Author Topic: Avast 5 Help  (Read 3469 times)

Offline ktkarona

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast 5 Help
« on: March 16, 2011, 05:51:00 PM »
I've been allowed to use someone else's laptop for the time being, since I am unable to use my desktop. Therefore, I was wishing to install Avast Antivirus on it, knowing how well it protects the computer. However, going to the site and choosing the Free download came up with an error through installation. It would get to vcredist_x86_blah... whatever the last file is, and then just revert to uninstallation. I read through another thread where this was brought up, at least the error part (not the vcredist_x86 bit) and read that it could just be a problem with using the Universal installation.

Within said thread, there was also a link for the english setup. I downloaded that, installed it, and now it brings up an error with the side-by-side configuration. Going through another thread, I read it may have something to do once again with the vcredist_x86 being 2005 on this computer rather than 2008. It didn't install through either programs, and trying a direct download from Microsoft for the C++ 2008 Redistributable doesn't seem to work. It goes through the process of installation, get to the very end... and then reverts and refuses to install. This causes some worry on my half, as I don't know what else to do to get avast to work.

Offline Daris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2011, 06:23:45 PM »
What version of windows are you using? What other security programs are on your computer? What previous Anti Virus was on there? Which Avast Anti virus are you trying to install?
   Cheers and Safe Surfing!!
Windows XP SP3 Vista capable but Prefer SP2, Avast 6, PC Tools Firewall, Spyshelter, Malwarebytes Free, SAS Free, CCleaner, Eusing Free Reg, Wise Reg Cleaner Portable, Wise Disc Cleaner Portable, Glary Utillities Portable, ClamWin Portable scanner, Firefox portable, Revo Un installer, IE7 and Opera

Offline ktkarona

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2011, 12:20:35 AM »
1) Windows Vista.
2) McAfee AntiVirus, outdated, and it's never before caused a problem in installing it before. I even had the basic Norton on my desktop when I installed Avast on it. So... :/
3) See #2.
4) Avast 5, free. If I was to buy it, it'd be for my desktop completely, but right now, I can't use that.

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2011, 06:12:29 AM »
2) McAfee AntiVirus, outdated, and it's never before caused a problem in installing it before. I even had the basic Norton on my desktop when I installed Avast on it. So... :/

No way this would work... You must remove McAfee before installing avast. Also see http://uninstallers.blogspot.com/ for McAfee removal tools (22a/b/c)

Offline SafeSurf

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4931
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2011, 06:52:49 AM »
You can't run 2 (or more) AV's on the same machine without having conflicts.

Here is the direct McAfee Uninstaller information:

This article provides the steps to remove McAfee from the Security Center from your computer:
http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/faq3.asp?docid=71525...reboot.

Also for direct download: http://download.mcafee.com/products/licensed/cust_support_patches/VSCleanupTool.exe and http://download.mcafee.com/products/licensed/cust_support_patches/MCPR.exe...reboot.

I would also run the Norton/Symantec Uninstaller to be on the safe side as well.  Here is their uninstaller: http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN.  Since Symantec is known to leave remnants behind, you can also go into Safe Mode (hit F8 repeatedly upon boot up), once in Safe Mode go to Advance Search > enter "sym" into the search box and see if anything comes up.  Do the same but type in symlcbrd.sys , which is a Symantec Core Service BIOS reader.  Do it again but type in Symantec, and again but type in NIS or NAV (depending on what you had installed on the machine).  If you are uncertain of the files that come up on the search, right click on the file to show you Properties and you can tell if it belongs to Symantec...if it does you can delete it then empty your recycle bin and restart your machine.

Now see if your machine is working properly.  If you think you are still missing these files, go to MS/Windows Updates to see if you are up to date. 

Next go to free Secunia PSI http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal/ to run a scan on the software on your machine to see if anything needs updating, including some of the things you mentioned in your posts.  If it does, it will give you the direct link to click on to make it easy to upgrade.  Most of us here use Secunia to scan weekly since software changes so often.  If you do need to upgrade, remember to reboot in between installs.

After this, try doing an Avast Repair:
- Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > Avast Antivirus.
- Scroll down and choose Repair function in the pop-up window.
- Reboot.

