Author Topic: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--  (Read 93003 times)

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
--= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« on: February 01, 2011, 10:16:33 PM »
Now superseded by build 6.0.986.
Please see here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=71639.0


Hi *,

we'll soon be releasing a new version of avast - the long-awaited version 6.0. As usual, we're making the new version available for public testing before it's officially released.

The beta has now been updated to build 6.0.945.

How to get it
snip

How to install it
Just run the setup executable (links above). This version needs to be installed from scratch, i.e. updating from a previous version of avast won't work. This will be fixed relatively soon - however, for now, the only option is to really uninstall the version you're using (if any), reboot, and install this beta.

The only exception is if are already running a previous build of avast 6, you can use the built-in program updater then.

What's new
Main changes/improvements:
- AutoSandbox – suspicious programs will be optionally run sandboxed
- avast! WebRep – browser plugin for website reputation rating; a combination of data from our virus lab and community voting
- Script Shield now even in the Free AV
- Site Blocking now even in the Free AV
- SafeZone – a special virtualized area for sensitive transactions (e.g. secure online banking) (paid products only)
- Restore factory settings command (Settings -> Troubleshooting)
- Automatic actions in the boot-time scan
- New compression method in the installer makes the setup packages about 20% smaller.
- Script Shield now functional even with IE8/IE9 Protected Mode
- Sidebar gadget
- Improved stability/compatibility of the Behavior Shield
- Improvements in the avast! sandbox

Known issues
- Help files not updated yet
- Localizations incomplete yet
- SafeZone not yet accessible (Pro AV / IS only)
- WebRep only available for IE and Firefox (Chrome is coming soon)
- Firewall: per-application packet rules not yet accessible
- Firewall: uTorrent conflict not yet resolved



And new in v6.0.945
- fixed a bug in the AutoSandbox decision logic
- improved installation of the Firefox WebRep plugin
- fixed the transient cache in File System Shield
- improved installation of the VC redistributable packages
- some improvements in the Sidebar gadget (cosmetic issues still to be solved)
- fixed a bug in the Autosandbox/FS Shield settings
- more stability improvements in the sandbox and behavior shield

BTW instead of bloating this thread, please start a new topic and/or join an existing one describing the issue you want to discuss.


Thanks much
Vlk
« Last Edit: February 19, 2011, 03:44:29 PM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Rednose

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Super Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1698
  • Gender: Male
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2011, 10:18:09 PM »
Finally ;D

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Vista x32 SP2  Real TimeAIS  MBAM Pro  WinPatrol Plus  Hostman + MVPS HOSTS  On Demand: SAS Pro / Free  AVZ  Hitman Pro  Secunia PSI  Backup: Win 7 Image / Acronis True Image Home  VPN: Mullvad, and testing a few more

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1594
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2011, 10:19:34 PM »
Thanks for the new build, updating. :)
Main: Win7 SP1 32bit / Core i5 450M 2.4GHz / 4GB RAM / avast! 2014 Premier / COMODO IS 6 (FW/D+/Cloud)
Mobile: Vista SP2 32bit / Core 2 Duo SU9300 1.2GHz / 3GB RAM / avast! 2014 Free / Online Armor Free (FW/PG)

Offline Silk0

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 485
  • Gender: Male
  • Octo Live
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2011, 10:21:30 PM »
If someone answer my question, I'll be grateful.

<snip>
If yes, the registration of the actual version (5.1; ends in May) will continue on Version 6 or do I need to make a new registration?

Thanks in advance.

Thanks once again.
~ Silk0
Avast! Free 6.0.1367

Offline Rednose

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Super Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1698
  • Gender: Male
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2011, 10:23:21 PM »
WepRep issue with Firefox was back after updating. Had to fix it manually.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Vista x32 SP2  Real TimeAIS  MBAM Pro  WinPatrol Plus  Hostman + MVPS HOSTS  On Demand: SAS Pro / Free  AVZ  Hitman Pro  Secunia PSI  Backup: Win 7 Image / Acronis True Image Home  VPN: Mullvad, and testing a few more

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11566
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2011, 10:23:47 PM »
If someone answer my question, I'll be grateful.

