" you should alter sygates settings on the "gateway"/"server" to allow Avast update. Read sygates manual on how to do so.

Ofcourse you can browse "\program files on the notebook" unless you login as user with limited rights and not as administrator. That folder is NOT a "protected system directory" as you point it.

Looks to me that you have problems with settings/rights

Looks to me I don't. I shared c:\program files as read/write access to any user and can't browse it from remote.
E.g. Adaware and spywareblaster perfectly update themselves from the notebook through sygate. Avast doesn't.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now