If the Repair does not fix Avast, which is possible since you had more then one AV on you machine, then you will need to uninstall and do a clean install of Avast:

1. Save a copy of Avast and save it to your HDD:
http://www.avast.com/download-software – all versions
2. Download the Avast Uninstall Utility http://files.avast.com/files/eng/aswclear6.exe and save it to your HDD.
3. Disconnect from the Internet at this time.
4. Go to Control Panel and uninstall Avast through Add/Remove Programs if possible and reboot.
5. If Step 4 fails, boot into Safe Mode (hit F8 repeatedly) and run the Avast Uninstall Tool.
6. Reboot.
7. Install the newest version of Avast and reboot.
8. Get Internet access and register your copy for Free:
    Free – http://www.avast.com/registration-free-antivirus.php
9. Update the Avast definitions.

Let us know if this fixes your problems.  Thank you.





iMac (Mavericks)/Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Prem)/ Avast Mobile Security with MBAM Pro/ iPad 4th gen.

Offline ktkarona

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2011, 10:30:21 PM »
I've removed the McAfee program and removed avast, reinstalled it, but it still brings up the side-by-side thing. I think it may still have to do with the vcredist_x86 thing, but it refuses to install still. I have that same problem with some updates through Windows Update, so... yeah, no clue what to do...

"The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more detail."

Offline SafeSurf

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4931
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2011, 06:10:39 AM »
Did you scan with Secunia PSI?  I found a machine that was missing this file and Secunia picked it up and gave me the link to update it.
iMac (Mavericks)/Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Prem)/ Avast Mobile Security with MBAM Pro/ iPad 4th gen.

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2011, 08:37:02 AM »
I've removed the McAfee program and removed avast, reinstalled it, but it still brings up the side-by-side thing. I think it may still have to do with the vcredist_x86 thing, but it refuses to install still. I have that same problem with some updates through Windows Update, so... yeah, no clue what to do...

"The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more detail."

Try to run Microsoft Fix it 50202.

Offline ktkarona

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2011, 04:32:34 PM »
Microsoft FixIt doesn't seem to do anything other than install on the computer and then ask for a restart. Once the restart finishes, there's no sign of it, and there's nothing "fixed" with it. Secunia, on the other hand, is slightly helpful, but for the ones from Microsoft Update, it won't help at all with those... :( Not sure how to even get Avast to work with all of this mess on this crappy laptop.

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2011, 04:35:37 PM »
Microsoft FixIt doesn't seem to do anything other than install on the computer and then ask for a restart. Once the restart finishes, there's no sign of it

It's exactly what it's supposed to do - you can read the entire page there which describes the manual fix, this is what the FixIt does automatically.

and there's nothing "fixed" with it.

So Windows Update still fails for you?

P.S. I do not really see how is Secunia PSI relevant here, will not solve your issue at all.

Offline ktkarona

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2011, 05:08:49 PM »
Well, I know Secunia merely scans the items and tells me what I need, but I was hoping it'd at least offer more help with the critical items, such as the C++ 2005 Redistributable... Got the download for updating that, but still nothing...

Offline Daris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2011, 02:15:17 AM »
I think that there is some security program that has blocked the Avast Installation..Didn't install properly, and is still being blocked....Did you remove Norton completely with the Norton uninstall tool...than remove Avast completely...And then fresh install....Also are you using Spyshelter by any chance?...
Windows XP SP3 Vista capable but Prefer SP2, Avast 6, PC Tools Firewall, Spyshelter, Malwarebytes Free, SAS Free, CCleaner, Eusing Free Reg, Wise Reg Cleaner Portable, Wise Disc Cleaner Portable, Glary Utillities Portable, ClamWin Portable scanner, Firefox portable, Revo Un installer, IE7 and Opera

Offline ktkarona

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2011, 06:01:48 PM »
I've removed both Avast and Norton completely, but there's still something that keeps blocking some installations, like the C++ update, IE8, Yahoo Messenger... I don't know why, if Norton's gone completely. Did what was suggested earlier and there's no trace of Norton anymore on the computer.

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2011, 08:16:51 PM »
I've removed both Avast and Norton completely, but there's still something that keeps blocking some installations, like the C++ update, IE8, Yahoo Messenger... I don't know why, if Norton's gone completely. Did what was suggested earlier and there's no trace of Norton anymore on the computer.

Try this:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=74428.msg616592#msg616592

VC++ 2008 SP1 Redist here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=2051a0c1-c9b5-4b0a-a8f5-770a549fd78c

Offline ktkarona

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast 5 Help
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2011, 05:01:41 AM »
Windows Installer doesn't work in Safe Mode, at least it doesn't seem to. I went to both links you suggested, and re-downloaded x86. It comes up with...

Error 1935.An error occurred during the installation of assembly 'Microsoft.VC90.ATL,version="9.0.30729.4148",publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",processorArchitecture="x86",type="win32"'. Please refer to Help and Support for more information. HRESULT: 0x8007054F.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now