<snip>
If yes, the registration of the actual version (5.1; ends in May) will continue on Version 6 or do I need to make a new registration?

Thanks in advance.

Thanks once again.

If you reinstall, you need to re-register... That's how it is with avast (has been since the release of v5.0).

BTW how long does it take to register? 30 seconds?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline logos

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9456
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2011, 10:37:31 PM »
okay upgrading now...

edit: long hard disk activity after the system finished loading (following the reboot).. yeah apparently the fs shield kept scanning and scanning system files... it's okay now, np.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2011, 10:45:43 PM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline logos

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9456
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2011, 10:49:05 PM »
CPU seems okay while the gadget runs ( and running a scan at the same time) now... but yeah, no animation anymore ;D
w7 - ais7

Offline jadinolf

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2011, 10:54:55 PM »

Offline cadremis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
  • Gender: Male
  • Proud Mexican Avast User
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2011, 12:16:59 AM »
I have updated to this version from the last one and now my windows 7 pc does not reconize Avast... I will try to make a clean install and see if it corrects the problem.

rm
1.-W/7 Ultimate SP1,32bts Intel Core 2 CPU 6300 1.86Ghz 2G RAM Intel G965.
Avast Free 7.0.1474, Online Armor Free Firewall 6.0.0.1736, Firefox 17.01, SandBoxie 3.76,Free,Mbam & SAS,PandaUSB Vaccine

Offline Diazruanova

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2011, 12:17:47 AM »
Windows 7 64bits does NOT recognize avast as being present/active and therefore is sending a message (white flag with a red cross on top) to look for an antivirus online.
Besides that, avast .945 seems to be running fine.
Enrique Diazruanova

Built desktop PC with:
CPU:Intel Core i7-860 @ 2.94Ghz - RAM:8Gb DDR3-1333Mhz - GPU:XFX ATI Radeon HD 5670 - HD:Seagate 500Gb-7200 RPM
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1 - avast 6.0.1289 - MBAM Pro 1.51.2.1300

Offline Diazruanova

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2011, 12:19:56 AM »
 ;D LOL  it seems to be a Mexican related issue!
btw I updated via the internal updater from the previous beta ver.
Enrique Diazruanova

Built desktop PC with:
CPU:Intel Core i7-860 @ 2.94Ghz - RAM:8Gb DDR3-1333Mhz - GPU:XFX ATI Radeon HD 5670 - HD:Seagate 500Gb-7200 RPM
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1 - avast 6.0.1289 - MBAM Pro 1.51.2.1300

Offline firzen771

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 632
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2011, 12:29:21 AM »
posted it in the wrong thread lol

i just want to know, will avast v6 have an improved Firewall interface? like one thats actually logically organized for the application rules? things that every FW has (like alphabetical sorting, or rule type, or date of creation etc.) and the application rule groups as they are now are pretty useless and just make the rules screen more confusing to find what your looking for.
Windows 7 x64 / Windows Firewall OFF / UAC OFF
Real-Time: Avast Internet Security / WinPatrol

Offline zfactor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2011, 12:49:01 AM »
okay why is it when i update avast (did this with version 5.1 sometimes also) i choose NOT to install certain items during my initial install but in doing a update it then goes and installs them. like the gadget and webrep for ie. i specifically choose not to install those and i did the update today and it installed them on me. why???

i noticed similar in version 5 at times as well depending on the item that was not installed....if i choose to not install something during my initial install it should not be installed during a program update
To many systems to list specs lol.. Avast internet security beta.

"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2577
  • Gender: Male
  • When you think you know, Think Again
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: --= New Avast 6 Beta Refresh (6.0.945) =--
« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2011, 02:42:00 AM »
Installed 6.0,945 on both XP systems went without a hitch. No issue relicensing v.6 no problem with WebRep...Nothing ;D ;D ;D
Thank Avast team again.

Will keep an eye on it though :o
**W8.1.1PRO 64Bit
*  xpSP3 PRO 32 Bit
Do not confuse kindness for weakness

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now