Author Topic: avast 6 caused problem with Outlook Express  (Read 11809 times)

JohnnyBob

avast 6 caused problem with Outlook Express
« on: March 02, 2011, 04:45:29 AM »
I just updated to the new free avast 6 version and the result was the following problem with Outlook Express on Windows XP Home SP3. I then uninstalled avast 6 and the problem went away immediately, so that was definitely the cause.

I've been using avast antivirus for many years but I don't have time to troubleshoot such things, so I am installing Microsoft Security Essentials as the replacement protector for this computer.

Sorry, but adios amigos...

JohnnyBob

Re: avast 6 caused problem with Outlook Express
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2011, 06:23:22 AM »
It didn't take long to figure out that Microsoft Security Essentials was unsatisfactory, so I'm back to avast 6. Unfortunately the same script bug happens with Outlook Express whenever I open it, as described above. That's double confirmation that the cause is indeed avast 6. So how do I get rid of it?

JohnnyBob

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2011, 07:33:51 AM »
Turning off the avast script shield doesn't fix it, although I suspect that's the area where the bug resides. Somehow avast is interfering with proper operation of the script to read the opening page of Outlook Express ("frntpage.htm").

Proof: If I check the box in Outlook Express settings for "When Outlook Express starts, go directly to my Inbox", the script error doesn't happen.

SafeSurf

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2011, 10:27:02 AM »
I don't have Outlook Express so I can only offer limited help.  You may want to contact Avast regarding this problem here http://www.avast.com/contact-form.php?loadStyles since no one has helped you in the forum as of yet.  Thank you.

JohnnyBob

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2011, 12:48:44 PM »